24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Brian Hatcher Band - Album Review: Trouble & Worry

01 Sep 2017 // A review by Corinner

Brian Hatcher, Craig Hatcher and Jarrod Hooper make up The Brian Hatcher Band, a three piece from New Plymouth with a rock and blues soul.

After an extensive time in the New Zealand music scene, guitarist Brian Hatcher has completed Trouble & Worry, his long awaited first album. Hatcher is also the singer/songwriter on this album, and plays alongside his Brother Craig on bass and Jarrod on drums. "The eight track album boasts a vintage to modern blues sound underpinned by a rock vibe.” The influences from past and present guitar and blues artists are apparent on this album, music infused with contemporary flair and a solid rock vein running through it.

Formidable and flawless have been used to describe the music this band produces; it certainly is a very clean and tight 8 tracks which leave a lasting impression and is sure to excite many blues devotees.

Trouble & Worry is a mix of vocal and instrumental tracks, a cocktail of rock and blues which these guys have pulled off in stylish fashion, Hatcher's vocals are perfectly suited to this genre of music as is his slick guitar playing.   

 The lyrical storytelling typical of blues music, weaves it way through the album complemented by some powerful guitar and skilful drumming.
 

I am happy to have been introduced to The Brian Hatcher Band’s music; and have enjoyed listening to the bands inaugural album which has flair and depth, I am sure many will feel this was definitely worth waiting for.

This album was recorded at Brian’s studio, Big Bamboo Records along with friend and fellow engineer, Mathew Allen.  Mastering was completed at Manuka Studios.

This rock n blues band from Taranaki have delivered, big time.


Reviewed by Corinne Rutherford

About The Brian Hatcher Band

Taranaki based R&B band/recording artist, offering a mix of mainly original & some covers based material in the Blues genre.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Brian Hatcher Band

Releases

Trouble & Worry
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
Read More...
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem