14 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dave Dobbyn - Single Review: Nau Mai Ra (Welcome Home)

26 Sep 2017 // A review by Channel1
When the opportunity to review this single came up I almost passed it by. This wasn't about discovering a new song (or so I thought). We all know Dave Dobbyn's Welcome Home it has even been described as New Zealand's unofficial anthem.

As someone who moved to New Zealand 15 years ago, I did connect with the original song and its message when it was first released back in 2005. The heart of the song struck a chord with me as I moved to New Zealand from the UK to settle and create a better lifestyle for myself and my family. I wanted to embrace New Zealand culture and become a part of it. I have no regrets.

This new version of the song is released to coincide with Maori language week and features backing vocals from Maimoa. It makes sense that we finally get the translated version. There is, as always, a drive to keep the native language alive. I get it, I respect it. As a country, we should embrace the Maori language as it is part of what makes us unique.

I also understand the argument that the language has little use outside of New Zealand and our schools are better focusing on teaching Chinese, French or Spanish if we really want our kids to improve their global mobility options. However, listening to the song I realised how important language is and how communication through song is such a great way to keep a language alive and share those words.

One thing that really stands out is the passion and commitment in Dave's vocals. The natural poetic flow of the Maori language enhances the song and the vocals. There is no doubt in his commitment to this version of the song. It did give me goosebumps.

Will it have the desired result of connecting with an audience who can keep the Maori language alive? To be honest I am not sure. If the language isn't passed down to the youth of New Zealand then it will ultimately, eventually die. I doubt this version will get anywhere near the airplay or coverage of the original either which is a shame.

I think the recent release of Ru Ana Te Whenua by Alien Weaponry is an example of how we keep the language alive with the youth of New Zealand. There are other musicians as well.

The technique of learning language through song is fundamental in keeping a language alive so fair play to Dave and every other musician who has done this. If you liked the original English version then make sure you listen to Nau Mai Ra. I actually prefer it and I am glad I didn't pass it by.



Review written by Paul Goddard

About Dave Dobbyn

Dave Dobbyn is regarded as a national treasure in New Zealand. Wherever Kiwis gather around the world, it is likely to be songs by Dave Dobbyn they sing when thinking of home.

In 2001, after almost 30 years as a musician and songwriter, Dobbyn was given a rare, lifetime achievement award by the New Zealand recording industry. Instead of a speech, the managing director of Sony New Zealand just read out a long list of song titles - Beside You, Be Mine Tonight, Language, Outlook for Thursday, Loyal, Whaling, Kingdom Come, It Dawned On Me, Guilty, Devil You Know, Slice of Heaven, Magic What She Do, Oughta Be in Love Ö

These songs, written by Dobbyn, had moved people throughout the country. They were songs they had danced to with their first lover, songs they have married to, songs that made them laugh and cry or even played when burying their loved ones.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dave Dobbyn

Releases

Beside You
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Anotherland
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Available Light
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Hopetown
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Overnight Success
Year: 1999
Type: Album
The Islander
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Twist
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Lament For The Numb
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Loyal
Year: 1988
Type: Album
Footrot Flats
Year: 1986
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem