27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Cherry

19 Oct 2017 // A review by Channel1

I have always struggled with instrumental music, be it electronica or the rock soundscapes generated by Mogwai. I can listen and enjoy certain tracks but over an album, I tend to miss the dynamic of a vocal. There are people like Kody (aka Silicon) from The Mint Chicks who have morphed well into this sonic soundscape. 

So what’s interesting is the 13 mins or so of this 4 track Cherry EP from Hybrid Rose has been blasting in my headphones on repeat for over 2 hours now!

There is plenty going on here. If I were a keyboard warrior and suddenly my PC could talk, what I am hearing right now would be the sound it would make. Dark hits light. Upbeat slides into melancholy, while all around people are dancing or crying.

Hybrid Rose (Rose Gray) paints pictures with her music. If I had synesthesia, blue would be melting with black and there would be explosions of yellow and white but definitely no beige.

Each of the four tracks on the Cherry EP stands out on their own merit, my favourite being Rocket due to its pace and energy.

Hailing from Blenheim you can catch the small town vibe and isolation that contributes to all good music with soul. I feel escapism, optimism and defeat. Good music is meant to make you feel.

I never expected to be moved this way by music without words. The Cherry EP is being released today (Friday 20 October 2017). Do yourself a favour and buy it. Play it at ear crushing levels in your headphones or better still blast it through a noise control neighbour bothering PA until you get told to shut it down.

My eyes are open. They feel colour.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Hybrid Rose

Citing a range of musical influences from Kevin Parker (Tame Impala) to Lady Gaga and Marina Diamandis, to Coldplay, Blenheim resident Rose Gray (aka Hybrid Rose) self-produces tunes that vary from chiptune ditty Video Games to the poppy, dance-y Pixel and distorted dubstep of Expectations.

Her influences go beyond music, however; the opening chords to Pixels came to her while watching an episode of Adventure Time for example. She also cites vintage design and graphics as an influence, especially in terms of the visuals she produces alongside her songs. While Gray doesn’t consider herself a political person, she says she’s very passionate about making change.

Her musical character is a little more involved however, and the music is occasionally politically inspired. Hybrid Rose, an electronic character. An infectious virus in your ears, an addiction you cannot quit.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hybrid Rose

Releases

Cherry
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Cosmic
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem