23 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skinny Hobos and Guests @ Ding Dong, Auckland - 20/05/17

21 May 2017 // A review by Sass_Metal

This was my 2nd night at Ding Dong in a row reviewing bands. Ding Dong Lounge is such a cool little community of creative people! I know itís been a while since the renovations happened upstairs but I couldnít help but remember the first time I saw Skinny Hobos at Ding Dong a few years ago when the stage was in the corner. I mention this because Alex brought it up last night. I love the new and improved band room and with Paul behind the desk you are guaranteed an excellent sound! After reviewing Black Metal and ambient metal bands the night before and then these three Rock n Roll, Blues, Grungy Rock bands all with Paul behind the desk, all of the bands sounded amazing! All the levels were spot on, the drums were clear and the vocals all combined to make all seven bands I saw this weekend sound international quality!

The Saturday night at Ding Dong was opened by West Auckland band AnimalHead. Right from before they took the stage the room was packed with people cheering and calling for the band. Everyone was straight into it, the crowd and the band all feeding off each other in a high energy frenzy. It was one of the most active crowds I have ever seen for an opening band which made me take even more notice of this powerful 3 piece. It was my first time seeing AnimalHead but I have heard their name mentioned a few times. Before I got upstairs to the band room I was feeling very fatigued from the previous nightís show but by the end of the first song from AnimalHead my fatigue was gone and I was just as excited and ready to dance like the crowd around me.

AnimalHead are inspired by a lot of different influences and this comes across in their music with not one song being able to be pigeonholed as one particular genre. Watching an AnimalHead set is almost a trip in history of Heavy Rock music with Grunge tones, Jazz, Blues, Heavy Rock boarding on Metal with the heavy drum beats and soaring guitar solos. I loved the drum tones and guitar solos that AnimalHead played, these guys know how to play their instruments and their love and passion shines through. AnimalHead will appeal to anyone who likes any of the sub genres of Rock and Metal and they have the stage presence and attitude to go along with it. Check them out, you wonít be disappointed. Their next show is Winterslam back at Ding Dong on the 16th June, get along!

Auckland band Coridian were up next and I can see why this line-up is playing together straight away as Skinny Hobos are the only band I have seen previously. Again, like AnimalHead, I had heard the name Coridian but last night was my first time watching them. Dity is one of the best Rock frontmen Iíve seen live in a long time Ė he knows how to work a crowd and is jumping all over the stage right from the first note. I couldnít help but think to myself that I would love to see what he could do on a bigger stage and I would love to see them perform at The Powerstation or similar venue. Dity had the crowd eating out of his hands and by the end of their set the entire front half of the room is jumping up and down. 

The set that Coridian played last night was a mix of fast Rock, slower Bluesy tunes with Jazz elements and heavier grunge tones. I donít want to keep drawing similarities with AnimalHead but this is another band that lovers of all heavy music can get into. This show was to celebrate their release of their newest single Reflections which is available on iTunes, Spotify, Google Music, Bandcamp, Soundcloud, Tidal and Deezer with all of these links available on their Facebook page. Reflections is a song that takes the listener on a journey and I loved where it took me. I could relate to most of the songs Coridian performed and my favourites were ReflectionsMilk, Brave Disguise and their last song Blind Faith. Brave Disguise spoke to me the most and while writing this review Iíve already listened to it three times. By the end of their set I was regretting not having checked out their music prior to coming to the show but it is definitely providing me with some amazing music to check already.

Coridian have a few shows coming up get out and support them! They are touring with Wellington band Curlys Jewels in May and June. 26th May they are playing at Lovelands in Wellington (which has already SOLD OUT!) then the 10th of June at the Cabana in Napier and on the 24th June they are playing at Backbeat Bar in Auckland, so get along!

Last, but most definitely not least, was Auckland duo Skinny Hobos. When you think of a musical duo it is very easy to think of acoustic or low key but these are terms that do not apply at all to Skinny Hobos. They experimented with their set last night, playing a set they mentioned they had never played before. They played some of their crowd favourites Jokers and Fools and Merchant of Tirau and but they also mixed it up and the set overall was of a heavier tone. This could have been a risk with the other bands and crowd being more Rockier but I think it was a risk that worked out, I loved it and I wasnít the only one! By the end of their set the room was absolutely jam packed and there were people standing out the door. I looked around during the last song and even the guys standing around with their arms crossed (which seems to be an Auckland thing) were at least either moving their heads or swaying in time to the music. There wasnít one person standing still in that room and Iíve only seen this a handful of times this year with the 60 or so bands Iíve seen this year.

Right throughout their set Skinny Hobos had the crowd eating out of their hands and during their slower songs the people right up the front got out their lighters and started swaying their arms back and forwards, during the faster dancier tunes the crowd were all swaying as one and during the heavier bits everyone was head banging as one. It was as if everyone in that room was part of the performance instead of just Alex and Sam on stage. In-between the songs they kept up a steady stream of banter with the crowd and even tried raffling off one of the crowd members, Rodrigo who they did a shout out too who is playing drums in their next video, which I canít wait to view!

There wonít be anyone that loves rock and grunge music that doesnít know what happened to Chris Cornell and Iíve read on social media and heard vocalised by a lot of people that there arenít many people who come close to his range of vocals. Skinny Hobos did a tribute to the great man which started off as a solo by Alex and I got chills and goosebumps while he was singing, it was the closest Iíve heard anyone come to, to emulating such an iconic voice and Alex nailed it! Talking of covers Skinny Hobos ended their set on a cover of Steriogram's Walkie Talkie Man if you have never seen a drummer rap and play drums at the same time it is something that blew my mind! Sam you are a machine to be able to pull that off! I wouldnít normally talk about bands doing covers and try to focus on their original music as much as possible but these two songs showed their wide range of musical abilities and were both widely different to their usual sound and they absolutely nailed them!

Iíve seen over 60 bands live this year and these three bands, collectively, put on one of the best live shows Iíve attended. They blew a lot of bigger bands Iíve seen out of the water and while I almost felt like I had to drag myself out of the house into the cold dark night, today I am still buzzing with how amazing these bands were. All three put on powerful, high energy performances. Their love for their music shone through and the crowd lapped all of it up. By the end of the three bands I should have been exhausted but I found myself wishing there was a fourth band to play after Skinny Hobos. If you havenít checked out any of these bands live yet, you wonít be disappointed! Get out and check them out when you get the chance!

About Skinny Hobos

Skinny Hobos are a 2-piece Alternative Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand who make far more noise than any two people should!

The Hobos have quickly earned a reputation for being the hardest working band in town. In 2015, they played more shows than there were weeks in the year, as well as recording their debut album at Neil Finnís Roundhead Studios with engineer Nick Poortman (Ekko Park, Jason Kerrison).

They finished off the year with a very successful co-headlined North Island tour with Wellington band Bakers Eddy, and they were also featured in the December/January issue of NZ Musician Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skinny Hobos

Releases

Skinny Hobos
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Sass_Metal

Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sass_Metal
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to Ė especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times Iíve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutaliteeís Birthday Bash and of course all the times Iíve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you havenít seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and Iím pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tribal State @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 28/07/2017
29 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
It was a cold, wet night, my nose was running and I couldnít stop sneezing and coughing. I wasnít feeling up to going out on such a miserable night but Iím more than happy that I did.
Read More...
Bloodnut - Album Review: St. Ranga
27 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Iíve heard a lot of albums in my time but thereís not many that draws you in from the first note and despite itís unusual name Space Orangutan it is one of the best opening tracks for an album Iíve heard in a very long time. The levels in this mix capture the live, raw sound of Bloodnut perfectly which is also very rare in NZ Metal recordings (the amount of times Iíve had my music on shuffle and had to turn it up for NZ Metal bands then to have my speakers almost explode when an International band comes on drives me crazy every time!
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades with Bakers Eddy, Dead Favours & Skinny Hobos @ Galatos, Auckland - 15/07/2017
17 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This was a well anticipated show for many of the punters there, talking to them between bands around the venue and outside. Despite being moved into the smaller basement room below Galatos instead of being in the ballroom it was the perfect size and created the right atmosphere for the bands and audience to be closer together and almost as one.
Read More...
Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Make it Go Away
03 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Iíve known Ryan Kershaw for a long time and have always been a fan of all the music he writes with all the various bands and solo projects he has released music with. His new single Make It Go Away is no exception.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sass_Metal

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem