16 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cairo Knife Fight - Single Review: A-Eight

29 Aug 2017 // A review by Channel1
Wow, seriously just wow! Cairo Knife Fight have done it again and released a piece of art that hits the soul, mind and makes your heart beat a little faster.

There are artists, geniuses, and musicians and in very rare cases there is someone who is all three of those things. If you haven't heard of Nick Gaffaney then you need to check out this latest release from Cairo Knife Fight. The single A-Eight is from the upcoming album Seven (what's with the numbers Nick?) In fact all tracks on the new album are of the numeric variety. I am cool with that.

Nick seems to spend most of his time in the USA at the moment and is the heart and soul of Cairo Knife Fight joined this time by George Pajon who is best known for his work with Black Eyed Peas and Fergie. Reading that might throw you a little but the Guitar work on A-Eight is a mix of brutal, sublime sonics that pulls you in and spits you out.

When it comes to two piece bands you will not find any that will blow your mind and your speakers like Cairo Knife Fight. They are also one of the most exciting live acts you will ever see and effortlessly cool if you need that in your life.

OK, back to A-Eight.

It stamps its authority right from the opening note and Nick has never sounded better. He comes on like Josh Homme on speed who bumped into Richard Patrick from Filter after an argument with Trent Reznor. This is rock music how it is supposed to sound, 3 minutes that will stick in your head and change your mood. Lose yourself to it.

I would say go out and buy A-Eight but that would just be wrong. If you have read this far then you need to pre-order the Album Seven AND buy everything else Cairo Knife Fight has ever released.

If you haven't heard them before you will be shocked how good this is and it keeps getting better.

Am I gushing? No Apologies. Wow, seriously just WOW!

Reviewed by Paul Goddard

Releases

The Isolator
Year: 2015
Type: EP
The Colossus
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Cairo Knife Fight II
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Cairo Knife Fight
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Iron
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem