18 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Pennywise @ The Studio, Auckland 07/11/2017

09 Nov 2017 // A review by butch181

Turning up to The Studio venue, and you canít help but be impressed at how well things had been put together to this point. Bringing an international band to NZ, and selling out a venue with a capacity of somewhere around 1000-1200, on a Tuesday night, with the gig announcement only two weeks before the show was penned down to happen. The crowd was lined up along Kí Road, happily milling about as they slowly waddled towards the entrance. Those that were not in the mood to line up were hitting up the bar next door (which was also playing Pennywise on the playlist) waiting for the queue to subside.

Heading inside, and you could see things had already started to get a little bit cramped. People were evenly spaced about the venue, and the four bars on site were doing a great trade. With the ever-increasing number of patrons entering the venue, I nabbed a spot on the front and waited for the supporting acts to begin.

Animal Party were the first act up on stage and they put on a hell of a show. I was already impressed with their efforts when they previously opened for Californian post-hardcore group Slaves. They have refined their sound further since then and provide a commanding performance. Vocalist Jesse Smithís shouting style is full of passion and a surprising amount of melody, which makes the music incredibly engaging to watch and listen to. The clarity of sound was dominating, with some of the best sounding drums Iíve heard from the stage in recent times, despite only consisting of half of the usual drum kit. The crowd were reasonably receptive providing ample applause and cheers. My only real issue was the order of their set list, where the two tracks that were most well-received were performed first. Would have been great to see the performance end as strongly as it had started.

Next up were Flirting with Disaster, who have that pop punk sound that Blink 182 rose to fame with in the early 2000's. Energetic songs with a lot of agility shown in the performance of their tracks, but their sound lacked the lucidity that the opening band had. Guitars and bass melded together, with very quiet back-up vocals from Tony who was performing double duties on the bass. The crowd were mixed in their reaction to Flirting with Disaster; some of the crowd cheering and starting to move and mosh about, while much of the crowd was booing and jeering before the band had even started. Unfortunate, because there was definitely some quality original material being performed on stage, alongside a brilliant cover of Mellincolinís Penguins and Polar Bears. Credit to them, even despite the jeers, they continued on, and amped up their performance and managed to win over a larger proportion of the crowd by the end of their set.

Storm the Gates, had released set times of the bands earlier in the day, and to my chagrin I noted that we had a 50-minute wait before Pennywise would take to the stage. The floor had gotten to the point where if you moved, you lost your spot and would never get it back, so there I waited for 50 minutes listening in on the conversations of the patrons around me as I waited, and watching the crew set up the stacks on stage.

10:30pm finally coming around, Pennywise took to the stage, and you could instantly feel the crowd surging forward. Without wasting any time, the band jumped straight into Fight Til You Die, which seemed a pretty accurate portrayal of what I went through as a member of the crowd; battling to stay on my feet and trying not to crush the woman standing between myself and the barrier. 

I managed to last three songs before I had to throw in the towel and escape from the crowd as I was spending all my energy on trying not to be crushed, rather than actually getting to enjoy the music. Turns out, the pit was larger than expected, and trying to get out of the crowd during Society was quite the poor decision, as the crowd pushed back with more gusto; like being trapped in the middle of a scrum in rugby. Nobody moved aside; they all just reacted and pushed me back forward. It took two full songs before I managed to escape, dripping wet, with what was mostly other peopleís sweat and beverages, I headed towards the screen to watch from the backÖ to find the screen was not working. There I remained, trapped at the back for the rest of the evening, switching between being able to see flashes of light from the floor at the rear of the bottleneck, to seeing flashes of light from the upstairs sauna areas (the experience very much reminded me that hot air rises, and the pit created a lot of it). 

From the bandís point of view it must have been a great sight to see; a sold out crowd with such enthusiasm. But from the perspective of someone in the crowd, it was a mess, and the only way you could have gotten full enjoyment from it was if you had gotten your fill at the bars. Pennywise performed a 22-song setlist, which literally started with the first 13 tracks in order from the Full Circle album (of which the show was celebrating the 20th anniversary of), followed by a mix of other Pennywise tracks and cover songs from the likes of Ben E. King, and Beastie Boys, before ending with Bro Hymn. An exhausting night overall, and one that really has me divided on whether I enjoyed it or not. It was definitely attended by passionate fans that were emotionally invested and sang along with every single song, but this was not a gig you could just spectate, you had to participate and get in the fray. With the size and rowdiness of the crowd, Powerstation might have been a better venue choice and provided a better view for all the punters.


Review and photos provided by Alex Moulton

Other Reviews By butch181

Gig Review: Robbie Williams with Tami Neilson @ Spark Arena, Auckland 14/02/2018
15 Feb 2018 // by butch181
Spark Arena has been completely changed since last nightís Paramore concert, now utilising the full arena space, and with additional stage pieces running down the centre of the Standing Floor area, the air is full of anticipation in what looks to be an immersive experience. The only opening act for the night came in the form of Tami Neilson, a country & soul singer/songwriter, and Silver Scroll winner.
Read More...
Gig Review: Paramore @ Spark Arena, Auckland 13/02/2018
14 Feb 2018 // by butch181
The crowd was bustling as Aucklandís Spark Arena slowly filled up. Not a full arena show, but the stage had been brought forward enough to ensure everyone was crowded in together.
Read More...
Jed Parsons - Single Review: Get Lost
03 Feb 2018 // by butch181
Get Lost is the debut single from Jed Parsons, and makes a heck of an introduction. Composed of an almost mediocre arrangement that has had dissonance and discord purposefully inserted into it, to present a juxtaposition of the normal and the fantasy.
Read More...
Jas Josland - Album Review: See What You Did There
03 Feb 2018 // by butch181
See What You Did There is Jas Josland's debut album consisting of 11 tracks and a total run-time of almost 37 minutes. With only one song breaking the four-minute mark, these tracks on the debut album are on the shorter side, running less than three and a half minutes long, on average.
Read More...
Gig Review: End of an Era Night 2 @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 27/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by butch181
I wasn't present for the Night 1 performances of the End of an Era shows, but by all accounts from those that had been there, it had been a great night with a good turnout, especially considering it was competing with large international acts performing at other venues (such as Pink Floyd's Roger Waters at Spark Arena). So I was definitely looking forward to the nights' performances.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: When I Am Gone
16 Jan 2018 // by butch181
The piano is an often under-recognised and under-utilised instrument. Even though the majority of musicians in this modern day will use a keyboard, it's often to play more "exotic" sounding instruments.
Read More...
VAZEY - Single Review: Dreamers
16 Jan 2018 // by butch181
Dreamers is a well-balanced, light, summery track. While the track feels simplistic in its overall sound, the lead guitar provides properly weighed riffs, that complement the melody and vocals of the track without overpowering the rest of the composition.
Read More...
Mitch Alderlieste - Single Review: Breathe
18 Dec 2017 // by butch181
Mitch Alderliesteís latest release is a light airy piece, that follows along the lines of Travisí Why Does It Always Rain On Me? And Robbie Williamís Angels.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem