21 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Reflections

15 May 2017 // A review by Corinner
So by now a whole bunch of you probably know who Coridan are, or at least heard a few of their songs but for those of you wondering who the heck I am going on about, they are a tight alternative - progressive rock band from Auckland. I was pretty excited to get the chance to review their latest single, Reflections.

I want to describe this as a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating, it kind of made me all mooshy inside but on the other hand if I was 20 years younger, you probably would have found me attempting to head bang to it. The lyrics tell a tale of loss and indicate a touch of sadness, perhaps a cathartic release with bittersweet poignant words which have been accompanied by very clean and powerful instrumentation and awesome bassy tones. Dity Maharaj formerly of Mile High, has a powerful voice with impressive range which is evident on this track. The brothers Chris, Mike and Nick Raven, who are the roots of Coridan, compliment his vocals perfectly.

This is a song which has the "put on repeat and crank it up loud" vibe about it, and in my opinion is most certainly radio worthy. Reflections is going to be met with great enthusiasm. 

I look forward to photographing these guys when they celebrate the bands single release at Totara St, it will be a treat to hear live.

Produced and mixed by Zorran Mendosa (New Way Home, Set On End) and mastered by Forrester Savell (Shihad, I Am Giant, Karnivool).

Release date 15 May 2017 followed by a lyric video.

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four piece Auckland based group who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

A combination of emotive lyrics and heavy, yet still ambient, sound have crafted the
band's signature style. It's been described as, "impressive, power and pitching and
big crunchy walls of guitar" and "slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian


Year: 2017
Type: EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem