25 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bespin - Single Review: East of Her

07 Sep 2017 // A review by Freecell
Auckland three-piece and Critics Choice prize winners Bespin return with a new track - East of Her.

The song intro starts with a synthesised sound and a bass with an Interesting effect drawing you in. The vocals come in sounding smooth with generous reverb and sustain effects. Ambient sounds and echo's with a hint of a alternative vibe on this one.

After only listening to this song for a minute, their song takes me on a journey back to the late 90's, the alternative scene of Smashing pumpkins, Soundgarden and Alice in Chains to name a few, I can't quite put my finger on the influence of who I think it sounds similar too. At 1:32 minutes, the guitars start playing a catchy melody line with a dreamy bassline and background chords in a sea of reverb.

At this point of the song I was still having flashbacks and very interested to see where this song was going. It is a slow paced song but it sounds powerful with interesting arrangements and talented vocals. 2 minutes into the song, the drumbeat finally drops and the song is sounding full and well mixed and mastered. 2:50 minutes is my favourite part of the song; there's a bridge that changes the song slightly eventually returning to the original riff, the vocals really shine on this part of the song.

All the elements of this band is on point! There's some strong potential here and I'm looking forward to hearing more from this band in the future.


Review written by Kerry Kingi

Releases

Osiris
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Freecell

Dilz - Album Review: Metamorphosis
13 May 2018 // by Freecell
Dilz has been busy at it again, and this time he has delivered a 16-track album called Metamorphosis which mainly features the styles of Hip-Hop, RnB and Rap but also with hints of Soul, Trap and EDM. The first track Caterpillar starts off with a nice synth and warm tones.
Read More...
Chris the Maker Feat. Christopher Allen Haumaha - Single Review: Project001
17 Apr 2018 // by Freecell
This track has no intro, starting off hard, rough and with fuzzy feedback to your ears. It is a continuous loop that starts off quite rough, gradually changing slightly with new arrangements of sounds from time to time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Salmonella Dub Feat. Tiki Taane @ Owen Delaney Park, Taupo - 3/02/2018
09 Feb 2018 // by Freecell
Salmonella Dub are multiple platinum album sellers and award winners famous for their Dub n' Bass sound an important part of New Zealand's music history. This show was about the band reuniting with Tiki Taane.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: [in pieces]
26 Jan 2018 // by Freecell
Empire to Ashes new album [in pieces] is like a soundtrack of ambient alternative art. The music videos that I have seen are amazing and full of surreal visualisations that tells a story.
Read More...
Festival Review: Bay Dreams 2018
21 Jan 2018 // by Freecell
Bay Dreams 2018 was the biggest one yet, from start to finish this was a great day out, great people, great services for drinks and food, rides and a brand new set up this year. The main stage was closer to the other stages so it made it quicker to get around all of the stages to see the artists.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lorde @ Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington - 11/11/2017
16 Nov 2017 // by Freecell
A 20 year old Auckland raised girl kicked off a concert named Melodrama at the Michael Fowler Centre in Wellington Central on Saturday the 11th of November. This girl is Ella - also known as Lorde - the popular artist that had turned famous overnight at 16 and had since created 2 successful albums and 1 EP.
Read More...
Gig Review: Roni Size @ The Studio, Auckland - 27/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Freecell
V Energy and Audiology brings DnB legend and pioneer Roni Size touring his New Forms Anniversary Live show at The Studio in Auckland. I had arrived early at the entrance I could already hear some drum and bass playing walking down to the stage I realised how long its been since I was last at The Studio, suddenly the memories flow in from previous events of Shift to BSE, the venue had character and a lot of history.
Read More...
Radio Therapy - EP Review: Ruby
08 Aug 2017 // by Freecell
This EP starts off with a guitar intro and left speaker panning making for some very interesting sound engineering on Light in Darkness, the riff starts off and then the full band starts playing. My first impression is that it reminds me of Pennywise but different with a high energy rock punk feel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Freecell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem