19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SWIDT - Album Review: Stoneyhunga

06 Aug 2017 // A review by jck2

 photo Rap It Up logo_zpsaxma80mr.jpg

SWIDT, which stands for "See what I did there?", broke onto the music scene with their independently produced single & video No More Parties In Onehunga in early 2016. Comprised of five members, producer SmokeyGotBeatz, SPYCC, INF, JAMAL and Boomer-Tha-GOD. SWIDT have just released their sophomore album Stoneyhunga.

The album does a great job at communicating the atmosphere of SWIDT’s Onehunga environment and the mischief they get up to, with sound bites and short skits. I remember thinking on my initial listen that the albums pace and feel reminded me of Snoop Dogg's breakthrough album Doggy Style.

The songs are packed full of textures sounds and lyrics that paint a detailed picture of “a day in a life of the boys from SWIDT” and to me this is what makes this album special and where the genius of SWIDT lies. It’s a fantastically executed concept album and the concept is to take the listener with them on their journey through a weekend in Stoneyhunga.

Some tracks are only a couple minutes long and this really keeps the pace of the album moving and no doubt perfectly caters to the short attention span of Millenials. No need to go track skipping on this album. You can listen to it from start to end and it keeps your interest and attention and no doubt it was designed that way. This is a project you get the most out of when you listen to it all from start to finish.

Stoneyhunga is a superbly produced album with many moments of pure genius. Stand out moments for me are the huge sounding bass heavy opening track Alfred and Church. The bass line just makes your ears prick up and take notice immediately and was the perfect choice for the beginning of the album. My other favorite is Ric Flair (Wooo!). Which is one of the catchiest trap joints I think I’ve ever heard. The kind of track you listen to on repeat and dance around the house to.

The album really is quality Hip Hop with a distinctly Auckland Polynesian flavour. It fluidly crosses style lines from Trap to boom bap, Ragga and electronica tinged beats. The rap style is basic but extremely effective. Adding to the vivid visual imagery with story telling. The vocalists sensitive to the complex emotions of these stories, using expressional vocal tone to drive these "musical images" home to the listener. All players working as a team for the full benefit of the song.

You wonder what makes SWIDT stand out from the sea of rappers and rap groups in New Zealand. From what I can hear it’s careful planning and thoughtfulness of what they wanted to achieve with this album and I can tell you they nailed it.

Other Reviews By jck2

Rei - Album Review: A Place To Stand
11 Jul 2017 // by jck2
A Place To Stand is the sophomore album by New Zealand's very own urban artist Rei. A Place To Stand is an intricate album both in concept and production.
Read More...
GRVY - EP Review: Lick O The Spoon
16 May 2017 // by jck2
GRVY is Laz Karaka and Mr Pianoman. They’ve just released a 5 song teaser for their forthcoming album called Lick O The Spoon.
Read More...
Logic Defies Logic - Album Review: Magic And Science
03 Apr 2017 // by jck2
Logic Defies Logic's Magic And Science is the 6 track album I’ve been listening to in my car for the last couple of weeks. From the cover to the inlay to the pull out insert to the music itself, the Album screams mastery, perfectionism and quality and has definitely made a fan out of me.
Read More...
Gig Review: Logic Defies Logic @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 23/03/17
02 Apr 2017 // by jck2
Logic Defies Logic are a band of excellent kiwi musicians currently residing in Melbourne, Australia. They’ve been on a 6 date tour through New Zealand and Australia to promote their new album Magic and Science.
Read More...
Gig Review: Drax Project @ Rec Bar, Auckland - 17/12/16
13 Jan 2017 // by jck2
Wellington's Drax Project came to the Rec Bar in the heart of Auckland City for a one off show. I was invited to review the gig.
Read More...
Earth Tiger - Album Review: Holiday
04 Dec 2016 // by jck2
  Earth Tiger creates songs that swirl together the electrifying textures of hip-hop, big pop, rock and electro dance music into a brand-new sound. Masterminded by artists Cruz Mathews and Tom Taylor, the group spins out clever lyrics, infectious hooks and energetic, inventive grooves that intertwine with bold bass and playful synth layers.
Read More...
The Solomon Cole Band - Album Review: Bruises
30 Oct 2016 // by jck2
The Solomon Cole Band is a four piece band hailing from Waiheke Island. Their album Bruises is 10 tracks of Classic Rock reminiscent of bands like Lynard Skynard, Fleetwood Mac, The Doobie Brothers, ZZ Top and The Eagles and other such classic rock from that era.
Read More...
Dilz - Album Reviews: Three And A Half Seas and Reconstruction
29 Jun 2016 // by jck2
  Dilz is a rapper from New Zealand with a fresh voice on hip-hop. Working endlessly on collaborations and mixtapes from the start of his career as an amateur rapper, Dilz has grown into a professional ready to break his way into the forefront of underground hip-hop.
Read More...
View All Articles By jck2

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem