24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Cherry

19 Oct 2017 // A review by Channel1

I have always struggled with instrumental music, be it electronica or the rock soundscapes generated by Mogwai. I can listen and enjoy certain tracks but over an album, I tend to miss the dynamic of a vocal. There are people like Kody (aka Silicon) from The Mint Chicks who have morphed well into this sonic soundscape. 

So what’s interesting is the 13 mins or so of this 4 track Cherry EP from Hybrid Rose has been blasting in my headphones on repeat for over 2 hours now!

There is plenty going on here. If I were a keyboard warrior and suddenly my PC could talk, what I am hearing right now would be the sound it would make. Dark hits light. Upbeat slides into melancholy, while all around people are dancing or crying.

Hybrid Rose (Rose Gray) paints pictures with her music. If I had synesthesia, blue would be melting with black and there would be explosions of yellow and white but definitely no beige.

Each of the four tracks on the Cherry EP stands out on their own merit, my favourite being Rocket due to its pace and energy.

Hailing from Blenheim you can catch the small town vibe and isolation that contributes to all good music with soul. I feel escapism, optimism and defeat. Good music is meant to make you feel.

I never expected to be moved this way by music without words. The Cherry EP is being released today (Friday 20 October 2017). Do yourself a favour and buy it. Play it at ear crushing levels in your headphones or better still blast it through a noise control neighbour bothering PA until you get told to shut it down.

My eyes are open. They feel colour.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Hybrid Rose

Citing a range of musical influences from Kevin Parker (Tame Impala) to Lady Gaga and Marina Diamandis, to Coldplay, Blenheim resident Rose Gray (aka Hybrid Rose) self-produces tunes that vary from chiptune ditty Video Games to the poppy, dance-y Pixel and distorted dubstep of Expectations.

Her influences go beyond music, however; the opening chords to Pixels came to her while watching an episode of Adventure Time for example. She also cites vintage design and graphics as an influence, especially in terms of the visuals she produces alongside her songs. While Gray doesn’t consider herself a political person, she says she’s very passionate about making change.

Her musical character is a little more involved however, and the music is occasionally politically inspired. Hybrid Rose, an electronic character. An infectious virus in your ears, an addiction you cannot quit.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hybrid Rose

Releases

Cherry
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Cosmic
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Gig Review: Foo Fighters @ Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland - 03/02/2018
04 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
It had been raining on and off for most of the day but just as Wellington band Ayn Randy took the stage the heavens opened. It set the scene for what was going to be an awesome night where the weather played a big part in the memories of the 40,000 people packed into Auckland's Mount Smart Stadium.
Read More...
Santa Barbara - Single Review: Marianne's Dark Eyes
01 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
I love Santa Barbara. I am lucky enough to visit there once a year and it's a funky little town about two hours from LA LA Land with a laid-back vibe and it also knows how to get down and dirty on a weekend.
Read More...
Festival Review: Laneway 2018 @ Albert Street Precinct, Auckland - 29/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
2017 was my first time at Laneway. I went for one reason only and that was to see Refused.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront.
Read More...
Gig Review: End of an Era Night 1 @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 26/01/2018
29 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
I arrived early for this first of two nights of bands who have come together to say goodbye to iconic Auckland venue the Kings Arms, which will finally close its doors at the end of February. Punters are slowly streaming in for the opening band A Doubtful Sound (isn't that the best name ever for a Kiwi Band) but the band don't care about how many people are in the room and hit the set full tilt.
Read More...
EP review: Hault
06 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
The 90's will always be my favourite decade for music. It was a time when rock bands took a punk attitude and melded it with face melting heavy 70's style riffs and this is all perfectly summed up in the Sonic Youth doco 1991 the year that punk broke (check it out).
Read More...
Future Islands with Silicon @ Powerstation Auckland - 16/12/2017
19 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
This dude can dance. He is on another planet.
Read More...
Gig Review: Armed in Advance, Fallstate and AnimalHead @ Backbeat, Auckland - 8/12/2017
16 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
Back at Backbeat. Deja vu, is a feeling you get when you see a lot of bands in Auckland.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem