19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Reflections

15 May 2017 // A review by Corinner
So by now a whole bunch of you probably know who Coridan are, or at least heard a few of their songs but for those of you wondering who the heck I am going on about, they are a tight alternative - progressive rock band from Auckland. I was pretty excited to get the chance to review their latest single, Reflections.

I want to describe this as a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating, it kind of made me all mooshy inside but on the other hand if I was 20 years younger, you probably would have found me attempting to head bang to it. The lyrics tell a tale of loss and indicate a touch of sadness, perhaps a cathartic release with bittersweet poignant words which have been accompanied by very clean and powerful instrumentation and awesome bassy tones. Dity Maharaj formerly of Mile High, has a powerful voice with impressive range which is evident on this track. The brothers Chris, Mike and Nick Raven, who are the roots of Coridan, compliment his vocals perfectly.

This is a song which has the "put on repeat and crank it up loud" vibe about it, and in my opinion is most certainly radio worthy. Reflections is going to be met with great enthusiasm. 

I look forward to photographing these guys when they celebrate the bands single release at Totara St, it will be a treat to hear live.

Produced and mixed by Zorran Mendosa (New Way Home, Set On End) and mastered by Forrester Savell (Shihad, I Am Giant, Karnivool).

Release date 15 May 2017 followed by a lyric video.

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four piece Auckland based group who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

A combination of emotive lyrics and heavy, yet still ambient, sound have crafted the
band's signature style. It's been described as, "impressive, power and pitching and
big crunchy walls of guitar" and "slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

So Below - Single Review: Close
14 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
New Zealand's very own enigmatic songbird, Madeline North AKA So Below has released a new single called Close. An upbeat lively track accompanied by intense poetic lyrics which don’t match.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Willowbank
02 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
I have crossed the path of Yumi Zouma once before when I reviewed their first track on this album which was released as a single back in August. Willowbank is the sophomore album to Yoncalla, their debut originals LP.
Read More...
Great North - Album Review: The Golden Age
27 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
You know you have stumbled onto a good thing, when you come across a band who reckons that their songs were delivered to them by drunken angels and the music video involves blowing loads of beautifully crafted cakes from the Australian Women’s Weekly Cake Book to smithereens.  “Nearly every 90's child in New Zealand would have had a cake from that cookbook or been at a party where one was served.
Read More...
Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness
20 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former.
Read More...
Kimbra - Single Review: Everybody Knows
10 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
When I hear Kimbra, I still hear Somebody That I Used To Know, a song which Gotye made a killing on in 2012 and shot our lovely kiwi Kimbra from Hamilton into the musical stratosphere. I still hear it because I played it over and over again until I drove myself mad or my cats bonkers, one of the two.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980’s, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door
12 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970’s NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes “A tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem