28 Apr 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Push Push - EP Review - Talk2Me

19 Apr 2017 // A review by Matt Mutinous

Released 13th April 2017

Growing up as a kid In the 90's you had to be living under a rock to have never heard of Auckland rock gods Push Push. After their array of hits including, Trippin' which reached number one on the new Zealand charts in 1992 and front man Mikey Havoc's career transition onto late night television. Push Push is back in 2017 with the release of their long-awaited EP Talk2Me.

I didn't really know what to expect after 20 years, in my mind these guys were New Zealand's answer to Twisted Sister, never the less I prowled Spotify and dove into the title track Talk2Me.

Turbocharged with gas pedal pushing riffs, with a twist of country rock presented in the form of cowbell and tambourines to even things out. A fresh take on all fronts and unexpected, this song is the definitive single from the EP.

Turns out the real surprises are hidden behind all that though as we are taken into a, cooler, slightly damper area apply titled Change. Fast forward yet rewound the bass lines walk us into a trap of sultry vocals held nicely by a pounding tribal beat. A breath of fresh air the ear and probably my favourite track from the release.

Slowing things down a bit, the next track Desert Road winds us up into a powerful rock ballad with an awesome display of guitar and vocal work, really captured by the producer. Staking their name on it, Push Push are still doing so even after this long hiatus.

The final track Doosh takes another turn with a Beastie Boys feel to it, the hard rock guitar in this song will keep the head banging all the way through. The layered vocal tracks provide a party like atmosphere that transforms the song into a heavy hitting, rock stomper.

A fast come back indeed, with age comes wisdom and there is no doubt that these guys haven't changed one bit. I'm going to need to go out and get myself a hard copy of this one though, the car stereo is in need of some premium driving music.

5 stars - Matt Mutinous

Spotify Link

About Push Push

Push Push was a glam metal rock band of the 1990s from Auckland, New Zealand. They were best known for their single Trippin'.

The band released their debut album A Trillion Shades of Happy in 1992. Their first single Trippin' was recorded at Airforce Studios (Auckland), with the drum track for done in one take. The song went to #1 in New Zealand. The bonus track I Love My Leather Jacket was recorded at The Lab. Backing vocals on the track Dig My World were provided by Jan Hellriegel.

The band opened for AC/DC at Mount Smart Stadium in 1992. Apparently the band drew straws to see who was going to walk onstage first as there were around 50,000 people in the crowd so they were all pretty nervous (Scott Cortese the drummer drew the short straw). Their set ended prematurely however because a fire started under the stage and Mikey Havoc announced this to the crowd which the promoters didn't like. They also blew up the speaker system so AC/DC weren't able to play as loudly as they normally did.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Push Push

Releases

Talk2Me
Year: 2017
Type: EP
A Trillion Shades of Happy
Year: 1992
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Matt Mutinous

Silent Torture - EP Review: Torn to Pieces
25 Jan 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released January 28th, 2017 Back in October, we saw the release of a brand new single entitled Torn to Pieces said to be the title track off of the upcoming EP from Auckland death thrashers Silent Torture. After unveiling the gruesome and equally as awesome cover a couple of weeks ago from artist Tata Kumislizer, the wait was finally over and I was lucky enough to be one of the first to check it out.
Read More...
King Fin - Single Review: Finding Hate in Yogurt
16 Jan 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released December 28, 2016 Back in 2014, we saw the emergence of conceptual prog-rock/metal instrumental EP Empty House by Auckland artist/producer Luke Finlay. Just when you thought he wasn't serious, King Fin is back at it again.
Read More...
Album Review - Killing Bear
05 Jan 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
- Released - December 16, 2016 I hadn't planned on taking a trip into outer space before pressing play on this album from Pukerua Bay four piece, Killing Bear. Knowing absolutely nothing about them, I gladly jumped on board and strapped myself in like an unsuspecting hitchhiker.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Gig Review: The Silence of the Wolves Tour @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 17/11/2016
28 Nov 2016 // by Matt Mutinous
The weather was miserable across Auckland city, the wind was blowing and the sky was dark, a perfect night to get out of the rain, grab a beer and see some live music at the famous Kings Arms Tavern. A couple of touring Australian metalcore acts; Lycanthrope and The Weight of Silence supported by two local heavyweights including my own band, HeadRoller I couldn't help but be attentive.
Read More...
EP Review: Claemus
16 Nov 2016 // by Matt Mutinous
-Released 11th November 2016-Mordecai Records Hailing from Wellington's Hutt Valley Claemus is a three-piece Progressive Rock/Metal fusion band that has been slowly but surely making themselves very apparent within the local New Zealand music scene. With their 2015 single Stuck in the Fade making waves with a borderline Nu-Metal sound mixed with a clear ballad style rock influence, it is easy to see why these guys are unique and very hard to squeeze into a specific genre.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: Awaken
31 Oct 2016 // by Matt Mutinous
Released: November 5th, 2016 Two guitars, a drum kit, and a whole stage load of awesomeness, Waikato based alternative grunge pop outfit Cheshire Grimm have been rocking up and down the country, ever since they formed in 2012. Playing numerous shows and recently supporting acts such as Cherie Currie (The Runaways) and Ladi6.
Read More...
Inhale - Album Review: Ten Cones
19 Oct 2016 // by Matt Mutinous
Released - July 23, 2016 Masterton was a relatively quiet place, that is until local band Inhale arose from the smoke in 2015, with the release of their 2 track EP Chuck The Knives On featuring tendencies of slam and death amidst a raw display of core aggression. A little over a year later we see the release of their debut album Ten Cones.
Read More...
Silent Torture - Single Review:Torn to Pieces
10 Oct 2016 // by Matt Mutinous
- Released September 1, 2016 2016 has been a massive year for 5-piece Auckland death metal band Silent Torture. With the release of their debut E.
Read More...
View All Articles By Matt Mutinous

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • OPTIONS
    Pitbull feat. Stephen Marley
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I LIKE
    Bruno Mars
  • PASSIONFRUIT
    Drake
  • SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS
    The Chainsmokers And Coldplay
  • SLIDE
    Calvin Harris feat. Frank Ocean And Migos
  • DNA.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • STAY
    Zedd And Alessia Cara
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem