19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mermaidens - Album Release: Perfect Body

10 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinner

It was never going to be possible for a band called Mermaidens to slip under my radar. I spotted these three with their fanciful, quirky but supper cool band name one day as I was scrolling through Facebook as you do. First thing which grabbed me was the name, second was the psychedelic blue and orange album cover which drew me in like a magpie and third they have been described as “dream-psych”. If you wave a combination like that in front of me, I will hitting Google faster than you can say Satsuma.

So fate eventually stepped in two days after this supremely rad band from Wellington had entered my orbit, and asked that Mermaidens new sophomore album Perfect Body be reviewed. So choosing not to ignore fate I did.

A Satsuma can be a distinct type of juicy sweet mandarin, colour the vinyl of this album has been released in, or the name of track number six, in this case it is all three and because I am in love with the coloured vinyl trend right now, I am positively drooling over glowing bright orange in Satsuma colour.

The trio of Mermaidens are made up of Gussie on Guitar and vocals, Lily bass and vocals and Abe on drums, together they create haunting raw and original music. Moody, dark, soulful, trippy, Punk Rock with hints of Heather Nova. They seem to be gaining quite a following

There is a quote from the band I found which is the perfect description of how the enticing lyrics came to be. “While writing the album Lily and I had both been thinking and talking about pleasure and pressure. By that I mean then contrast of being in a blissful state, but with an underlying anxiety or uncertainty being present too.” You can hear the blissful state transitioning into intense diverse vocals and hypnotic harsh and vigorous instrumentals. It is in fact a formidable formula the Mermaidens have come across; it is executed with originality, style and a good dose of allure.

Perfect Body is a multileveled rich tapestry of sounds which has also been described as dreamy. I think it is a collection of personal lyrics delivered by a beautifully creative and abstract method.

So if you love vibrant original music and pure genius band names, then don’t casually stroll past Perfect Body, pick it up with both hands and run with it. It is totally worth it.

Releases

Perfect Body
Year: 2017
Type: Album
O
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Bones
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Demo
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Sons Of Zion - EP Release: The Jukebox Suite
14 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
If you want to be transported away to hot summer days and music festivals, then go no further than Sons Of Zion brand new EP titled The Jukebox Suite, four songs including a new single featuring Aaradhna called Is That Enough. This band is the epitome of smooth balmy summertime sounds.
Read More...
Grayson Gilmour - Album Review: Otherness
06 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
I knew this album would be something memorable from the moment I saw that it was to be released on a very limited special edition LP on milky-clear vinyl, to me a vinyl collector from way back those words sounded alluring and intriguing. This was just the beginning of what was to become a musical experience which was captivating from start to finish.
Read More...
Valen - Single Review: C’mon Over
02 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
If RnB with a touch of Soul is your thing, then the smooth sound from Auckland musical artist Valen will be something to look forward in the future when she releases her first EP. But for now we get a taste of what is to come, with her first single C’mon Over.
Read More...
Paul McLaney - Album Review: Play On
26 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
Where do I begin to review a musical imagining of Shakespeare’s most well-known soliloquies? Paul McLaney has taken 400 year old lyrics and created music around them, eleven undeniably theatrical tracks setting some of Shakespeare’s most famous words to music for the first time.
Read More...
Decades - Album Review: The Truth And Other People
26 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
This is a story “about what happens when a girl rips her world apart then puts it all back together”.  Looking down at the notebook in front of me one word stands out in bright red pen, and that word is brave.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017
23 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
It was a mid winters evening in Tauranga and the scene was set down at Incubator for what promised to be a wonderful evening of music. The rain had cleared and the place had a European cafe vibe about it, with a courtyard outside which had atmosphere for miles and highlighted this intimate venues creative heart.
Read More...
Selon Recliner - EP Review: Stories of Later
20 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
Selon Recliner are a collective of seven musicians based in Auckland, which have been described as “artists and dreamers who have come together to create languid dark-pop”. The group’s latest collaborative wonderland of musical masterpieces are six tracks merging their different styles to create such a beautiful album, that the first track brought tears to my eyes.
Read More...
Eli Moore - Album Review: Ship Life
18 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
Eli Moore's CD Ship Life was the perfect accompaniment to our mid winter travels down to the snowy mountains, although not quite the same, listening to his music was like taking a journey to exotic lands, I actually felt like I was sitting in a piano bar on a cruise ship. This journey also took me back in time sparking memories of some great musicians who were kicking around in the 1970's, Jackson Browne and Steely Dan immediately sprang to mind.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem