24 Sep 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door

12 Sep 2017 // A review by Corinner

Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970’s NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes “A tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.” And it compliments the song perfectly, for some reason it all just works. Punk rock and skateboarding just go together for some reason; perhaps it’s a no nonsense, rebellious thing. Fast, loud and thrilling.

The Dirty Sweets are no strangers to the air waves, getting plenty of play on Hauraiki and The Rock, plus other local stations, also gaining generous exposure as support act for the likes of Urge Overkill, The Datsuns, Head Like A Hole and Devilskin.

Once again likened to Motorhead, this time with a blues/garage/rock riff, this bunch of rockers from West Auckland have given us another gravelly, grungy, gritty punk inspired track to sink our teeth into. Previously described as prehistoric growl rock, this band produces some mean dirty sounds, with self-asserting lyrics; Kick Down The Door is no exception apart from the fact that I thought it sounded more punk rock then prehistoric growl and the visuals enhanced that feeling, both with the video and the 70’s inspired stunning (I might add) album art. It is definitely kick ass.

The lyrics are slightly PG rated and it has definite mosh pit factor, although I imagine body slamming would be pretty standard at a Dirty Sweets concert.

Paul, Dee Dee, Doug and Josh have a raw energy which has seen them gain popularity in the Pub scene around Auckland and Hamilton, there is no doubt their music is designed to make you sit up and take notice. And take notice you will.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About The Dirty Sweets

Their sound has memorably been described by New Zealand Musician Magazine as being akin to ‘The Munsters at an Acca Dacca convention’. Now, The Dirty Sweets return, once again flying the bogan flag boldly with a new self-titled EP that’s destined to rock you like a hurricane.

The new collection, which reunites the band with award-winning uber producer Andrew Buckton on latest single ‘Black Dawg’, has already been getting plenty of support on The Rock and Hauraki.

So keep your ears open, because this latest clutch of dirty but sweet tunes is destined to totally tear you a new one (in the best possible way).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Dirty Sweets

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Dirty Sweets.

Other Reviews By Corinner

Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki
08 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single/Video Review: Like A Game Feat. King Kapisi
06 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Imagine This has once again demonstrated why he is blazing a highly productive music trail by teaming up with one of New Zealand’s top Hip-Hop recording artists King Kapisi, to;make his latest single Like A Game. The prolific collaborator hailing from Auckland with a busy International touring presence has proved again that his highly creative and productive work ethic is paying off.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - Album Review: Little Arrows
05 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My hope is that I can do this album justice and give it the respect it deserves. This has been an emotional journey for Reb Fountain.
Read More...
The Brian Hatcher Band - Album Review: Trouble & Worry
01 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Brian Hatcher, Craig Hatcher and Jarrod Hooper make up The Brian Hatcher Band, a three piece from New Plymouth with a rock and blues soul. After an extensive time in the New Zealand music scene, guitarist Brian Hatcher has completed Trouble & Worry, his long awaited first album.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Single Review: Depths (Pt. 1)
23 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
Yumi Zouma are a four piece synth-pop powerhouse from Christchurch. The music they produce is electronica mixed with pop.
Read More...
Sons Of Zion - EP Release: The Jukebox Suite
14 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
If you want to be transported away to hot summer days and music festivals, then go no further than Sons Of Zion brand new EP titled The Jukebox Suite, four songs including a new single featuring Aaradhna called Is That Enough. This band is the epitome of smooth balmy summertime sounds.
Read More...
Mermaidens - Album Release: Perfect Body
10 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
It was never going to be possible for a band called Mermaidens to slip under my radar. I spotted these three with their fanciful, quirky but supper cool band name one day as I was scrolling through Facebook as you do.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • 1-800-273-8255
    Logic feat. Alessia Cara And Khalid
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO
    Taylor Swift
  • FRIENDS
    Justin Bieber And BloodPop
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem