27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - Single Review: Imbecile

08 Oct 2017 // A review by Channel1
Play Big are ANGRY. There's nothing wrong with that, in fact, we need more angry people in the world right now. Don't get me wrong let's not mix up anger with hate they are two very different beasts. Anger fuels curiosity and curiosity fuels anger. Anger fuels rebellion and hate just eats itself.

At just under 4 mins long this song takes no prisoners. It's clear from the recording quality, the video, Play Big are also aiming at bigger things. The anger here is self-directed, "my biggest enemy is me" and then making a decision to defy what the world is throwing at you and change direction. You see anger is an energy and a positive one.

There is always a danger when travelling down the rap/rock route that we end up back in 1993 and people start spinning guitars round their necks or here in NZ we get watered down Blindspott (Blacklistt). Thankfully Play Big don't seem to be driven by chart success they want to get something off their chest and they do it really well.

I think Play Big are onto something and need to continue to get harder, angrier, more positive/negative. Keep the stripped back vibe. Space creates noise and if that is where they are going then this is going to be one big noise that NZ can be proud of.

Let's hope this song gets heard. Actually, no fuck that let's hope people go out and watch this song get played live. Then the message can be hit home.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Play Big

Play Big blend heavy riffing - hip hop tinged - 90's hardcore into an energetic and crowd involved live show. Formed in 2015, their demo EP Fuck Work was followed up by their latest single and video, Imbecile in 2017. Named after an ear-splitting early Downset song, Play Big have re-energized fans of Rage Against The Machine, Limp Bizkit, Dog Eat Dog, and Cancer Bats. Comprised of vocalist Shaun Winslow, drummer Ricky Filth and guitarists Will Cleverdon, Cam Sotham and Ross Armstrong.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Play Big

Releases

Fuck Work
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem