16 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Cherry

19 Oct 2017 // A review by Channel1

I have always struggled with instrumental music, be it electronica or the rock soundscapes generated by Mogwai. I can listen and enjoy certain tracks but over an album, I tend to miss the dynamic of a vocal. There are people like Kody (aka Silicon) from The Mint Chicks who have morphed well into this sonic soundscape. 

So whatís interesting is the 13 mins or so of this 4 track Cherry EP from Hybrid Rose has been blasting in my headphones on repeat for over 2 hours now!

There is plenty going on here. If I were a keyboard warrior and suddenly my PC could talk, what I am hearing right now would be the sound it would make. Dark hits light. Upbeat slides into melancholy, while all around people are dancing or crying.

Hybrid Rose (Rose Gray) paints pictures with her music. If I had synesthesia, blue would be melting with black and there would be explosions of yellow and white but definitely no beige.

Each of the four tracks on the Cherry EP stands out on their own merit, my favourite being Rocket due to its pace and energy.

Hailing from Blenheim you can catch the small town vibe and isolation that contributes to all good music with soul. I feel escapism, optimism and defeat. Good music is meant to make you feel.

I never expected to be moved this way by music without words. The Cherry EP is being released today (Friday 20 October 2017). Do yourself a favour and buy it. Play it at ear crushing levels in your headphones or better still blast it through a noise control neighbour bothering PA until you get told to shut it down.

My eyes are open. They feel colour.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Hybrid Rose

Citing a range of musical influences from Kevin Parker (Tame Impala) to Lady Gaga and Marina Diamandis, to Coldplay, Blenheim resident Rose Gray (aka Hybrid Rose) self-produces tunes that vary from chiptune ditty Video Games to the poppy, dance-y Pixel and distorted dubstep of Expectations.

Her influences go beyond music, however; the opening chords to Pixels came to her while watching an episode of Adventure Time for example. She also cites vintage design and graphics as an influence, especially in terms of the visuals she produces alongside her songs. While Gray doesnít consider herself a political person, she says sheís very passionate about making change.

Her musical character is a little more involved however, and the music is occasionally politically inspired. Hybrid Rose, an electronic character. An infectious virus in your ears, an addiction you cannot quit.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hybrid Rose

Releases

Warhol
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Cherry
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Cosmic
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem