16 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Kimbra @ Town Hall, Auckland - 31/08/2017

05 Sep 2017 // A review by Channel1
I have been struggling to write this review. Much like I have been struggling to put my thoughts together around this gig by one of NZ's most successful and respected artists.

There is no denying Kimbra's talent and also her drive. Anyone who has seen the footage of her as an 11-year-old taking on the recording studio and talking about how she wants to be a pop star will see that Kimbra has worked hard at this game for a long time and she is still only 27 years old.

She has a mixed and eclectic taste in music and is just as happy moshing to Messugah as she is tripping out to Flying Lotus. She also has an amazing voice, a sense of fashion and performance so with all this talent and drive what is a Kimbra show like in 2017?

To be fair I can't judge tonight as a proper Kimbra show, well not from an audience perspective anyway as this is an iHeart radio event so all tickets were issued to competition winners, industry people and chancers like me which result in a mixed crowd with many people just along for the 'free' ride.

I really wanted to be blown away as even though the music Kimbra makes isn't what I would usually connect with, I do like what I have heard and I love her slightly left-field approach to the pop genre. There is a dark side and melancholy to some of her songs. Kimbra is no Katy Perry, thank god, and at times tonight, she did blow me away especially with tracks like Top Of The World and Sweet Relief.

Through parts of the set her voice appeared lost in the bombast of the songs and the trippy visuals on the three screens behind her, there is so much going on in the song structure that sometimes it is hard to connect. It's impressive, it's different but it doesn't make me feel anything. Most of the time the audience isn't dancing just swaying and it is a strange trippy low buzz kind of vibe.

I would love to hear and see some of these songs stripped back, almost acoustic. At times I try to block out some of the electronica and just listen to her voice, the words, the performance and in those moments I get a glimpse of how talented Kimbra is.

The set is fairly short and all over by 9pm, the light show impressive, Kimbra looks great in a funky jump suit and also clearly happy to be back in NZ for a while. Kimbra is one of the most talented musicians to come from NZ in recent years and she showed why tonight with a polished and professional performance. It was just a little hit and miss for me.

   

 


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photos courtesy of NZME

About Kimbra

Passionate about mixing an array of genres and sounds into one with a soulful voice and twist to the average singer/songwriter. With anthem-like songs advised and emphasised with quirky jazz chords, Kimbra's music steps outside the square of the four chord cliché but still mantains strong hooks and catchy melodies that are sometimes unpredictable but satisfying. With such ecclectic influences vocally and musically, Kimbras' music adopts a fresh unique taste to acoustic music.

Having already received two NZ On Air grants and Second place in the Smokefree Rockquest 2004 along with Best Vocals and Womens Musicianship, music got its A into G from there. After 3 consecutive years in Rockquest (two of which were at the National Finals and gaining over $7000 in total from the generous competition) Kimbra created a slick live performance which was priceless along with many lifelong friendships. Grateful to Rockquest, live performance has been Kimbra's aid and footstep into success with music. The competition trained her to perform with the state of mind like that of a band and attempt to provide rhythm, melody and the dynamics of a full band that separates her performance from other solo artists.

Kimbras' first single was recorded at the infamous York St Studios with Welsh producer Greg Haver (who has worked with artists/ bands all over the world, including Manic Street Preachers, Lost Prophets, Carly Binding, 48May, Falter and The Checks). Deep For You was then funded for a Video which gained play on nationwide radio and C4.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kimbra

Releases

Primal Heart
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Golden Echo
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Vows
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem