17 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Logic Defies Logic @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 23/03/17

02 Apr 2017 // A review by jck2
 photo LDL_zpsudu9uowg.jpg

Logic Defies Logic are a band of excellent kiwi musicians currently residing in Melbourne, Australia. They’ve been on a 6 date tour through New Zealand and Australia to promote their new album Magic and Science. I was lucky enough to attend their Auckland show at the Ding Dong Lounge.

These guys are seriously talented and brimming with charisma and showmanship. The singer Tarquin Keys has in my opinion one of the best voices in Rock and Metal any where. With a full arsenal of everything you could possibly want in a voice. One of the best Metal screams in the game he also has an amazing range, tone and a mean vibrato. Imagine the screaming skills of Phil Anselmo the pitch and vibrato of Layne Staley combined with the range of Maynard James Keenan and you’d be getting close to the anomaly that is Tarquin Keys. 

Everyone in the band is a master at their instrument and oozing Rock n Roll swagger. I especially enjoyed the showmanship of guitarist extraordinaire Olly Wright who’s signature Tonguing of the thumb in between guitar solos had me cracking a smile every time he did it.

Bassist Matt Hewlett and Drummer Dom Ryan are the backbone of the band and what a back bone it is. Matt has this crazy technique where he uses his thumb as a pick and his animated stage presents is awesome to watch live. Dom Ryan is pure genius on the drums just really hard hitting, tight and precise. Together they put on a spectacular live performance.

Their music is eclectic and energetic and they’re just really fun to watch. The stand out song for me was their viciously heavy song Demolitia It really got my attention and being in the middle of their set served as the pinnacle of the night for me. Setting the floor awash with long haired youths whipping their manes furiously to the heavy chugging Pantera-esk riff. 

The Ding Dong Lounge had a moderate turn out of hardcore supporters with one guy on crutches wearing a T Shirt from Tarquin's previous band Machete Justice. Of course he snapped up the new album because he obviously knows what's hot. For a Thursday night and a bar that charges $10 a drink, I thought the turn out wasn’t bad considering. The thirty or so people there including myself had a really great time and I can’t wait until they roll through town again. I’m sure their fame would have spread far and wide by then and they’ll need a bigger venue.

About Logic Defies Logic

Logic Defies Logic was founded in Hamilton, New Zealand, in 2011 by guitarist Ollie Wright, bassist Matt Hewlett, drummer Dom Ryan and keyboardist Ian Watson. With many combined years of performing and producing music under their belts, the band instantly began work composing and developing a powerful and eclectic ensemble.

They began performing around the country to an immediately eager audience. The group's perseverance and vision also saw them earn the opening slot for American progressive and instrumental luminaries Between The Buried And Me and Animals As Leaders.

2013 also saw the release of an instrumental album and the group's unquenchable desire to flourish initiated the decision to move abroad to Melbourne, Australia at the end of the year. The search for the right vocalist to add to the instrumental mix began in mid-2014. Without hesitation the group enlisted the diversely talented ex-Machete Justice vocalist; Tarquin Keys. From the first jam, everyone knew it was on like Kong. The circle now complete, international support slots for Head Like A Hole (NZ) Devilskin (NZ) and Rival Sons (US) quickly followed and the bands new material was enthusiastically received by rabid new audiences.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Logic Defies Logic

Releases

Magic & Science
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Anatomical Design EP
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By jck2

SWIDT - EP Review: The Most Electrifying
15 Aug 2018 // by jck2
Onehunga's own SWIDT have released their 6-song EP The Most Electrifying. SWIDT's style is in the same contemporary direction as American Superstars J Cole and Migos, but with SWIDT’s exceptional talent of translating their big personalities, humour, wit and vibe to their records.
Read More...
Icepro - Single Review: Last Breath
24 Jul 2018 // by jck2
Icepro’s new single Last Breath, featuring Piri Mac, is a tribute to West Coast 90’s Gangster rap with a nod to the hook from the 1997 hit Going Back To Cali by Notorious B.I.
Read More...
Esoligh - Album Review: Brightness Sparks
08 Jul 2018 // by jck2
Brightness Sparks by Esoligh is a 14-track album of conscious boom bap. The album runs for 54 minutes.
Read More...
ABRZY - Single Review: Top Down
01 May 2018 // by jck2
ABRZY is a Wellington based Hip-Hop artist. His style is contemporary Hip Hop/Trap and his new single Top Down is not too dissimilar to Drake.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Glass
12 Feb 2018 // by jck2
Beautiful rendition of Bowie's classic Ashes to Ashes exactly note for note to my ear. Can't believe he played every instrument himself!
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album review: Sick World
13 Nov 2017 // by jck2
Needles Cane is a name that I’ve heard crop up quite a few times on posters and gig invitations on Facebook and amongst friends in the Auckland Goth scene. Although the most I knew about them before I listened to their album Sick World was that they were gothic rock.
Read More...
SWIDT - Album Review: Stoneyhunga
06 Aug 2017 // by jck2
SWIDT, which stands for "See what I did there?", broke onto the music scene with their independently produced single & video No More Parties In Onehunga in early 2016.
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: A Place To Stand
11 Jul 2017 // by jck2
A Place To Stand is the sophomore album by New Zealand's very own urban artist Rei. A Place To Stand is an intricate album both in concept and production.
Read More...
View All Articles By jck2

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem