27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Knightshade - Single Review: 'U Say'

17 Sep 2017 // A review by Shade

When we think of Kiwi Hard Rock bands that have shaped our musical landscape over the past 3 decades, survived devastating real life storms, re-united us with graphic memories of the same shaky ground we’ve all stood on before, and been there since the dawn of 1980’s Kiwi Hard Rock… one name does not escape. Knightshade.

Right from the start, U Say opens with a gentle movie setting ambience & atmosphere, as the rich strings from Kingsley Smith slowly draw you in, melting together with serene peaceful enticing guitar lines. In no time at all, you are introduced to Wayne Elliot’s spell casting vocals. As the rich harmonious chorus effortlessly drops, Neil Mcdonald’s texture filled bass lines along with Scott Williams expressive drumming style ignite to set the scene. You are smoothly transported into a past world we have all lived in. Confusion. Distrust. Pain. Heartbreak. The perfectly crafted lyrics of U Say subconsciously tap your emotions.

It is also here when those powerful, polished and tight classic Knightshade shred rhythms start to drive this track, and you, somewhere else. Continuing to tell a true story we can all relate to, it’s not long before Rik Bernard and Craig Pollock’s precision dual octave guitar lead break and dreamy bridge leave you recalling your past. That ‘stuff’ you tried to forget comes flooding back once again as the song winds up into harmonic overdrive. Superbly well crafted rock, U Say takes you right back to that soul-stirring journey. The one you thought you had survived.

Such seasoned songwriting ability to capture and connect people as one, on a single emotion,  is desperately missing from many modern productions these days. However, Knightshade show once again, real storytelling is still very much alive in 2017. Telling a message millions can relate to. The strong stamp of ‘New Zealandness’ within this piece of artwork leaves a lingering taste that will last long after you’ve finished your tomato sauce!

Call me Bogan if you will, but I can already imagine myself rumbling down the highway in a V8, on a hot Summer’s day, windows open with this track cranking! It delivers punchy summer hard rock hit sound, with distinctive Kiwi infusion.

I reckon U Say will cut real with NZ music fans, and deserves FM Radio traction! Check it out!



Review provided to muzic.net.nz and written by Carwyn Henigan

About Knightshade

Knightshade is a New Zealand rock/hardrock group. They formed in Te Puke in 1982. The band based themselves in Hamilton in the mid-1980s when the line-up changed. The line-up then consisted of Wayne Elliott (vocals), Alan Grady (drums), Rik Bernards (guitar), Jon Bell (bass), Paul Martin (guitar). Paul left the band and Gavin Lind rejoined. This was the lineup that performed and recorded the majority of their work. Craig Pollock replaced Gavin Lind on guitar in 1991. They have had several top 20 singles and have supported major touring acts including Deep Purple, ZZ Top, Bon Jovi, Jimmy Barnes, The Angels, Iggy Pop and Guns 'N' Roses. They have also released several EPs, a live album and a ‘best of’ studio album in 1995. Knightshade are still based in Hamilton.

The band went their separate ways in 1997, but after a 14-year hiatus they reunited in 2010 and released a new single, Rough at the Top, a year later. On June 6, 2014, the band finally returned to the public stage and gave a long-anticipated gig in Hamilton at the Altitude, with several further gigs the same year. 2015 saw the band grow and plant their feet more firmly on the ground, with the help from their latest line-up, including; Scott Williams on drums, Neil McDonald on bass, and Kingsley Smith on Keyboards. Wayne, Rik, and Craig remained the core original members of the band as the KS machine gathered momentum from its Hamilton home base. Knightshade were invited to perform as part of the bill for the infamous Gemini party, hosted by Paul Martin, May 31, 2015. The headlining act was Devilskin with Medusa Glare also appearing on the same bill. The rest of 2015 saw the band working on new material and honing the new line-up. On November 6, 2015, they performed at the Mount, at the newly opened Totara Street venue. This was their first gig in the Bay area in almost 20 years. It was a kind of 'coming home' gig for Wayne and Rik, who originally came from the Bay of Plenty area. (Wayne from Te Puke and Rik from Whakatane). The gig was a great success and marked a new era for Knightshade with a tight new line-up.

Recording sessions started for the new material towards the end of 2015 and into 2016, but were stalled after Wayne returned for more chemo treatment. After 3 or 4 months of this, Wayne’s health temporarily returned and the band decided to announce one final gig, scheduled for 6th of August 2016. The band rehearsed for nearly 3 months, with Gael Ludlow joining them to add her legendary vocals for the song Out for the Count. By the time of the gig, the Altitude venue in Hamilton had sold out, with people coming from all over New Zealand for their last chance to experience the band live. Some fans even flew across the Tasman Sea to see the gig. It was a very special night with the band performing for over 2 hours. A camera crew filmed the concert and have been slowly editing the footage for a full length Live DVD. (hopefully due out at the end of 2017). At the same time, the band have been polishing their new single, U Say, due out 29th of October 2017. This is the first of 4 new songs to be released by Knightshade over the next few months.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Knightshade

Releases

Knightshade
Year: 1995
Type: Album
You Don't Need Me
Year: 1988
Type: EP
Out For The Night (live)
Year: 1987
Type: Album
The Physical You
Year: 1987
Type: EP
Out For The Count
Year: 1986
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Gig Review: Wallace @ Meow, Wellington - 11/06/17
24 Jul 2017 // by Shade
With a much deprived passion for a live music experience and pushed on by a resemblance of the gigs poster to a singer of the same genre I was at Meow on Sunday night for Wallace. Unaware of the company I'd share the night with, equally anticipating hip hop heads or those on the jazz fest circuit  (it was mainly the latter), contemplating my week if I had not gone along is an existence I know I would have been poorer for.
Read More...
Cybiont Reviews
29 Aug 2010 // by Shade
Angels & Demons2010Musical Bricolage as Metaphor“You see things; and you say, 'Why?' But I dream things that never were; and I say, 'Why not?
Read More...
Eqwanox @ The Royal, PN - 12 June 2010
28 Jun 2010 // by Shade
I had the absolute pleasure of being invited along to see Eqwanox perform live at The Royal in Palmerston North on 12 June 2010, and I was more than impressed with the Waikato boys tight and epic performance. Not only were their songs inspirational, with lyrics that many of us could relate to, but what I saw that night was so compelling and memorable, I find myself wanting to tell the world about them.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly Album Review
08 Jun 2009 // by Shade
Mercury Crowe are a straight-ahead rock band. They are straight ahead, though, not in that their songs lack inventiveness or freshness, but in the sense that they clearly just want to write good tunes.
Read More...
CD Single – These Four Walls
23 Sep 2008 // by Shade
It’s hard to review a CD single as there are only a couple of songs to make your judgement on. With an album you have the luxury to get a real sense of the band and the direction that want to take you on.
Read More...
El Schlong - 'The Baddies Are Coming'
10 Aug 2008 // by Shade
REVIEW BY DOUG MOORE www.metalreview.
Read More...
Lauren Thomson Reviews
06 Feb 2008 // by Shade
"True story: I received this five-song EP before Christmas, played it a bit then put on the "get to" pile -which meant it was ignored in the Christmas shuffle. The other day I pulled it out to enjoy again and post this week when an e-mail arrived from this Auckland singer-songwriter asking (politely) if I might be interested in writing about it.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - 'Into The Dojo'
12 Nov 2006 // by Shade
With their third studio album released recently, The Black Seeds have definitely made an impact in the New Zealand music scene. Established in the sound of roots and dub - more so the latter - Into The Dojo consists of The Black Seeds’ essence however it is refined to a smoother, crisper sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem