19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Empire To Ashes - Single Review: My Own Phantom Limb

14 Jul 2017 // A review by Freecell
This song starts off with a scratchy eerie sound with a soothing modulated synthesized sound that gradually gets louder. The intro of the video reminds of Japanese horror movie 'The Ring' The visualisations change into random high quality images. There is atmospheric voices and sounds and a ambient digital bongo sound. At 1.40secs the drumbeat, bass line and synthesized keys drop making the song full, more atmospheric voices and sounds in the background.

"As always, everything I do is touched by the sweet hand of your memory"My Own Phantom Limb - the meaning behind this song runs deep. A high quality production released on June 5th 2017 on Bandcamp.

The video and music is brilliant and on point. They work exceptionally well together. The song reminds me of something from the 'Tron' soundtrack by Daft Punk. It is a well balanced arrangement of instruments and sounds. Very smooth and relaxing to listen too. Very creative energy put into this piece, similar concept to 'Boards of Canada' but more unique.

About Empire To Ashes

Empire To Ashes is a New Zealand based dark ambient / alternative / electronica / post-rock project, bearing jagged pieces of a ragged soul for your consumption.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Empire To Ashes

Releases

There are no releases to display for Empire To Ashes.

Other Reviews By Freecell

Gig Review: Roni Size @ The Studio, Auckland - 27/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Freecell
V Energy and Audiology brings DnB legend and pioneer Roni Size touring his New Forms Anniversary Live show at The Studio in Auckland. I had arrived early at the entrance I could already hear some drum and bass playing walking down to the stage I realised how long its been since I was last at The Studio, suddenly the memories flow in from previous events of Shift to BSE, the venue had character and a lot of history.
Read More...
Bespin - Single Review: East of Her
07 Sep 2017 // by Freecell
Auckland three-piece and Critics Choice prize winners Bespin return with a new track - East of Her.The song intro starts with a synthesised sound and a bass with an Interesting effect drawing you in.
Read More...
Radio Therapy - EP Review: Ruby
08 Aug 2017 // by Freecell
This EP starts off with a guitar intro and left speaker panning making for some very interesting sound engineering on Light in Darkness, the riff starts off and then the full band starts playing. My first impression is that it reminds me of Pennywise but different with a high energy rock punk feel.
Read More...
Gig Review: State of Mind with MC Rolex @ Static, Hamilton - 30/06/17
09 Jul 2017 // by Freecell
The Drum & Bass Massive presents: State of Mind with MC Rolex with local support from: Freecell, Hijenkx, Harlan Jones, Califresh, Snead place project and Wilks. This Event was at Static, 5 Hood St, Hamilton.
Read More...
Festival Review: Bay Dreams 2017
10 Jan 2017 // by Freecell
Bay Dreams from start to finish was one tight gig. From the security, to the food staff, AWOP, bars and musicians down to the audience.
Read More...
Broods Acoustic Set @ Clarence St Theatre, Hamilton - 6/12/16
18 Dec 2016 // by Freecell
Upon arrival to see the Broods there was a huge presence of the Sponsors - iHeartRadio, ZM and 2Degrees. My FiancÚ and I were offered a free photo from iHeartRadio and soon after went to the bar and was offered a free Maputo ice cream, which was a nice gift.
Read More...
Bolt42 - Album Review: Nights on Earth
12 Dec 2016 // by Freecell
Very cool and eccentric sounding album Nights on Earth by Bolt42 from Wellington. The release starts off with Voodoo Thursday with brass instruments and random atmospheric sounds, with cool sounding guitar riffs and vocals that remind me of Beck and Pluto.
Read More...
Album Review: Stir It Up - Aotearoas Tribute to Bob Marley
24 Nov 2016 // by Freecell
Stir It Up - Aotearoa's Tribute to Bob Marley on Universal music New Zealand contains 15 songs by various NZ artists. I've got to say I was quite excited to listen / review this album because I knew it was going to be good.
Read More...
View All Articles By Freecell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem