27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017

14 Aug 2017 // A review by Sass_Metal

Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you havenít seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and Iím pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories. My only regret is missing the first act the solo and acoustic set by Bryce Patten but I heard very good things from those that did see him. It was also a night I wished I wasnít reviewing numerous times because the bandís music and energy made me want to dance and headbang all night (which I did) and had to remind myself to take notes of the bands in between enjoying myself. As I write this my stomach is sore from laughing and my neck and back are sore from moshing and head banging Ė definitely signs of an amazing night.

Pull Down the Sun was the first full piece band and this is a band Iím so happy to know about now and I kind of feel like Iíve been under a rock not having heard or seen them before! They reminded me of so many bands Ė a little bit of NZ Legends Cripple Mr Onion with the crazy time signatures and very much like Meshuggah with a more ambient/psychedelic feel. Itís been a few months since I have seen a new band I havenít seen before and itís normally hard to dance or mosh because you donít know where the music will go but as soon as Pull Down the Sun took to the stage and started playing I instantly wanted to move! 

Pull Down the Sun are a band in their own league thereís no way to pigeon hole them in one particular genre. Punk, Grunge, Heavy Metal, Thrash, Math Metal, subtle elements of Death Metal my notes from the show read like a glossary index of Metal and rock subgenres. Pull down the Sun take the listener on a journey as every song is so different. They put on the performance to go with the amazing music as well.  I love it when bands put effort into their shows with synchronized headbanging etc. and this was emphasised more by there not many people up the front of the bar Ė but Pull down the Sun didnít care they were there to have fun and the people that were there, definitely enjoyed the set. My notes for Pull Down the Sun end with this gem Iíll leave you with Ė This is the kind of music that makes my soul happy.  Do yourselves a favour and get out and check out this Whanganui based band the next time they are playing in your town.

Primacy were up next. I was outside when they started and watched their first song by the outside side of stage area at the Kings Arms but it didnít take me long to run around and join the dancing crowd. Iím glad I took the time to sit back for the first song though as it was the only time during their set I was standing still. I loved Jasonís use of the mega phone during some of their songs, it added a depth and ambience to his already amazing voice but also a depth and added element in the visual effect of the bands performance as a whole. 

Watching a Primacy set is a real treat with all of the musicians being extremely talented. I was blown away by Jason McIverís vocal abilities. Iíve worked with previous bands he has been in and it has been maybe 4 years since I have seen him perform again. His voice has matured and he has found his style and owns it! I think it also helps that he is no longer playing guitar while performing and is now able to focus on his abilities as a vocalist, he is definitely one of NZís best vocalists.

The song that stands out for me the most from Primacyís set was their new song they played for the first time in Auckland called Scorpion was played live for the 2nd time last night, with the first time being at Down the Rabbit Hole event. I absolutely loved it! It was probably the heaviest song of their set and with the double kicks featuring prominently it was awesome to see Will let loose behind the kit. It had a much darker ambience to it than other Primacy songs and with the distorted bass and guitars all combine to make one dark masterful song. Primacy are playing next weekend at The Brutalitees Birthday bash and I really hope they pull out Scorpion for the crowd again!

Last it was time for Remote who are celebrating 20 years of music this year! Iíve seen them a few times over the years at various sized venues and last night was one of the best performances Iíve seen from them. The band was on fire! Rob is a shredding machine! Most definitely one of New Zealandís best guitarists. I love Andyís voice and itís easy to forget what a powerful presence he is on stage, when you talk to him off stage as he is one of those chameleons who go from friendly, kind soul off stage to brutal beast on stage Ė THOSE GROWLS! So powerful! Remote also features Will Stairmand on drums (also in Primacy) and last night I came to the realisation that if this man is behind the drums any band he performs in will be amazing!

We were in for a treat last night with brand new songs not heard before! Remote are currently working on a new EP that will be released in the next few months. There was two songs off it that I loved - A Team and Red Hat. A Team was a song that took you on a journey through the history of rock music I felt. Parts of it with a grungy tone, then psychedelic then on to funky bass and guitars. I loved it when they did a cheeky stop towards the end and the crowd all cheered thinking it was over but nope! Just a little cheeky stop. Red Hat which will be their next single they release started how I LOVE Ė with bass and drums and was another song where I found my self-captivated by Willís masterful drums. 

This is a night I could have relived many times. For a show organized in such a short amount of time it was one of the better ones Iíve been to this year. I canít wait to see the bands live again! Check them out if you havenít! Well worth it.

About Primacy

Introducing Primacy, a 5-piece Groove Metal band hailing from West Auckland. Primacy formed in mid 2014 after the split of well know local bands The Blacklight Configuration, Overhaile and Heathen Eyes Ė the timing was right, the songs were right and the team was right, Primacy came together as a collective around guitarist Adrian Brausch's new and unused material from his former band Overhaile.

Primacy's set takes you on a journey through the metal genre, from songs inspired by bands such as Lamb Of God and American Headcharge to their softer side inspired by bands such as A Perfect Circle and Alice In Chains.

Primacy played their first show to a packed Eden Bar in Auckland city and after 3 shows the band found themselves being hand picked to open for Head Casey at a private industry showcase featuring former Dio guitarist Tracy G.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Primacy

Releases

III
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Failure and Sacrifice
Year: 2016
Type: EP
The Demos
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Sass_Metal

Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sass_Metal
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to Ė especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times Iíve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutaliteeís Birthday Bash and of course all the times Iíve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tribal State @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 28/07/2017
29 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
It was a cold, wet night, my nose was running and I couldnít stop sneezing and coughing. I wasnít feeling up to going out on such a miserable night but Iím more than happy that I did.
Read More...
Bloodnut - Album Review: St. Ranga
27 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Iíve heard a lot of albums in my time but thereís not many that draws you in from the first note and despite itís unusual name Space Orangutan it is one of the best opening tracks for an album Iíve heard in a very long time. The levels in this mix capture the live, raw sound of Bloodnut perfectly which is also very rare in NZ Metal recordings (the amount of times Iíve had my music on shuffle and had to turn it up for NZ Metal bands then to have my speakers almost explode when an International band comes on drives me crazy every time!
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades with Bakers Eddy, Dead Favours & Skinny Hobos @ Galatos, Auckland - 15/07/2017
17 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This was a well anticipated show for many of the punters there, talking to them between bands around the venue and outside. Despite being moved into the smaller basement room below Galatos instead of being in the ballroom it was the perfect size and created the right atmosphere for the bands and audience to be closer together and almost as one.
Read More...
Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Make it Go Away
03 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Iíve known Ryan Kershaw for a long time and have always been a fan of all the music he writes with all the various bands and solo projects he has released music with. His new single Make It Go Away is no exception.
Read More...
Anti Matter - Gig Review: Riot Grrrl 3 @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 30/06/17
01 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Right from when event promoter Courtney took to the stage to introduce the first act and exclaimed excitedly that while it was the 3rd Riot Grrrl event it would be the first all female line up, I knew we would be in for a treat. All through the night and into this morning Iíve been trying to rack my brains trying to think of another music show Iíve been too that had only female musicians play and I honestly donít think in the 9 or so years of me running, attending, reviewing and working on music events that I can recall ever being at a show with only female performers.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sass_Metal

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem