17 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance

12 Oct 2017 // A review by tonymcdonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.

Vengeance has a great feel to the verse but doesn't quite lift to the level I was hoping for in the chorus. It feels more like an album song than a single. That's not a huge criticism, just not catchy enough to make it to number one.

I have been listening to it over and over and I love the verse riff a lot. More of that and I reckon the The Whiskey Show will be on to a winner.

Check out their Facebook page here.


Review written by Tony McDonald

About The Whiskey Show

We are The Whiskey Show a 4-piece Hard-Rock band from Wellington. We play hard hitting, high energy, dirty old Rock n Roll, for the discerning modern rock listener.

With a list of influences that is wide and varied, our sound is derived from the raw edge classic rock bands spanning the last 40 years.

For us Rock n' Roll goes further than the music. Rocking out and partying with the crowd is as important to us as writing songs and bringing our sound to the world.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Whiskey Show

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Whiskey Show.

Other Reviews By tonymcdonald

Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by tonymcdonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing
28 Aug 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80ís retro PowerPop single really stand out. I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer.
Read More...
Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit
26 Jun 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome.
Read More...
Scared Of Girls - EP Review: Suck
10 May 2017 // by tonymcdonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate
14 Feb 2017 // by tonymcdonald
I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.
Read More...
Pitch Black - Album Review: Filtered Senses
12 Sep 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Pitch Black, the duo from Christchurch are back after nine long years with a brand new dub album, Filtered Senses. Itís dark and mysterious with a laid back lounge club feel.
Read More...
Prizegiving - Album Review: No Harm Done
05 Jul 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Donít think about buying the cassette from Bandcamp because it's sold out. Is that a good thing?
Read More...
Broken Season - EP Review: Wake Up The Fallen
28 Feb 2016 // by tonymcdonald
The intro features a speech from the film 'The Great Dictator' starring Charlie Chaplin. An interesting speech about war which is a classic, very clever and leads on nicely to Bullets (Fuck The System), the second song which is more like what I was expecting from Broken Season.
Read More...
View All Articles By tonymcdonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem