21 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Reflections

15 May 2017 // A review by Corinner
So by now a whole bunch of you probably know who Coridan are, or at least heard a few of their songs but for those of you wondering who the heck I am going on about, they are a tight alternative - progressive rock band from Auckland. I was pretty excited to get the chance to review their latest single, Reflections.

I want to describe this as a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating, it kind of made me all mooshy inside but on the other hand if I was 20 years younger, you probably would have found me attempting to head bang to it. The lyrics tell a tale of loss and indicate a touch of sadness, perhaps a cathartic release with bittersweet poignant words which have been accompanied by very clean and powerful instrumentation and awesome bassy tones. Dity Maharaj formerly of Mile High, has a powerful voice with impressive range which is evident on this track. The brothers Chris, Mike and Nick Raven, who are the roots of Coridan, compliment his vocals perfectly.

This is a song which has the "put on repeat and crank it up loud" vibe about it, and in my opinion is most certainly radio worthy. Reflections is going to be met with great enthusiasm. 

I look forward to photographing these guys when they celebrate the bands single release at Totara St, it will be a treat to hear live.

Produced and mixed by Zorran Mendosa (New Way Home, Set On End) and mastered by Forrester Savell (Shihad, I Am Giant, Karnivool).

Release date 15 May 2017 followed by a lyric video.

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four piece Auckland based group who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ music including Zorran Mendonsa (New Way Home, Set On End) and Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad). They've toured extensively around NZ, performed with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin,
City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Ekko Park, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Don’t Fire That Gun
12 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine are a five-piece rock band from Auckland with a wealth of experience between them. Decades of performing have seen them become accomplished musicians.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky
01 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know
30 May 2018 // by Corinner
Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album.
Read More...
Boycrush - Album Review: Desperate Late Night Energy
28 May 2018 // by Corinner
Creatively assembling dance-oriented pop music is Alistair Deverick from West Auckland, otherwise known as Boycrush. Producer, drummer and songwriter, Alistair is a multi-talented musician and imaginative visionary, incorporating choreographed dance visuals with electronica.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem