18 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door

12 Sep 2017 // A review by Corinner

Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970’s NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes “A tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.” And it compliments the song perfectly, for some reason it all just works. Punk rock and skateboarding just go together for some reason; perhaps it’s a no nonsense, rebellious thing. Fast, loud and thrilling.

The Dirty Sweets are no strangers to the air waves, getting plenty of play on Hauraiki and The Rock, plus other local stations, also gaining generous exposure as support act for the likes of Urge Overkill, The Datsuns, Head Like A Hole and Devilskin.

Once again likened to Motorhead, this time with a blues/garage/rock riff, this bunch of rockers from West Auckland have given us another gravelly, grungy, gritty punk inspired track to sink our teeth into. Previously described as prehistoric growl rock, this band produces some mean dirty sounds, with self-asserting lyrics; Kick Down The Door is no exception apart from the fact that I thought it sounded more punk rock then prehistoric growl and the visuals enhanced that feeling, both with the video and the 70’s inspired stunning (I might add) album art. It is definitely kick ass.

The lyrics are slightly PG rated and it has definite mosh pit factor, although I imagine body slamming would be pretty standard at a Dirty Sweets concert.

Paul, Dee Dee, Doug and Josh have a raw energy which has seen them gain popularity in the Pub scene around Auckland and Hamilton, there is no doubt their music is designed to make you sit up and take notice. And take notice you will.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About The Dirty Sweets

Their sound has memorably been described by New Zealand Musician Magazine as being akin to ‘The Munsters at an Acca Dacca convention’. Now, The Dirty Sweets return, once again flying the bogan flag boldly with a new self-titled EP that’s destined to rock you like a hurricane.

The new collection, which reunites the band with award-winning uber producer Andrew Buckton on latest single ‘Black Dawg’, has already been getting plenty of support on The Rock and Hauraki.

So keep your ears open, because this latest clutch of dirty but sweet tunes is destined to totally tear you a new one (in the best possible way).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Dirty Sweets


There are no releases to display for The Dirty Sweets.

Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem