21 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Head Like A Hole - Gig Review. HLAH @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui 4/05/2017

05 May 2017 // A review by Corinner
Head Like A Hole was a new experience for me, I knew they had been around for a few years and had a solid fan base, I also knew that there was a high possibility of stage diving and being flicked in the face by flying hair, as I was also the photographer for the evening I was aware I didn't want to be shoved over holding my camera.  

First thing I quickly realised talking to people was just how passionate HLAH fans really are, They have people going to every concert they are doing on this 25th anniversary release of the album 13. And if you don't know by now they are an Alternative Rock - Industrial Metal band from Wellington.  I am going to go over last night's performance at Totara St which is their first gig on the tour around NZ in the month of May.

HLAH had two support acts last night, the first one is a band (and Gus) from Thames. These guys were nothing short of brilliant !, the front man Gus wasn't a lead singer, he didn't play an instrument but he jumped around the stage and blurted out things with such charisma and eccentricity that it was hard to take my eyes off him, a quick scout around the room confirmed that people were in awe or maybe slightly confused by this vision in front of us. The whole band was extremely energetic and got the crowd into the swing of things quickly. To describe them, perhaps I might say Psychedelic Punk, but I am not sure. If you ever get a chance to see them in action, GO!

Second support act was Edward Gains And The Human Remains, I had heard a lot about these guys, as they are a local band with regular attendance at music festivals such as Woodcock and gigs at the Incubator, I hadn't had the pleasure of seeing them perform, so I was looking forward to it.  It was more Punk then I thought it was going to be, perfect as a support act for HLAH, two guys playing their hearts out with powerful vocals from Gains. Excellent choice of band to get the crowd even more riled up for the head lining act. I will see more of these guys no doubt, excellent local talent.

Ok so here is the main event, the band we have all been waiting for HLAH. Are you ready?  

I was mixing and mingling with hardcore fans of this iconic band, and talking (or trying to) about what makes them so epic, I couldn't put my finger on it, I kept hearing how great they are and how much "we love them", so? And then they came out with a dramatic entrance, and I immediately saw what the people had been saying, they had that aura of professionalism that comes with many years in the industry and a sex appeal of sorts.

An epic solid performance from the entire band, the crowd was worked up into a frenzy with head banging galore. I only feared for my life once as I was pushed hard up against the stage, but that was OK, it's part of the job and I got a close view of the band's feet and full noise from the speaker. This was awesome!

Booga Beazley had whipped that crowd up to a state of ecstasy, the energy from the band and the fans could have powered Tauranga for a week. I made the mistake of not asking for the set list, so I cant give you a run down of each and every song they played, but I will say the entire set was brilliant. I am glad I was photographer as well so I had the luxury of standing back yet still getting a good view through my lens (after a few songs I decided this was the safest option).

So New Zealand, you are in for a treat with this tour. It was actually spine tingling awesomness. HLAH have once again proved they have what it takes to last the distance, it was a privilege to be both photographer and reviewer for this event.

About Head Like A Hole

Formed in Wellington, Head Like A Hole originally consisted of Booga Beazley, Nigel Regan, Andrew Durno and Mark Hamill. Like most young bands, they started out by playing small gigs at local pubs and at various well known live venues. Then quickly started touring the university circuit. The band soon made a name for themselves with energetic and often outrageous live performances, appearing on stage either naked, caked with mud, or covered completely in body paint.

Therefore forming a solid and dedicated following throughout the live music scene. Head like a Hole were soon signed to Wildside Records and began their recording career. 1992 saw the release of their debut album, 13 which the band largley produced themselves. The single Fish Across Face successfully made it into the New Zealand Top 10 charts. In keeping with Head Like a Hole tradition the video for Fish Across Face included a scene where Nigel regurgitates an orange substance into Booga’s mouth and was promptly pulled off air.

Head Like a Hole continued touring and performing the university orientation circuit. Then returned to the studio in 1993 to record their second album. Flik Y'Self off Y'Self. Which was released in stores in 1994 providing two singles. Faster Hooves and Spanish Goat Dancer. After the release of two successful records the band’s popularity and exposure increased, and so Head Like a Hole remained on tour. Playing to capacity crowds and sold out venues throughout the country, and in 1996 secured a position on the bill to play The Big Day Out festival. That same time the band suffered a sudden and tragic loss, with the death of their Manager Gerald Barry Dwyer. And it was late 1996 where they headed back to the studio, this time travelling to Australia and worked on a third album. Double Your Strength, Improve Your Health & Lengthen Your Life. Cornbag, the first single from the album, was released in November 1996, but received only moderate chart success.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Head Like A Hole


Faster Hooves
Year: ????
Type: EP
Spanish Goat Dancer
Year: ????
Type: Album
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Blood Will Out
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Blood On A Honky Tonk Floor
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Wet Rubber
Year: 1998
Type: Album
The Not Nicomjool EP
Year: 1995
Type: EP
Flik Y'Self Off Y'Self
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Year: 1993
Type: EP
Year: 1992
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem