24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Kimbra @ Town Hall, Auckland - 31/08/2017

05 Sep 2017 // A review by Channel1
I have been struggling to write this review. Much like I have been struggling to put my thoughts together around this gig by one of NZ's most successful and respected artists.

There is no denying Kimbra's talent and also her drive. Anyone who has seen the footage of her as an 11-year-old taking on the recording studio and talking about how she wants to be a pop star will see that Kimbra has worked hard at this game for a long time and she is still only 27 years old.

She has a mixed and eclectic taste in music and is just as happy moshing to Messugah as she is tripping out to Flying Lotus. She also has an amazing voice, a sense of fashion and performance so with all this talent and drive what is a Kimbra show like in 2017?

To be fair I can't judge tonight as a proper Kimbra show, well not from an audience perspective anyway as this is an iHeart radio event so all tickets were issued to competition winners, industry people and chancers like me which result in a mixed crowd with many people just along for the 'free' ride.

I really wanted to be blown away as even though the music Kimbra makes isn't what I would usually connect with, I do like what I have heard and I love her slightly left-field approach to the pop genre. There is a dark side and melancholy to some of her songs. Kimbra is no Katy Perry, thank god, and at times tonight, she did blow me away especially with tracks like Top Of The World and Sweet Relief.

Through parts of the set her voice appeared lost in the bombast of the songs and the trippy visuals on the three screens behind her, there is so much going on in the song structure that sometimes it is hard to connect. It's impressive, it's different but it doesn't make me feel anything. Most of the time the audience isn't dancing just swaying and it is a strange trippy low buzz kind of vibe.

I would love to hear and see some of these songs stripped back, almost acoustic. At times I try to block out some of the electronica and just listen to her voice, the words, the performance and in those moments I get a glimpse of how talented Kimbra is.

The set is fairly short and all over by 9pm, the light show impressive, Kimbra looks great in a funky jump suit and also clearly happy to be back in NZ for a while. Kimbra is one of the most talented musicians to come from NZ in recent years and she showed why tonight with a polished and professional performance. It was just a little hit and miss for me.

   

 


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photos courtesy of NZME

About Kimbra

Passionate about mixing an array of genres and sounds into one with a soulful voice and twist to the average singer/songwriter. With anthem-like songs advised and emphasised with quirky jazz chords, Kimbra's music steps outside the square of the four chord cliché but still mantains strong hooks and catchy melodies that are sometimes unpredictable but satisfying. With such ecclectic influences vocally and musically, Kimbras' music adopts a fresh unique taste to acoustic music.

Having already received two NZ On Air grants and Second place in the Smokefree Rockquest 2004 along with Best Vocals and Womens Musicianship, music got its A into G from there. After 3 consecutive years in Rockquest (two of which were at the National Finals and gaining over $7000 in total from the generous competition) Kimbra created a slick live performance which was priceless along with many lifelong friendships. Grateful to Rockquest, live performance has been Kimbra's aid and footstep into success with music. The competition trained her to perform with the state of mind like that of a band and attempt to provide rhythm, melody and the dynamics of a full band that separates her performance from other solo artists.

Kimbras' first single was recorded at the infamous York St Studios with Welsh producer Greg Haver (who has worked with artists/ bands all over the world, including Manic Street Preachers, Lost Prophets, Carly Binding, 48May, Falter and The Checks). Deep For You was then funded for a Video which gained play on nationwide radio and C4.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kimbra

Releases

The Golden Echo
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Vows
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Gig Review: Foo Fighters @ Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland - 03/02/2018
04 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
It had been raining on and off for most of the day but just as Wellington band Ayn Randy took the stage the heavens opened. It set the scene for what was going to be an awesome night where the weather played a big part in the memories of the 40,000 people packed into Auckland's Mount Smart Stadium.
Read More...
Santa Barbara - Single Review: Marianne's Dark Eyes
01 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
I love Santa Barbara. I am lucky enough to visit there once a year and it's a funky little town about two hours from LA LA Land with a laid-back vibe and it also knows how to get down and dirty on a weekend.
Read More...
Festival Review: Laneway 2018 @ Albert Street Precinct, Auckland - 29/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
2017 was my first time at Laneway. I went for one reason only and that was to see Refused.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront.
Read More...
Gig Review: End of an Era Night 1 @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 26/01/2018
29 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
I arrived early for this first of two nights of bands who have come together to say goodbye to iconic Auckland venue the Kings Arms, which will finally close its doors at the end of February. Punters are slowly streaming in for the opening band A Doubtful Sound (isn't that the best name ever for a Kiwi Band) but the band don't care about how many people are in the room and hit the set full tilt.
Read More...
EP review: Hault
06 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
The 90's will always be my favourite decade for music. It was a time when rock bands took a punk attitude and melded it with face melting heavy 70's style riffs and this is all perfectly summed up in the Sonic Youth doco 1991 the year that punk broke (check it out).
Read More...
Future Islands with Silicon @ Powerstation Auckland - 16/12/2017
19 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
This dude can dance. He is on another planet.
Read More...
Gig Review: Armed in Advance, Fallstate and AnimalHead @ Backbeat, Auckland - 8/12/2017
16 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
Back at Backbeat. Deja vu, is a feeling you get when you see a lot of bands in Auckland.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem