27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cairo Knife Fight - Single Review: A-Eight

29 Aug 2017 // A review by Channel1
Wow, seriously just wow! Cairo Knife Fight have done it again and released a piece of art that hits the soul, mind and makes your heart beat a little faster.

There are artists, geniuses, and musicians and in very rare cases there is someone who is all three of those things. If you haven't heard of Nick Gaffaney then you need to check out this latest release from Cairo Knife Fight. The single A-Eight is from the upcoming album Seven (what's with the numbers Nick?) In fact all tracks on the new album are of the numeric variety. I am cool with that.

Nick seems to spend most of his time in the USA at the moment and is the heart and soul of Cairo Knife Fight joined this time by George Pajon who is best known for his work with Black Eyed Peas and Fergie. Reading that might throw you a little but the Guitar work on A-Eight is a mix of brutal, sublime sonics that pulls you in and spits you out.

When it comes to two piece bands you will not find any that will blow your mind and your speakers like Cairo Knife Fight. They are also one of the most exciting live acts you will ever see and effortlessly cool if you need that in your life.

OK, back to A-Eight.

It stamps its authority right from the opening note and Nick has never sounded better. He comes on like Josh Homme on speed who bumped into Richard Patrick from Filter after an argument with Trent Reznor. This is rock music how it is supposed to sound, 3 minutes that will stick in your head and change your mood. Lose yourself to it.

I would say go out and buy A-Eight but that would just be wrong. If you have read this far then you need to pre-order the Album Seven AND buy everything else Cairo Knife Fight has ever released.

If you haven't heard them before you will be shocked how good this is and it keeps getting better.

Am I gushing? No Apologies. Wow, seriously just WOW!

Reviewed by Paul Goddard

Releases

The Isolator
Year: 2015
Type: EP
The Colossus
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Cairo Knife Fight II
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Cairo Knife Fight
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Iron
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem