24 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki

08 Sep 2017 // A review by Corinner

My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds. But Killing Bear's latest single Lost In Otaki is not quite as futuristic as previous releases, it is more like a journey down memory lane of uncomplicated times and simple pleasures. It has a nostalgic vibe, but on closer inspection could possibly be a hung over cruise to the beach.

There are no centipedes involved or reptilian overloads, but instead “Fields of green, floating river dreams…” It is slightly mind warping as the chorus gets stuck in your brain and worms it way through until “here we are, still alive simply lost in Otaki” is going around and around in your head, these are masters of catchy, strange lyrics and surrealistic sounds. You have been warned.

Killing Bear have provided us with the dynamic funky bass we have become accustomed to, yet Lost In Otaki is less trippy maybe more cohesive then past endeavours, This could be part of the grand plan to prevent the next catastrophic event happening by “partying on dude” but if it is then I reckon they are lulling us into a false sense of security with this chilled out vibe.

I do however know a lot more about Otaki then I did before. I had to research it, I just had to.

So, Levon, Cormac, Lachlan and Liam have given us another cool track, I always look forward to see what they come up with next. Assuming they are still a mystical tribe from Mars armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars, Killing Bear seem to be doing alright.

“Here we are, still alive, Simply lost in Otaki”.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Killing Bear

In the far distant future a mystical tribe on Mars use their psychic powers to travel back in time. They possessed the minds of a band of musicians with the aim to utilise their partytastic powers to correct the undoings of the past.

Armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars the band was then able to transcend the barriers of space-time. With the power of music they travelled back a millennia and stopped a devastating event in our history. This event now never occurred because we are living in a parallel future to the one in which it happened. Now in 2016 the next catastrophic event is just around the corner and we need you to party hard to help stop it from ever happening.

Killing Bear! Psychedelic futuristic music from the past from another planet.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Killing Bear

Releases

Mysterium Tremendum
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Killing Bear
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Vine Of Souls
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Rebirth
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Wild Beasts
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

LA Thompson - Single Review: Lovelight
12 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Prolific supporter and promoter of NZ indie artists and talented song writer / musician LA Thompson has just released a song by Brett Howes. This is collaboration with Brett who is also a member of the LMM Network which LA Thompson (Shirley Howe) founded.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Fingerprints
09 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Auckland-based pop-soul musician Geoff Ong has just released his brand-new track Fingerprints and self-shot video which accompanies it. The video is obviously filmed with a hand-held camera but manages to capture the vibrancy of Tokyo.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Don’t Fire That Gun
12 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine are a five-piece rock band from Auckland with a wealth of experience between them. Decades of performing have seen them become accomplished musicians.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky
01 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know
30 May 2018 // by Corinner
Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album.
Read More...
Boycrush - Album Review: Desperate Late Night Energy
28 May 2018 // by Corinner
Creatively assembling dance-oriented pop music is Alistair Deverick from West Auckland, otherwise known as Boycrush. Producer, drummer and songwriter, Alistair is a multi-talented musician and imaginative visionary, incorporating choreographed dance visuals with electronica.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • GOD IS A WOMAN
    Ariana Grande
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • JACKIE CHAN
    Tiesto And Dzeko feat. Preme And Post Malone
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem