19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door

12 Sep 2017 // A review by Corinner

Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970’s NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes “A tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.” And it compliments the song perfectly, for some reason it all just works. Punk rock and skateboarding just go together for some reason; perhaps it’s a no nonsense, rebellious thing. Fast, loud and thrilling.

The Dirty Sweets are no strangers to the air waves, getting plenty of play on Hauraiki and The Rock, plus other local stations, also gaining generous exposure as support act for the likes of Urge Overkill, The Datsuns, Head Like A Hole and Devilskin.

Once again likened to Motorhead, this time with a blues/garage/rock riff, this bunch of rockers from West Auckland have given us another gravelly, grungy, gritty punk inspired track to sink our teeth into. Previously described as prehistoric growl rock, this band produces some mean dirty sounds, with self-asserting lyrics; Kick Down The Door is no exception apart from the fact that I thought it sounded more punk rock then prehistoric growl and the visuals enhanced that feeling, both with the video and the 70’s inspired stunning (I might add) album art. It is definitely kick ass.

The lyrics are slightly PG rated and it has definite mosh pit factor, although I imagine body slamming would be pretty standard at a Dirty Sweets concert.

Paul, Dee Dee, Doug and Josh have a raw energy which has seen them gain popularity in the Pub scene around Auckland and Hamilton, there is no doubt their music is designed to make you sit up and take notice. And take notice you will.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About The Dirty Sweets

Their sound has memorably been described by New Zealand Musician Magazine as being akin to ‘The Munsters at an Acca Dacca convention’. Now, The Dirty Sweets return, once again flying the bogan flag boldly with a new self-titled EP that’s destined to rock you like a hurricane.

The new collection, which reunites the band with award-winning uber producer Andrew Buckton on latest single ‘Black Dawg’, has already been getting plenty of support on The Rock and Hauraki.

So keep your ears open, because this latest clutch of dirty but sweet tunes is destined to totally tear you a new one (in the best possible way).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Dirty Sweets

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Dirty Sweets.

Other Reviews By Corinner

So Below - Single Review: Close
14 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
New Zealand's very own enigmatic songbird, Madeline North AKA So Below has released a new single called Close. An upbeat lively track accompanied by intense poetic lyrics which don’t match.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Willowbank
02 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
I have crossed the path of Yumi Zouma once before when I reviewed their first track on this album which was released as a single back in August. Willowbank is the sophomore album to Yoncalla, their debut originals LP.
Read More...
Great North - Album Review: The Golden Age
27 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
You know you have stumbled onto a good thing, when you come across a band who reckons that their songs were delivered to them by drunken angels and the music video involves blowing loads of beautifully crafted cakes from the Australian Women’s Weekly Cake Book to smithereens.  “Nearly every 90's child in New Zealand would have had a cake from that cookbook or been at a party where one was served.
Read More...
Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness
20 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former.
Read More...
Kimbra - Single Review: Everybody Knows
10 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
When I hear Kimbra, I still hear Somebody That I Used To Know, a song which Gotye made a killing on in 2012 and shot our lovely kiwi Kimbra from Hamilton into the musical stratosphere. I still hear it because I played it over and over again until I drove myself mad or my cats bonkers, one of the two.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980’s, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki
08 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem