23 Apr 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kittens of The Internet EP Review

06 May 2017 // A review by Ria Loveder

Kittens of the Internet have shown the New Zealand music why they are Silver Scroll nominees with their self-titled EP.

With its upbeat tracks and vibrant sounds they’re songs are a breath of fresh air for the electronic music scene.

What I love about this EP is they’re lyrics are very descriptive and emotive, read by themselves they have the potential to create a somewhat serious and gloomy outlook on life, but once added with electronic beats, it makes the hardships and struggles of life seem not that severe.

This EP encapsulates growing up and the struggles that go with it, life ambitions, relationships, growing older, a life soundtrack of dreamy vocals and effervescent beats.

My favourite track on the EP is Bitter, written about the many troublesome thoughts that go on in people’s heads, the ones that keep you up and night pushing you to the point of insanity. Beautifully poetic lyrics and intoxicating vigour this song is one to be played loud and to get lost in.

Kittens of the Internet have got themselves a new fan, I look forward to what they have next in store and to see them grow in the New Zealand music scene. 

About Kittens of The Internet

Vibrant electronic band Kittens of The Internet are a two piece featuring Katie Scott & Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper. Their playful name extends into their sound creating an intoxicating sugar-rush energy of alternative electro pop with dreamy luscious vocals & captivating stories.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kittens of The Internet

Releases

Kittens of the Internet
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Read More...
Oyawa - Album Review: I Don't Recall Ordering Ordinary
03 Jul 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Indie/alternative band Oyawa have bought their loud and ambient tones to the New Zealand music scene with their album I Don’t Recall Ordering Ordinary. It is evident to hear that Oyawa are not afraid to experiment with sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • FRIENDS
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
  • CALL OUT MY NAME
    The Weeknd
  • THE MIDDLE
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem