24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Yumi Zouma - Single Review: Depths (Pt. 1)

23 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinner

Yumi Zouma are a four piece synth-pop powerhouse from Christchurch. The music they produce is electronica mixed with pop. Happy music with added beat and honest lyrics, a band which is gaining momentum in the music industry.

Depths (Pt. 1) is the latest single from Yumi Zouma to be released, and the first track on the band’s new album Willowbank which will be launched on October 6 2017. 

This is a single of upbeat, light and breezy pop with disco overtones; add in lyrics that could just as easily fit in on a rock track, honest and captivating but not airy fairy. This is not heavy on the electronica like some previous tracks which the band has produced; it is utopian in the mythical dreamy sense of the word. A catchy, sunny and pretty number which could easily evoke spontaneous bursts of dance.

Yumi Zuma have created a sweet track which I am sure will delight their solid International fan base and ever growing social media following, it is also a delightful introduction to a band previously unknown to me, which is now on my favourites to watch list.

About Yumi Zouma

Yumi Zouma are three friends from New Zealand now living internationally in New York and Paris. Their music is timeless, honest and direct. Their debut EP Yumi Zouma was Cascine's first release of 2014.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Yumi Zouma

Releases

Willowbank
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Yoncalla
Year: 2016
Type: Album
EP I & II
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Yumi Zouma
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
Read More...
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem