19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki

08 Sep 2017 // A review by Corinner

My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds. But Killing Bear's latest single Lost In Otaki is not quite as futuristic as previous releases, it is more like a journey down memory lane of uncomplicated times and simple pleasures. It has a nostalgic vibe, but on closer inspection could possibly be a hung over cruise to the beach.

There are no centipedes involved or reptilian overloads, but instead “Fields of green, floating river dreams…” It is slightly mind warping as the chorus gets stuck in your brain and worms it way through until “here we are, still alive simply lost in Otaki” is going around and around in your head, these are masters of catchy, strange lyrics and surrealistic sounds. You have been warned.

Killing Bear have provided us with the dynamic funky bass we have become accustomed to, yet Lost In Otaki is less trippy maybe more cohesive then past endeavours, This could be part of the grand plan to prevent the next catastrophic event happening by “partying on dude” but if it is then I reckon they are lulling us into a false sense of security with this chilled out vibe.

I do however know a lot more about Otaki then I did before. I had to research it, I just had to.

So, Levon, Cormac, Lachlan and Liam have given us another cool track, I always look forward to see what they come up with next. Assuming they are still a mystical tribe from Mars armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars, Killing Bear seem to be doing alright.

“Here we are, still alive, Simply lost in Otaki”.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Killing Bear

In the far distant future a mystical tribe on Mars use their psychic powers to travel back in time. They possessed the minds of a band of musicians with the aim to utilise their partytastic powers to correct the undoings of the past.

Armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars the band was then able to transcend the barriers of space-time. With the power of music they travelled back a millennia and stopped a devastating event in our history. This event now never occurred because we are living in a parallel future to the one in which it happened. Now in 2016 the next catastrophic event is just around the corner and we need you to party hard to help stop it from ever happening.

Killing Bear! Psychedelic futuristic music from the past from another planet.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Killing Bear

Releases

Mysterium Tremendum
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Killing Bear
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Vine Of Souls
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Rebirth
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Wild Beasts
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

So Below - Single Review: Close
14 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
New Zealand's very own enigmatic songbird, Madeline North AKA So Below has released a new single called Close. An upbeat lively track accompanied by intense poetic lyrics which don’t match.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Willowbank
02 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
I have crossed the path of Yumi Zouma once before when I reviewed their first track on this album which was released as a single back in August. Willowbank is the sophomore album to Yoncalla, their debut originals LP.
Read More...
Great North - Album Review: The Golden Age
27 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
You know you have stumbled onto a good thing, when you come across a band who reckons that their songs were delivered to them by drunken angels and the music video involves blowing loads of beautifully crafted cakes from the Australian Women’s Weekly Cake Book to smithereens.  “Nearly every 90's child in New Zealand would have had a cake from that cookbook or been at a party where one was served.
Read More...
Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness
20 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former.
Read More...
Kimbra - Single Review: Everybody Knows
10 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
When I hear Kimbra, I still hear Somebody That I Used To Know, a song which Gotye made a killing on in 2012 and shot our lovely kiwi Kimbra from Hamilton into the musical stratosphere. I still hear it because I played it over and over again until I drove myself mad or my cats bonkers, one of the two.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980’s, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door
12 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970’s NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes “A tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem