19 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bespin - Single Review: East of Her

07 Sep 2017 // A review by Freecell
Auckland three-piece and Critics Choice prize winners Bespin return with a new track - East of Her.

The song intro starts with a synthesised sound and a bass with an Interesting effect drawing you in. The vocals come in sounding smooth with generous reverb and sustain effects. Ambient sounds and echo's with a hint of a alternative vibe on this one.

After only listening to this song for a minute, their song takes me on a journey back to the late 90's, the alternative scene of Smashing pumpkins, Soundgarden and Alice in Chains to name a few, I can't quite put my finger on the influence of who I think it sounds similar too. At 1:32 minutes, the guitars start playing a catchy melody line with a dreamy bassline and background chords in a sea of reverb.

At this point of the song I was still having flashbacks and very interested to see where this song was going. It is a slow paced song but it sounds powerful with interesting arrangements and talented vocals. 2 minutes into the song, the drumbeat finally drops and the song is sounding full and well mixed and mastered. 2:50 minutes is my favourite part of the song; there's a bridge that changes the song slightly eventually returning to the original riff, the vocals really shine on this part of the song.

All the elements of this band is on point! There's some strong potential here and I'm looking forward to hearing more from this band in the future.


Review written by Kerry Kingi

Releases

Osiris
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Freecell

Gig Review: Salmonella Dub Feat. Tiki Taane @ Owen Delaney Park, Taupo - 3/02/2018
09 Feb 2018 // by Freecell
Salmonella Dub are multiple platinum album sellers and award winners famous for their Dub n' Bass sound an important part of New Zealand's music history. This show was about the band reuniting with Tiki Taane.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: [in pieces]
26 Jan 2018 // by Freecell
Empire to Ashes new album [in pieces] is like a soundtrack of ambient alternative art. The music videos that I have seen are amazing and full of surreal visualisations that tells a story.
Read More...
Festival Review: Bay Dreams 2018
21 Jan 2018 // by Freecell
Bay Dreams 2018 was the biggest one yet, from start to finish this was a great day out, great people, great services for drinks and food, rides and a brand new set up this year. The main stage was closer to the other stages so it made it quicker to get around all of the stages to see the artists.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lorde @ Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington - 11/11/2017
16 Nov 2017 // by Freecell
A 20 year old Auckland raised girl kicked off a concert named Melodrama at the Michael Fowler Centre in Wellington Central on Saturday the 11th of November. This girl is Ella - also known as Lorde - the popular artist that had turned famous overnight at 16 and had since created 2 successful albums and 1 EP.
Read More...
Gig Review: Roni Size @ The Studio, Auckland - 27/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Freecell
V Energy and Audiology brings DnB legend and pioneer Roni Size touring his New Forms Anniversary Live show at The Studio in Auckland. I had arrived early at the entrance I could already hear some drum and bass playing walking down to the stage I realised how long its been since I was last at The Studio, suddenly the memories flow in from previous events of Shift to BSE, the venue had character and a lot of history.
Read More...
Radio Therapy - EP Review: Ruby
08 Aug 2017 // by Freecell
This EP starts off with a guitar intro and left speaker panning making for some very interesting sound engineering on Light in Darkness, the riff starts off and then the full band starts playing. My first impression is that it reminds me of Pennywise but different with a high energy rock punk feel.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Single Review: My Own Phantom Limb
14 Jul 2017 // by Freecell
This song starts off with a scratchy eerie sound with a soothing modulated synthesized sound that gradually gets louder. The intro of the video reminds of Japanese horror movie 'The Ring' The visualisations change into random high quality images.
Read More...
Gig Review: State of Mind with MC Rolex @ Static, Hamilton - 30/06/17
09 Jul 2017 // by Freecell
The Drum & Bass Massive presents: State of Mind with MC Rolex with local support from: Freecell, Hijenkx, Harlan Jones, Califresh, Snead place project and Wilks. This Event was at Static, 5 Hood St, Hamilton.
Read More...
View All Articles By Freecell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem