25 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Radio Therapy - EP Review: Ruby

08 Aug 2017 // A review by Freecell
This EP starts off with a guitar intro and left speaker panning making for some very interesting sound engineering on Light in Darkness, the riff starts off and then the full band starts playing. My first impression is that it reminds me of Pennywise but different with a high energy rock punk feel. Female vocals come in and remind of Avril Lavigne at first, but these vocals sound unique with very natural flowing lyrics from Renee Leishman. The guitars sound rich with a perfect blend of overdrive and distortion which is dominant in this song.

It's great to hear a guitar lead break after the bridge of the song - I can definitely hear the precision and perfecting to get their song sounding so tight, it has paid off! This song is strong with the band and vocals on point and it makes me want to buy a beer at a bar and start dancing and even moshing!

Andy's guitars create an intro riff before the whole band comes in on 17. Craig McDonald is doing the main vocals on this one with Renee on backing vocals with the lyrics "You're a pretty girl with a hole where your heart should be" - these lyrics stand out throughout the song.

17 is a great sing-along song if you were a fan watching this song live, the lyrics are nice and easy with a high energy impact - it makes me want to dance! The band is sounding tight and the duet singing sounds well balanced and excellent. Only 2.50 minutes long, but a very tidy production.

Interesting guitar intro on Home. I love the heaviness of the distortion on this one. The full band comes in with Renee's vocals, it's easy to follow her voice as this singer is talented with good use of her vocal range. Renee's bass also stands out more on this track and Andy's guitar leads and interludes sound divine taking the listener on a musical journey. All the songs on this EP are sounding good but this song gels very well, boosting my interest, I had this on repeat and it has a timeless feel. This song is a stand out and probably the strongest song on the EP.

Catchy riff on intro on Ships with both vocalists on this one, the longest track on this EP, Craig's vocals remind me of Placebo. This would make another good live song. This track was slower than the rest. The reverb and delay on the lead guitar is smooth and sounding awesome. The female vocals are strong and soothing. A great song, could even be the next great NZ rock anthem. It was a good song for the outro of the EP would also make an excellent final song of the night at a gig.

Overall this band is seriously rocking! With some high energy rock punk feels with brilliant vocals and a band of strength. They have been playing under the name Radio Therapy for 3 years but they have been jamming a few years previously. Each song was different but the guitars and vocals make Radio Therapy sound unique and uplifting. This New Plymouth outfit is ready to take on the nationwide stage. Promoters hit this band up they will rock you!

Other Reviews By Freecell

Gig Review: Salmonella Dub Feat. Tiki Taane @ Owen Delaney Park, Taupo - 3/02/2018
09 Feb 2018 // by Freecell
Salmonella Dub are multiple platinum album sellers and award winners famous for their Dub n' Bass sound an important part of New Zealand's music history. This show was about the band reuniting with Tiki Taane.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: [in pieces]
26 Jan 2018 // by Freecell
Empire to Ashes new album [in pieces] is like a soundtrack of ambient alternative art. The music videos that I have seen are amazing and full of surreal visualisations that tells a story.
Read More...
Festival Review: Bay Dreams 2018
21 Jan 2018 // by Freecell
Bay Dreams 2018 was the biggest one yet, from start to finish this was a great day out, great people, great services for drinks and food, rides and a brand new set up this year. The main stage was closer to the other stages so it made it quicker to get around all of the stages to see the artists.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lorde @ Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington - 11/11/2017
16 Nov 2017 // by Freecell
A 20 year old Auckland raised girl kicked off a concert named Melodrama at the Michael Fowler Centre in Wellington Central on Saturday the 11th of November. This girl is Ella - also known as Lorde - the popular artist that had turned famous overnight at 16 and had since created 2 successful albums and 1 EP.
Read More...
Gig Review: Roni Size @ The Studio, Auckland - 27/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Freecell
V Energy and Audiology brings DnB legend and pioneer Roni Size touring his New Forms Anniversary Live show at The Studio in Auckland. I had arrived early at the entrance I could already hear some drum and bass playing walking down to the stage I realised how long its been since I was last at The Studio, suddenly the memories flow in from previous events of Shift to BSE, the venue had character and a lot of history.
Read More...
Bespin - Single Review: East of Her
07 Sep 2017 // by Freecell
Auckland three-piece and Critics Choice prize winners Bespin return with a new track - East of Her.The song intro starts with a synthesised sound and a bass with an Interesting effect drawing you in.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Single Review: My Own Phantom Limb
14 Jul 2017 // by Freecell
This song starts off with a scratchy eerie sound with a soothing modulated synthesized sound that gradually gets louder. The intro of the video reminds of Japanese horror movie 'The Ring' The visualisations change into random high quality images.
Read More...
Gig Review: State of Mind with MC Rolex @ Static, Hamilton - 30/06/17
09 Jul 2017 // by Freecell
The Drum & Bass Massive presents: State of Mind with MC Rolex with local support from: Freecell, Hijenkx, Harlan Jones, Califresh, Snead place project and Wilks. This Event was at Static, 5 Hood St, Hamilton.
Read More...
View All Articles By Freecell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem