28 May 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Reflections

15 May 2017 // A review by Corinner
So by now a whole bunch of you probably know who Coridan are, or at least heard a few of their songs but for those of you wondering who the heck I am going on about, they are a tight alternative - progressive rock band from Auckland. I was pretty excited to get the chance to review their latest single, Reflections.

I want to describe this as a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating, it kind of made me all mooshy inside but on the other hand if I was 20 years younger, you probably would have found me attempting to head bang to it. The lyrics tell a tale of loss and indicate a touch of sadness, perhaps a cathartic release with bittersweet poignant words which have been accompanied by very clean and powerful instrumentation and awesome bassy tones. Dity Maharaj formerly of Mile High, has a powerful voice with impressive range which is evident on this track. The brothers Chris, Mike and Nick Raven, who are the roots of Coridan, compliment his vocals perfectly.

This is a song which has the "put on repeat and crank it up loud" vibe about it, and in my opinion is most certainly radio worthy. Reflections is going to be met with great enthusiasm. 

I look forward to photographing these guys when they celebrate the bands single release at Totara St, it will be a treat to hear live.

Produced and mixed by Zorran Mendosa (New Way Home, Set On End) and mastered by Forrester Savell (Shihad, I Am Giant, Karnivool).

Release date 15 May 2017 followed by a lyric video.

About Coridian

Coridian's roots lie in the instrumental progressive rock music that brothers Mike Raven (Guitars), Kris Raven (Drums) & Nick Raven (Bass) played together in their family home while growing up in Auckland, NZ. Years later by 2012, jam sessions had turned into regular practices and they became a band - gigging across the city under the roundhouse-kick of a moniker: Chuck Norris Trio.

After the release of their first E.P Black Bone Zoo in 2014, they decided to refresh their sound and layer vocals to their intricate instrumentation. After joining forces with powerful vocalist Dity Maharaj (formerly of Mile High) they were now a new band with a new name.

This is Coridian*.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017
20 May 2017 // by Corinner
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played.
Read More...
Primacy - Single Review: Dissent
11 May 2017 // by Corinner
"Introducing Dissent, the stunning new single by New Zealand heavy rock act Primacy".These are the opening words of the press release to describe Primacy's, a popular band from West Auckland, up and coming new single release.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Gig Review. HLAH @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui 4/05/2017
05 May 2017 // by Corinner
Head Like A Hole was a new experience for me, I knew they had been around for a few years and had a solid fan base, I also knew that there was a high possibility of stage diving and being flicked in the face by flying hair, as I was also the photographer for the evening I was aware I didn't want to be shoved over holding my camera.   First thing I quickly realised talking to people was just how passionate HLAH fans really are, They have people going to every concert they are doing on this 25th anniversary release of the album 13.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Single Review: Smash The Grips
22 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
I had no idea what to expect with this song, I knew it was Hip-Hop from a band in Wellington. Boy was I wrong, it was so much more than that, it had depth and layers galore.
Read More...
Dave Dobbyn - Album Review: Slice Of Heaven - 40 Years Of Hits
13 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
How does one begin to review an album which has been the soundtrack of our youth? The backdrop to collective memories of a nation?
Read More...
Bryony Matthews - Album Review: Little Queen
10 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
Christchurch based singer songwriter Bryony Mathews is on the brink of releasing Little Queen, a folk-pop album comprising of nine tracks with a largely upbeat tempo, coinciding with thoughtful compassionate lyrics. The CD contains a booklet and the art is sweet and uncomplicated, capturing the title of her debut album perfectly.
Read More...
Madam Tsunami - Album Review: Long Way From Home
06 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
I have a wee soft spot for Celtic music, so I was excited to get an opportunity to review Long Way From Home by Madam Tsunami. This album did not disappoint.
Read More...
The DeSotos - Album Review: Shadow of Love
01 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
NZ Country / Blues rocker heavyweights, Paul Gurney with The DeSotos have teamed up to produce their latest album, Shadow of Love. Reminiscent of The Warratahs, with a touch of America and a heavy sprinkling of Neil Young, the warm comforting Americana backdrop which I grew up with exuding from the vinyl in the living room.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
  • SIGN OF THE TIMES
    Harry Styles
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • SWALLA
    Jason DeRulo feat. Nicki Minaj And Ty Dolla Sign
  • OPTIONS
    Pitbull feat. Stephen Marley
  • THAT'S WHAT I LIKE
    Bruno Mars
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem