14 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Merrin - Album Review: 1

12 Oct 2017 // A review by LoraThompson

From first listen, Merrin's 1 has evolved in leaps and bounds from their earlier singles Sin and Mr Dominant the band are now bringing a much heavier and refined hard rock feel than their previous work.

The Album begins with the newest single Durty Little Secret and quickly and easily segways into the heavier, riffier Burn it Up.
This track, and the track that follows, War Within boasts some heavy guitar work reminiscent of artists like Black Label Society, Fear Factory and Down, while Charlie's Gritty and soulful vocals take on some powerful melodies bringing it all together.

Ode to the Homicidal Trash Queen is more huge catchy riffs paired with some gang vocals I can imagine this song really going off live with a big moshpit. Throughout the album there are small samples or spoken word interludes which are placed carefully in between tracks, giving it an overall progressive flow.

Despite its straight up the guts Hard Rock feel , there are some progressive moments in the record such as the soft melodic vocals in Beware the Huntress or the short ballad 'Forsake Me Father' that really showcase Charlie's dynamic abilities as a vocalist complete with soulful harmonies and layers she is like a cross between Lzzy Hale (Halestorm), Aretha Franklin and NZ's own Jennie Skulander (Devilskin).

Merrin's 1 is currently available through their website and they are looking forward to supporting Vallkyrie at Valhalla in Wellington on November 2, 2017.



Review written by Lora Thompson

About Merrin

Rock Under Construction...

Emerging with a new line up and an explosive new sound, Merrin incorporates the goodness of high energy rock with soul and passion. Feel it as it smacks you in the chest in the best kind of way. Loved by many, they have played support to iconic acts I Am Giant and American band Everclear, headlining their own tours around the country and performing to big crowds at various events throughout their home town of Wellington, New Zealand.

Charlie Phillips is one of this country's most mesmerising female rock vocalists. Her passion and drive is as inspiring and intoxicating as her soul-fuelled voice. With her alluring stage presence and powerful melodies, it is not surprising that her voice has drawn a lot of interest overseas.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Merrin

Releases

1
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Don't Forget To Breathe
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By LoraThompson

L.A.B. - Album Review: L.A.B
12 Dec 2017 // by LoraThompson
Needless to say I have seen these boys play live and had long anticipated the release of the self-title album from L.A.
Read More...
Tunes of I - Single Review: Kiss the Sky
04 Nov 2017 // by LoraThompson
Wellington dub-rockers Tunes of I just never stop. After a crazy couple of years touring their debut album Restless, they're back with the first single off what will be their third release, and EP called Wicked Ways  due for release on the 17th November.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Fabric
26 Sep 2017 // by LoraThompson
Fabric (Released September 2017) is the 6th Full-length studio offering from Wellington-based band The Black Seeds and the 12 track album certainly does not disappoint. The band have been around since 1998, with their Global Breakthrough album generally considered to be their 2006 release Enter the Dojo.
Read More...
Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Inspiration
10 Jun 2017 // by LoraThompson
As I downloaded this track to begin listening I really had no idea what to expect. Actually that's a lie,I had heard a few of Ryan's previous offerings Little Green Dragon (2008), The Lunar Sea (2011) and The Buzz Tapes (2012) - So based on this I expected an awesome display of guitar, and that's exactly what I got one of NZ's best and highly under-rated guitarists.
Read More...
The Nukes - Album Review: III
01 Apr 2017 // by LoraThompson
I have had the pleasure of reviewing the full-length album III by NZ's original Ukulele Trio The Nukes. Dave Parker, David 'Snapper' Thiele, and Ben Collier are a power-trio of NZ music's finest former credits include Goldenhorse, Rhythm Cage and The Parker Project as well as Thiele's extensive contribution to the local music community through Kiwi FM.
Read More...
Poison Skies - EP Review: Day to Defy
23 Nov 2016 // by LoraThompson
The debut EP Day to Defy from Poison Skies delivers a familiar pop-punk kick while nailing their powerful and catchy sound. The EP begins with their upbeat single Eighty Six, leading into the heavier half-time thrash of Stop and Breathe The catchy, melodic chorus in this second track provides a stark contrast against a well-orchestrated wall of noise.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Album Review: The 11th Sky
22 Oct 2016 // by LoraThompson
Wellington Electro-Soul outfit Electric Wire Hustle released their 3rd album The 11th Sky on September 30th2016. EWH first appeared in the public eye with their self titled album in 2009 , and since then have also released Love Can Prevail in 2014 which was a world wide success that saw the band achieve some Cult Fame in the UK and Europe.
Read More...
View All Articles By LoraThompson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem