19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Queens Of The Stone Age @ Logan Campbell, Auckland - 13/07/17

15 Jul 2017 // A review by Channel1
It's somewhere back in the late Nineties and I am in Rock City, Nottingham UK. There is a band on in the small bar downstairs I hadn't heard of them but they had a cool name and the singer just had something going on. At one point he grabs the spotlight and shines it on my mate's girlfriend. She has been a Homme girl ever since.

You can't imitate and fake what QOTSA have, it's a swagger, effortless coolness and when that is combined with songwriting skills that most bands can only dream off QOTSA were always destined to be Kings of the underground.

This is the first time I have seen QOTSA since and there is an air of anticipation in a packed out Logan Campbell centre. The crowd is an interesting mix of fans and people who just seem to be here to post selfies to show they managed to get a ticket. Cool bands attract cool people and wannabes.

Unfortunately I missed NZ opener Eyes No Eyes but I did hear that they were handpicked by QOTSA to open which increases QOTSA coolness factor. 

A huge cheer greets the band and we are off with a blazing version of My God Is The Sun. This is the opening night of their world tour and they seem fired up, energetic and happy to be here. There is a danger when you have a frontman as charismatic and recognisable as Josh Homme the rest of the band can seem like hired hands but this isn't the case with Queens. The chemistry in the band is sparking tonight, there isn't much banter between songs but you can see the nods and smiles between Josh and Troy who are clearly enjoying themselves.

The drumming from Jon Theodore is huge. Like Dave Grohl he hits hard and when they play No One Knows which, in my opinion, is the most perfect song ever written by anyone ever I am a very happy man.

The new album Villians is due out soon and we are treated to a tight version of The Way You Used To Do it has that dancier element you can hear in the recording but when played live it fits perfectly with their earlier material. Later in the set we are also given The Evil Has Landed off the new record and whilst it is hard to hook into as the song changes pace and direction frequently, I think it could become an epic and the riff at the end is classic QOTSA.

Josh pulls out his comb and flicks back his hair (I can see what a huge influence Josh had on Alex Turner from Arctic Monkeys) and tells a story about playing Auckland previously and why they chose Auckland as the opening gig of the world tour "You're a big little place like where we come from and no one give's a shit, but together you all give a shit"

The volume level goes up a few notches and as we are at the Logan Campbell Centre the sound gets muddy. A couple of songs are barely recognizable until the chorus kick in but the energy level of the crowd increases with the volume and some classic QOTSA stompers are blowing peoples minds.

After a short break the encore track Song For The Dead is the perfect set closer. The amps and ringing and the crowd give a standing ovation. One of the coolest bands on the planet, delivered one of the coolest shows, on one of the coolest nights in Auckland (literally).

Other Reviews By Channel1

Thirty Years Late - Album Review: Fight On
14 Nov 2017 // by Channel1
In 1967 something happened. There was a shift in peoples mindsets and that resulted in a shift in the musical landscape.
Read More...
EP Review: Vallkyrie
11 Nov 2017 // by Channel1
The Goddess Vallkyrie has spoken. She is looking for warriors, people who dare to be different, who want to alter perceptions and stereotypes.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Dillinger Escape Plan @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 25/10/2017
28 Oct 2017 // by Channel1
There is a real air of anticipation around this gig. The last time The Dillinger Escape Plan played the Kings Arms back in 2015 still has people sharing stories of what it was like to be there and tonight is the last time New Zealand gets to see one of the most innovative and progressive bands of the last 20 years.
Read More...
Gig Review: The DMA's @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/10/2017
21 Oct 2017 // by Channel1
This is my first time at Tuning fork and the smallish room is filling up nicely as we arrive early to catch local band Yukon Era before Aussie headliners The DMA's.I had heard good things about Yukon Era but wasn't sure what to expect.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Cherry
19 Oct 2017 // by Channel1
I have always struggled with instrumental music, be it electronica or the rock soundscapes generated by Mogwai. I can listen and enjoy certain tracks but over an album, I tend to miss the dynamic of a vocal.
Read More...
Julia Deans - Single Review: Walking in the Sun
18 Oct 2017 // by Channel1
Julia Deans is one of those iconic Kiwi artists who just seems to effortlessly create a beautiful noise. This new release, her first as a solo artist since 2010 is taken from her forthcoming album We Light Fire.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Single Review: Milk and Cookies
08 Oct 2017 // by Channel1
For me, Wellington will always have a higher ratio of interesting bands compared to Auckland, despite Auckland having one million more people wandering around (well sat in cars, looking at phones). Wellington band Killing Bear are proof of that.
Read More...
Play Big - Single Review: Imbecile
08 Oct 2017 // by Channel1
Play Big are ANGRY. There's nothing wrong with that, in fact, we need more angry people in the world right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem