19 Jan 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scared Of Girls - EP Review: Suck

10 May 2017 // A review by tonymcdonald

Old school rock punk full of vibrance, fun, clever lyrics and toe tapping beats describes Scared of Girlsís EP Suck brilliantly. The EP has a great live sound with plenty of passion, so full credit to James Dalton for the mix and master. I am sure they are great live performers.

Full Metal Jacket starts the EP with a catchy riff and upbeat tempo, and this doesnít let up throughout the 5 songs. I canít actually put my finger on who Daniel's vocals reminds me of, very English (no offence intended).

Obviously being David Lynch fans, the video for Mulholland Drive is very good and quirky, not sure if copyright issues (Cat in the Hat) will haunt them if they take to the world stage, but maybe that's what they want? Check it out here, it's great.

Final track, Beach Teens starts out like a song from Pulp Fiction (in fact, I thought it was for 5 seconds), but then quickly gets back into the punk rock vibe. This is my favourite track, for sure.

I really enjoy short songs which leave you wanting more and Suck does this very well, all being around the 3 minute mark. It does make a refreshing change to hear this kind of music and I am glad I got the opportunity to review it.

About Scared Of Girls

Scared of Girls are a surf punk 4-piece from Auckland that play fast-paced and poppy guitar-driven tunes about Kiwi beaches, frantic pre-inspection flat cleans, and the highs and lows of millennial best friendship. Named after their crippling mutual fear of the opposite sex, the Scaredies are here for a good time not a long time, and heading into 2018 are looking to keep churning out party punk bangers while playing ripper shows all up and down the country.

Instagram Page
Spotify Page

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scared Of Girls

Releases

SUCK
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By tonymcdonald

Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by tonymcdonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by tonymcdonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing
28 Aug 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80ís retro PowerPop single really stand out. I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer.
Read More...
Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit
26 Jun 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate
14 Feb 2017 // by tonymcdonald
I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.
Read More...
Pitch Black - Album Review: Filtered Senses
12 Sep 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Pitch Black, the duo from Christchurch are back after nine long years with a brand new dub album, Filtered Senses. Itís dark and mysterious with a laid back lounge club feel.
Read More...
Prizegiving - Album Review: No Harm Done
05 Jul 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Donít think about buying the cassette from Bandcamp because it's sold out. Is that a good thing?
Read More...
View All Articles By tonymcdonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • CANDY PAINT
    Post Malone
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem