19 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

GRVY - EP Review: Lick O The Spoon

16 May 2017 // A review by jck2

 photo Rap It Up logo_zpsaxma80mr.jpg

 photo GRVY_zpsi2maqgjf.jpg

GRVY is Laz Karaka and Mr Pianoman. They’ve just released a 5 song teaser for their forthcoming album called Lick O The Spoon. Meant as a taste of things to come this is Laz at his most current and creative.

The rest of the album will have to wait. But the five song EP is definitely cool. On one hand, they offer really funky vibes and on the other competent Trap. Laz delivers in his youthful manner about love and relationships and the ups and downs of life. Keeping his up beat flow on point and bright at every moment. He’s a respected battle rapper and artist in his own right and has always had my respect as a true talent. 

Laz has a nice clarity to his raps on this record and hooky moments like Good Girls shows his diversity. He brings it hard on these tracks until easing into the warm waters of some slow RnB Piano from Mr Pianoman and the insanely catchy and enjoyable chorus of Love Boat. Which struck me as a mature analysis of love and life. Laz and Mr Pianoman lend a certain sophistication and loungyness to this record and I'll tell ya the swag is heavy on this one.

The Trap and Dance hall of Put It On De Fyah is for me the highlight of the teaser. A really exciting song with loads of super current Trap vibe. Probably the nicest Trap I’ve heard from A Kiwi artist. The Ragga hook constitutes brilliance and is insanely smokey and cool and brings in the elements of Jamaican music beautifully to this superbly crafted song.

I was thrilled to hear there was new music to be honest. I’ve been waiting on some Laz for a minute now. So myself and all his fans and supporters are happy to see him back in the booth…. with the heat turned way up and Mr Pianoman at his side.

Need I say more  This is a dope release… I would say prepare to become a fan.

So what you waiting for? Grab it before your computer crashes.

Other Reviews By jck2

Esoligh - Album Review: Brightness Sparks
08 Jul 2018 // by jck2
Brightness Sparks by Esoligh is a 14-track album of conscious boom bap. The album runs for 54 minutes.
Read More...
ABRZY - Single Review: Top Down
01 May 2018 // by jck2
ABRZY is a Wellington based Hip-Hop artist. His style is contemporary Hip Hop/Trap and his new single Top Down is not too dissimilar to Drake.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Glass
12 Feb 2018 // by jck2
Beautiful rendition of Bowie's classic Ashes to Ashes exactly note for note to my ear. Can't believe he played every instrument himself!
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album review: Sick World
13 Nov 2017 // by jck2
Needles Cane is a name that I’ve heard crop up quite a few times on posters and gig invitations on Facebook and amongst friends in the Auckland Goth scene. Although the most I knew about them before I listened to their album Sick World was that they were gothic rock.
Read More...
SWIDT - Album Review: Stoneyhunga
06 Aug 2017 // by jck2
SWIDT, which stands for "See what I did there?", broke onto the music scene with their independently produced single & video No More Parties In Onehunga in early 2016.
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: A Place To Stand
11 Jul 2017 // by jck2
A Place To Stand is the sophomore album by New Zealand's very own urban artist Rei. A Place To Stand is an intricate album both in concept and production.
Read More...
Logic Defies Logic - Album Review: Magic And Science
03 Apr 2017 // by jck2
Logic Defies Logic's Magic And Science is the 6 track album I’ve been listening to in my car for the last couple of weeks. From the cover to the inlay to the pull out insert to the music itself, the Album screams mastery, perfectionism and quality and has definitely made a fan out of me.
Read More...
Gig Review: Logic Defies Logic @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 23/03/17
02 Apr 2017 // by jck2
Logic Defies Logic are a band of excellent kiwi musicians currently residing in Melbourne, Australia. They’ve been on a 6 date tour through New Zealand and Australia to promote their new album Magic and Science.
Read More...
View All Articles By jck2

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • BOO'D UP (REMIX)
    Ella Mai, Nicki Minaj And Quavo
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem