16 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: The DMA's @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/10/2017

21 Oct 2017 // A review by Channel1
This is my first time at Tuning fork and the smallish room is filling up nicely as we arrive early to catch local band Yukon Era before Aussie headliners The DMA's.

I had heard good things about Yukon Era but wasn't sure what to expect. The band ambled on stage and the opening song shows some potential with some nice rhythms and a vocalist/guitarist with an interesting droney vocal style.

Then everything changed.

The energy increased and rather than being just another average "cool" Alt band, Yukon Era showed an eclectic schizophrenic mix of influences.

Usually, when you see or hear a band for the first time it can all sound a bit samey but each song here was a surprise. It's rare to see a band where you don't know what to expect next but that is what you get with Yukon Era. The music was tight, the drummer was insanely good especially as apparently, he was just standing in for these shows.

Check them out and prepare to be entertained and slightly blown away.

The first time I saw The DMA's was at Laneway Festival and I immediately went out and bought their album and EP so this was never going to be a negative review. They are from Sydney and formed originally as a side project to do some writing and recording. The result was the single Delete and then everything kind of exploded and they have been touring the world ever since. The success of debut album Hills End has seen them play festivals around the world and even Coachella in the USA. This is their first short headline tour of NZ and they are about to head back to the UK again for more dates then back home for some summer Aussie festivals.

So after a wait, we get the three main members of The DMA's onstage to an enthusiastic welcome. Immediately Tommy O'Dell's voice fills the room. It is amazing as he sings so effortlessly but there is a real soul and colour to his vocal. Originally a drummer, he hadn't heard himself sing until they recorded songs for the debut EP.

Much has been made of the Brit-pop look and sound of the band and yeah Tommy looks like a smaller less gobby version of Kasabian's Tom Meighan but to just say DMA's are a bunch of Oasis wannabes is missing the point.It could be argued that The DMA's are a band out of place but that they are from Australia has also influenced their sound and attitude.

The three are then joined by the rest of the touring band which includes NZ's Joel Flyger (Popstrangers) and the multiple guitars meld into a sound not too dissimilar to My Bloody Valentine.

There are no words spoken to the crowd in between songs (but plenty of beer is drunk) and that is fine because DMA's are a band who can let the songs do all the talking. There is so much melody that you simply can't ignore them. You will want to sing and you will want to dance. The main musical influences are clear, hence the Brit-Pop comparisons but listen closely, strip back the layers and there is a lot more going on. Visually, Tommy and guitarist Matt Mason are the focal point, the latter having perfected a thousand yard stare throughout most of the set. The way the guitars fit around Tommy's vocal and melody is seamless and that chemistry lifts DMA's above most of their contemporaries.

We are treated to virtually every track from Hills End plus a couple of new songs. Standouts are the obvious Delete and also the upbeat angst of Timeless. After a short encore, we are treated to a new song which is an indication that there is plenty more to come from DMA's so watch this space and let's hope it's not too long until they get back over to NZ again.


Review written by Paul Goddard.

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem