19 Jan 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Queens Of The Stone Age @ Logan Campbell, Auckland - 13/07/17

15 Jul 2017 // A review by Channel1
It's somewhere back in the late Nineties and I am in Rock City, Nottingham UK. There is a band on in the small bar downstairs I hadn't heard of them but they had a cool name and the singer just had something going on. At one point he grabs the spotlight and shines it on my mate's girlfriend. She has been a Homme girl ever since.

You can't imitate and fake what QOTSA have, it's a swagger, effortless coolness and when that is combined with songwriting skills that most bands can only dream off QOTSA were always destined to be Kings of the underground.

This is the first time I have seen QOTSA since and there is an air of anticipation in a packed out Logan Campbell centre. The crowd is an interesting mix of fans and people who just seem to be here to post selfies to show they managed to get a ticket. Cool bands attract cool people and wannabes.

Unfortunately I missed NZ opener Eyes No Eyes but I did hear that they were handpicked by QOTSA to open which increases QOTSA coolness factor. 

A huge cheer greets the band and we are off with a blazing version of My God Is The Sun. This is the opening night of their world tour and they seem fired up, energetic and happy to be here. There is a danger when you have a frontman as charismatic and recognisable as Josh Homme the rest of the band can seem like hired hands but this isn't the case with Queens. The chemistry in the band is sparking tonight, there isn't much banter between songs but you can see the nods and smiles between Josh and Troy who are clearly enjoying themselves.

The drumming from Jon Theodore is huge. Like Dave Grohl he hits hard and when they play No One Knows which, in my opinion, is the most perfect song ever written by anyone ever I am a very happy man.

The new album Villians is due out soon and we are treated to a tight version of The Way You Used To Do it has that dancier element you can hear in the recording but when played live it fits perfectly with their earlier material. Later in the set we are also given The Evil Has Landed off the new record and whilst it is hard to hook into as the song changes pace and direction frequently, I think it could become an epic and the riff at the end is classic QOTSA.

Josh pulls out his comb and flicks back his hair (I can see what a huge influence Josh had on Alex Turner from Arctic Monkeys) and tells a story about playing Auckland previously and why they chose Auckland as the opening gig of the world tour "You're a big little place like where we come from and no one give's a shit, but together you all give a shit"

The volume level goes up a few notches and as we are at the Logan Campbell Centre the sound gets muddy. A couple of songs are barely recognizable until the chorus kick in but the energy level of the crowd increases with the volume and some classic QOTSA stompers are blowing peoples minds.

After a short break the encore track Song For The Dead is the perfect set closer. The amps and ringing and the crowd give a standing ovation. One of the coolest bands on the planet, delivered one of the coolest shows, on one of the coolest nights in Auckland (literally).

Other Reviews By Channel1

EP review: Hault
06 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
The 90's will always be my favourite decade for music. It was a time when rock bands took a punk attitude and melded it with face melting heavy 70's style riffs and this is all perfectly summed up in the Sonic Youth doco 1991 the year that punk broke (check it out).
Read More...
Future Islands with Silicon @ Powerstation Auckland - 16/12/2017
19 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
This dude can dance. He is on another planet.
Read More...
Gig Review: Armed in Advance, Fallstate and AnimalHead @ Backbeat, Auckland - 8/12/2017
16 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
Back at Backbeat. Deja vu, is a feeling you get when you see a lot of bands in Auckland.
Read More...
Scalper - EP Review: Want
12 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
I read a Facebook post from a friend of mine in the UK recently who writes reviews. It went something like this "somebody please send me some music I can feel enough to believe it".
Read More...
Harry Styles @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/12/2017
04 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
It must be interesting being Harry Styles. Thrown into the limelight to be the focal point for one of the highest selling pop acts ever.
Read More...
Gig Review: Marky Ramone @ The Studio, Auckland - 1/12/2017
02 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
Hey Ho Lets Go! The Studio on KRd was filling up nicely when I arrived and as expected the crowd is largely made up of males in their late forties/early fifties.
Read More...
Minimal Silence - Single Review: House of Flies
29 Nov 2017 // by Channel1
Getting ahead in the music business is a competition. You need to give it your all and hope for a bit of luck to get ahead.
Read More...
Naught for Nothing - Single Review: Lucid
28 Nov 2017 // by Channel1
Talent really does shine. I never really thought about it until now but it does.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • CANDY PAINT
    Post Malone
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem