27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017

16 Sep 2017 // A review by Sass_Metal

I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.

Rebel Sound Radio were the first band to take to the stage and I have to admit I missed the first few songs due to the road works around the venue and not being able to find a park. I had been wanting to see these guys live since I reviewed their debut EP last year. After the show I was talking to vocalist Jessie James and I had totally forgotten it was their debut recording because it is still one of my favourite Rock recordings and I listen to it when I feel like an injection of energy mid afternoon and there is nothing about the recording that sounds like a first attempt. 

Live Rebel Sound Radio emulate their recording in that, if you shut your eyes they donít sound like a 3 piece band at all.  The first song I saw of Rebel Sound Radio was their Motorhead cover of Ace of Spades and other than Jessie James not having the same gravely voice as Lemmy, it was one of the best covers Iíve seen of Motorhead (and Iíve seen a lot since Lemmyís passing, in fact the only other one Iíve enjoyed as much was of Jon Toogoodís acoustic one which was different for obvious reasons)

During the next song I found myself remember my initial feelings when I first listened to their recording last year and that was of summer road trips, late nights with friends, bonfires and adventures. A Rebel Sound Radio set is full of high energy, in your face, loud and oh so good! You can also tell that Paul Lawrence and the crew at Ding Dong have been making improvements to the sound gear. Rebel sound Radio and Paulie made it so hard to stand still and take notes! Taking notes standing to the side I feel like I did the first time I heard them when I had my first listen to the EP, stuck in holiday traffic going south to Hamilton for a gig and I remember thinking then that I would love to be dancing right about nowÖ so this time I put my phone away and danced for a couple of songs. FINALLY I felt like my soul was feeding on the music. The energy and music made me forget my earlier fatigue.

Next up was Auckland band Animalhead. I feel like I had been living under a rock earlier in the year when I got told they had been playing for a few years as I had only seen them live for the first time earlier this year. I think Iíve seen them 3 times now and each time itís the same loud, in your face hard hitting heavy rock, with elements of Punk and Heavy Metal. Again another 3 piece Animalhead have been very busy making waves this year and the last time I saw them they won the Ding Dong band competition and I remember then being so blown away by their performance. This time was no different and I spent the first four songs of their set dancing J which doesnít make this very easy to write.  But the atmosphere in that room was so contagious everyone was there to have fun, and everyone was dancing or jumping or head banging. This was Animalheadís time to shine and shine they did.

Static Era couldnít have found two bands more suited for their support bands, they got the crowd jumping and primed ready for the main act perfectly. I have a big grin on my face as I remember Static Era's set, you could see and feel the love in that room and on that stage. Emma and Chris especially looked so happy to be sharing the stage together again!  I have thoroughly missed seeing Emma live in New Zealand and while she has been KILLING it in America it was awesome to see her home again. There was a song Iím not sure what itís called but itís about being Ďfucked aroundí as Emma put it and I felt like she was channeling the anger she put into one of her solo songs Sold (Take A Shot).

Sold (Take A Shot) is about her treatment by a record label exec in America and her being objectified as a sex object rather than a supremely talented musician. Emma was almost ROARING in that song, her facials, body language, whole persona changed to an angry monster almost. Emmaís transformation in this song reminded me of so many of my metal brothers who off stage are friendly, humble and kind but onstage start to channel some crazy kinds of demons. Emma was ON FIRE! Their whole set she didnít seem tired or fatigued at all, even though she had already played two shows the two previous nights and was off to play another show the next night.

The next song I have to mention is Dear Me which was a blast from the past for me. Itís a song for everyone who has struggled in life and is about holding on and not being alone. While they were playing this song I felt like it was tugging on my head strings and I had tears in my eyes, especially with the latest spate of suicides in our global rock/metal community in the last few months. Please donít give up! Thereís always a way through Ė  Dear Me is on YouTube, and I highly recommend looking for it and blasting it if you arenít in a good place. This is such a beautiful soul baring song and I feel like everyone in the band had their own creative input into this song as this is one they performed tighter than all of the others.

I could go on for pages and pages how amazing it was to see Static Era live on stage again. I miss them so much but Iím proud to see Emma and Chris playing in other musical projects (Chris is in Metaract who are playing at Ding Dong on the 22nd) and Emmaís tour still has A LOT of shows left to go! I hope to get along to one of her solo shows as Iíve heard nothing but good things about them.


Review written by Sarah Sampson

About Static Era

Static Era is an Auckland-based rock band (think Evanescence meets Stone Sour) that formed in late 2010 and features a stellar lineup of musicians.

Double-platinum selling guitarist Chris Yong (Tadpole, Redline, Alt TV) has performed internationally and toured with Disturbed, P.O.D, Alter Bridge and Evanescence.

Vocalist Emma G is a New Zealander of the Year Local Hero award recipient, honoured in 2012 for inspiring others through her music. Despite living with a health condition that has challenged her through twenty three surgeries, including ten brain surgeries, she established a successful singing career at a young age and placed top ten in the Inaugural Play It Strange songwriting competition in 2004. Emma G also teaches tertiary level music and was a vocal coach for eight years.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Static Era

Releases

Fit To Fight
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Dare To Fail
Year: 2013
Type: EP
The Start
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Sass_Metal

Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sass_Metal
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to Ė especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times Iíve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutaliteeís Birthday Bash and of course all the times Iíve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you havenít seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and Iím pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tribal State @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 28/07/2017
29 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
It was a cold, wet night, my nose was running and I couldnít stop sneezing and coughing. I wasnít feeling up to going out on such a miserable night but Iím more than happy that I did.
Read More...
Bloodnut - Album Review: St. Ranga
27 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Iíve heard a lot of albums in my time but thereís not many that draws you in from the first note and despite itís unusual name Space Orangutan it is one of the best opening tracks for an album Iíve heard in a very long time. The levels in this mix capture the live, raw sound of Bloodnut perfectly which is also very rare in NZ Metal recordings (the amount of times Iíve had my music on shuffle and had to turn it up for NZ Metal bands then to have my speakers almost explode when an International band comes on drives me crazy every time!
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades with Bakers Eddy, Dead Favours & Skinny Hobos @ Galatos, Auckland - 15/07/2017
17 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This was a well anticipated show for many of the punters there, talking to them between bands around the venue and outside. Despite being moved into the smaller basement room below Galatos instead of being in the ballroom it was the perfect size and created the right atmosphere for the bands and audience to be closer together and almost as one.
Read More...
Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Make it Go Away
03 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Iíve known Ryan Kershaw for a long time and have always been a fan of all the music he writes with all the various bands and solo projects he has released music with. His new single Make It Go Away is no exception.
Read More...
Anti Matter - Gig Review: Riot Grrrl 3 @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 30/06/17
01 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Right from when event promoter Courtney took to the stage to introduce the first act and exclaimed excitedly that while it was the 3rd Riot Grrrl event it would be the first all female line up, I knew we would be in for a treat. All through the night and into this morning Iíve been trying to rack my brains trying to think of another music show Iíve been too that had only female musicians play and I honestly donít think in the 9 or so years of me running, attending, reviewing and working on music events that I can recall ever being at a show with only female performers.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sass_Metal

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem