19 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017

20 May 2017 // A review by Corinner
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played. So I guess I shall have to tell you in retrospect how fantastic they are and the feedback from the crowd was that it was the most energetic performance they have put on. I have had the pleasure of working with them several times so I know they are a sight to behold, they sound great and photograph well. I was lucky enough to capture them later on in the evening with Nail and Paul from Devilskin.

Recovering from my late entrance and composing myself, I prepared to shoot the next band, The Eternal Sea, another local band exploding onto the Rock scene in Tauranga. The build up for this bands maiden voyage on Totara Street's stage has been pretty impressive and they did not disappoint. The entrance onto the stage was dramatic and a fitting start for when the The Eternal Sea ripped into the first song, to a cheer from the crowd. This is a band to watch, this was a lively, tight set which got the people up dancing. The influence of Tool is strong, bass was coming up through the floor and vibrating through the walls making you feel the music, it was great. The presence of the large loudhailer became evident when they did an excellent rendition of Genesis' Home By The Sea, the crowd went wild. I look forward to hearing more of theses guys and am excited to be working with them soon. 

Coridian, from Auckland, were next, I reviewed this bands new single Reflections prior to release and loved it, so could not wait to hear it live. I love it even more now. This band is so full of energy, Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious, the crowd were getting right into the music, dancing with wild abandon. I have said it once and I will say it again, this band deserves to be heard on the radio. That was a professional and slick performance and I thank you for writing and playing such a beautiful song in Reflections (I still think it is a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating), and for hosting what was a memorable evening. 

The final act of the night was Checaine. This is a progressive rock band from Hamilton that take no prisoners, they were full noise all the way last night, loads of personality, big beats from the drums and incredible guitaring accompanying strong vocals, this was a mix for more crowd pleasing headbanging and even a cool light show from a LED hulahoop and poi. They were a fantastic end to a fantastic evening.

The only sour note of the whole evening was someone getting escorted out of the building for being slightly to energetic, everything else was an amazing show of Kiwi rock and comradery, a show of strength, love and support for our rock music industry, which is definitely alive and well and just keeps getting stronger.

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four piece Auckland based group who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

A combination of emotive lyrics and heavy, yet still ambient, sound have crafted the
band's signature style. It's been described as, "impressive, power and pitching and
big crunchy walls of guitar" and "slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian


Year: 2017
Type: EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem