24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness

20 Oct 2017 // A review by Corinner

If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former. The self-confessed “math and science nerd” says that she experiences music as “a combination of emotion, science, and math – a mixture of precise structure and imperfect elements.” So there you have it, I think it sounds other worldly and mysterious and I am now enlightened about a symmetrical open plane curve and the fact that there is a genre called Folktronica, this is a wonderful thing.

Parabola West not only sounds ethereal in name but also in sound, her music is an alternative mix of “folk influenced, Nordic style, and electronic” hence the term Folktronica. Her latest creation is a stunning 7 track EP titled Purity of Weakness, the name of this EP “expresses the idea that when you feel at your weakest, the true essence of your character is often revealed”.

Originally from East Coast America and hailing from a very musical family, Amy began writing songs as a teenager. She moved to New Zealand in 2003 where after a ten year break from music, she launched her solo career as Parabola West. 

Amy and her husband decided to get out of the rat race of Auckland to live off the grid in Raglan; she feels more connected to nature and has changed her music accordingly, I could hear that in her sound I could almost feel the light and love and there is no doubt that this is very beautiful and clever music, tinkling, soft, flowing perhaps a touch haunting, the piano weaving its way through the tracks adding a richness and depth, a thread of electronica adding yet another dimension.

Track 3 Fire, is the launching point to Purity of Weakness and was received with great enthusiasm, in the artists words it is the “seduction of self-destruction”. Personally as soon as I heard the first few chords playing, I envisioned dragons swooping around a turbulent grey sky, the hauntingly beautiful Celtic sound sending tingles to my toes.

The lyrics which Parabola West has crafted, take you from the melancholy through to the cheerful and optimistic. A good example of this is Track 5 Nowhere to be Found, this is one of those songs that you could get lost in, it has the ability to make you misty eyed with its evocative lyrics and soul-stirring arrangement. I snapped out of my reflective mood as the next track Rabbit Hole pulled me out of my revere with its infectious and upbeat melody. I found the unexpected contrast refreshing.

Parabola West, the unique singer songwriter living off the grid in Raglan it seems has touched the hearts of many, to quote a wonderful line from another reviewer “the beneficiary of immense fan support”

I just want to make special mention of the beautiful photography and artistic flair on both her website and EP.

This EP is a lush mix of Celtic / Nordic, Folk, and Electronic, it is mystical and magical and everything you could expect from an artist with the name of Parabola West.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Parabola West

Piano-driven, folk influenced, Nordic style, and electronic are a few words that can describe the musical sound of alternative up-and-coming artist Parabola West.

Her stage name coming from her fixation with solar power, physics, and real-life applications of the parabolic curve, Parabola West released her latest EP Purity of Weakness on September 8, 2017.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Parabola West

Releases

Purity of Weakness
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Did You Hear?
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
Read More...
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem