25 Apr 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Push Push - EP Review - Talk2Me

19 Apr 2017 // A review by Matt Mutinous

Released 13th April 2017

Growing up as a kid In the 90's you had to be living under a rock to have never heard of Auckland band Push Push. After their array of hits including, Trippin' which reached number one on the new Zealand charts in 1992 and front man Mikey Havoc's career transition onto late night television. Push Push is back in 2017 with the release of their long-awaited EP Talk2Me.

I didn't really know what to expect after 20 years, in my mind these guys were New Zealand's answer to Twisted Sister, never the less I prowled Spotify and dove into the title track Talk2Me.

Turbocharged with gas pedal pushing riffs, with a twist of country rock presented in the form of cowbell and tambourines to even things out. A fresh take on all fronts and unexpected, this song is the definitive single from the EP.

Turns out the real surprises are hidden behind all that though as we are taken into a, cooler, slightly damper area apply titled Change. Fast forward yet rewound the bass lines walk us into a trap of sultry vocals held nicely by a pounding tribal beat. A breath of fresh air the ear and probably my favourite track from the release.

Slowing things down a bit, the next track Desert Road winds us up into a powerful rock ballad with an awesome display of guitar and vocal work, really captured by the producer. Staking their name on it, Push Push are still doing so even after this long hiatus.

The final track Doosh takes another turn with a Beastie Boys feel to it, the hard rock guitar in this song will keep the head banging all the way through. The layered vocal tracks provide a party like atmosphere that transforms the song into a heavy hitting, rock stomper.

A fast come back indeed, with age comes wisdom and there is no doubt that these guys haven't changed one bit. I'm going to need to go out and get myself a hard copy of this one though, the car stereo is in need of some premium driving music.

5 stars - Matt Mutinous

Spotify Link

About Push Push

Push Push was a glam metal rock band of the 1990s from Auckland, New Zealand. They were best known for their single Trippin'.

The band released their debut album A Trillion Shades of Happy in 1992. Their first single Trippin' was recorded at Airforce Studios (Auckland), with the drum track for done in one take. The song went to #1 in New Zealand. The bonus track I Love My Leather Jacket was recorded at The Lab. Backing vocals on the track Dig My World were provided by Jan Hellriegel.

The band opened for AC/DC at Mount Smart Stadium in 1992. Apparently the band drew straws to see who was going to walk onstage first as there were around 50,000 people in the crowd so they were all pretty nervous (Scott Cortese the drummer drew the short straw). Their set ended prematurely however because a fire started under the stage and Mikey Havoc announced this to the crowd which the promoters didn't like. They also blew up the speaker system so AC/DC weren't able to play as loudly as they normally did.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Push Push

Releases

Talk2Me
Year: 2017
Type: EP
A Trillion Shades of Happy
Year: 1992
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Matt Mutinous

Depths - Album Review: Endless
10 Mar 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
Release Date: April 13th, 2018 Picked up by Deadboy Records in late 2011, Depths have hit the ground running, adding a new angle to the New Zealand Metal scene and bringing a fresh sound to the table. Presumably named after the album from US deathcore band, Oceano, Depths has managed to draw an international style of death metal from the comforts of Palmerston North.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cattle Decapitation @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 8/02/2018
21 Feb 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
Thursday nights are always a good night to go out if you live in Auckland, with most international acts 'fitting us in' on their Australian tour nowadays, even a show this close to the weekend is a blessing. San Diego death metal giants, Cattle Decapitation had shown up to the iconic Kings Arms and the line to the was stretched out into the street.
Read More...
EP Review: Rise of Destructatron
15 Feb 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
Countdown... to...
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Yot Club, Raglan - 06/01/2018
08 Jan 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
The sun finally decided to make an appearance over Raglan on Saturday afternoon, following two days of chaos weather and king tides that flooded most of the country. Tourists returned with the warmth as the campground began to fill up, the sun slipped below the horizon almost as quickly as it appeared.
Read More...
Starving Millions - EP Review: V
02 Sep 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Good punk in this country has always been few and far between. Ducking in and out of the spotlight, the well-known acts of the New Zealand scene have been the ones that have powered on.
Read More...
Gig Review: Angelcorpse @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 26/07/2017
06 Aug 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Mid week gigs are always the hardest choice for most music fans, but it's not often at all that a band like this comes to town. Angelcorpse had been a big part of the Tampa death metal scene in the late 90's, so I decided to take my good friend and fellow musician, Nik Davies along, to try and catch a glimpse of the good old days of American death metal.
Read More...
Master Blaster - EP Review: Pass Out
11 Jun 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released June 16th 2017 Yesterday I knew nothing of Auckland hardcore punks, Master Blaster except for the fact that they probably run Barter Town just like in Mad Max's Beyond Thunder Dome. Being a massive fan of the Mad Max films and heavy music, I was keen to take a look at their brand new E.
Read More...
Silent Torture - EP Review: Torn to Pieces
25 Jan 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released January 28th, 2017 Back in October, we saw the release of a brand new single entitled Torn to Pieces said to be the title track off of the upcoming EP from Auckland death thrashers Silent Torture. After unveiling the gruesome and equally as awesome cover a couple of weeks ago from artist Tata Kumislizer, the wait was finally over and I was lucky enough to be one of the first to check it out.
Read More...
View All Articles By Matt Mutinous

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • FRIENDS
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
  • CALL OUT MY NAME
    The Weeknd
  • THE MIDDLE
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem