27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness

20 Oct 2017 // A review by Corinner

If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former. The self-confessed “math and science nerd” says that she experiences music as “a combination of emotion, science, and math – a mixture of precise structure and imperfect elements.” So there you have it, I think it sounds other worldly and mysterious and I am now enlightened about a symmetrical open plane curve and the fact that there is a genre called Folktronica, this is a wonderful thing.

Parabola West not only sounds ethereal in name but also in sound, her music is an alternative mix of “folk influenced, Nordic style, and electronic” hence the term Folktronica. Her latest creation is a stunning 7 track EP titled Purity of Weakness, the name of this EP “expresses the idea that when you feel at your weakest, the true essence of your character is often revealed”.

Originally from East Coast America and hailing from a very musical family, Amy began writing songs as a teenager. She moved to New Zealand in 2003 where after a ten year break from music, she launched her solo career as Parabola West. 

Amy and her husband decided to get out of the rat race of Auckland to live off the grid in Raglan; she feels more connected to nature and has changed her music accordingly, I could hear that in her sound I could almost feel the light and love and there is no doubt that this is very beautiful and clever music, tinkling, soft, flowing perhaps a touch haunting, the piano weaving its way through the tracks adding a richness and depth, a thread of electronica adding yet another dimension.

Track 3 Fire, is the launching point to Purity of Weakness and was received with great enthusiasm, in the artists words it is the “seduction of self-destruction”. Personally as soon as I heard the first few chords playing, I envisioned dragons swooping around a turbulent grey sky, the hauntingly beautiful Celtic sound sending tingles to my toes.

The lyrics which Parabola West has crafted, take you from the melancholy through to the cheerful and optimistic. A good example of this is Track 5 Nowhere to be Found, this is one of those songs that you could get lost in, it has the ability to make you misty eyed with its evocative lyrics and soul-stirring arrangement. I snapped out of my reflective mood as the next track Rabbit Hole pulled me out of my revere with its infectious and upbeat melody. I found the unexpected contrast refreshing.

Parabola West, the unique singer songwriter living off the grid in Raglan it seems has touched the hearts of many, to quote a wonderful line from another reviewer “the beneficiary of immense fan support”

I just want to make special mention of the beautiful photography and artistic flair on both her website and EP.

This EP is a lush mix of Celtic / Nordic, Folk, and Electronic, it is mystical and magical and everything you could expect from an artist with the name of Parabola West.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Parabola West

Piano-driven, folk influenced, Nordic style, and electronic are a few words that can describe the musical sound of alternative up-and-coming artist Parabola West.

Her stage name coming from her fixation with solar power, physics, and real-life applications of the parabolic curve, Parabola West released her latest EP Purity of Weakness on September 8, 2017.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Parabola West

Releases

Purity of Weakness
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Did You Hear?
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom
15 May 2018 // by Corinner
This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Deconstructed (Between The Pieces)
09 May 2018 // by Corinner
Jamie Denton, based in Auckland, is the man behind Empire To Ashes, producing mind-bending music which is described as alternative electronica. His latest offering is titled Deconstructed [Between The Pieces], which very cleverly follows on from [In Pieces] which was released in January 2018.
Read More...
NRG Rising - Single Review: Take Us High
25 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
The mother and daughters reggae trio NRG Rising from Hamilton, first entered into the music scene in 2011 with their debut album From Darkness To Light, and have gathered a strong and loyal following ever since. The band’s latest single Take Us High has been described as a “catchy, soulful tune echoing the popular 1990’s style of R&B”.
Read More...
Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan
09 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan. The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.
Read More...
EP Review: Lunavela
03 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
Lunavela is the current musical project of Steve Mathieson, formerly of Auckland indie outfit Collapsing Cities. The 5 track self-titled EP is described by Lunavela as Shoegaze House, which is a genre I have never heard of before.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem