26 Sep 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lake South - Album Review: If You're Born On An Island The Ocean Heals You

19 Mar 2017 // A review by Corinner
Lake South, former of Urbantramper and VNZMA critics choice finalist of 2014 has launched a solo project classified as "sentimental synth - pop"  which is perhaps bordering on Indie-pop.

As I have a habit of doing, I shall start by mentioning the the album cover, it jumped out at me from Lake Souths Bandcamp page, the vision was nothing short of hypnotic not pretentious, but emanating a raw emotive vibe. I felt it was uncluttered and straight to the point, much like the album its self.

There are eleven tracks made up of well structured and meaningful lyrics, which touch on social issues of the Millennials. There is perhaps a nostalgic feeling to his poetic words. He has weaved a personal tale through his music, taking the listener along side him on his journey.

Throughout this album are some hauntingly beautiful backing vocals from various talented artists (Seamus Maguire, Penelope Esplin, Eddie Crawshaw, Felicity Herbertson and Nadia Reid) their dulcet tones complimenting Lake South's distinctive "Kiwi" sound.

There is a variety of interesting sounds weaving the way through this album, it is indeed enhanced by the digital element of the synthesizer, it creates an almost atmospheric backdrop to the vocals.

When describing himself as an artist, Lake South mentions he is " stumbling with balance", I found this statement honest, creative and rather beautiful, words which are a good reflection of his music.

If you enjoy a bit of synth uniting with memory evoking lyrics, then If You're Born On An Island The Ocean Heals You, is definitely worthy of a listen.

About Lake South

Lake South is the solo project from Lake of Urbantramper. He has released two songs via Bandcamp; Good Keen Man and Can We Still Blame Youth?




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lake South

Releases

Other Reviews By Corinner

Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980ís, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door
12 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970ís NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes ďA tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki
08 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single/Video Review: Like A Game Feat. King Kapisi
06 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Imagine This has once again demonstrated why he is blazing a highly productive music trail by teaming up with one of New Zealandís top Hip-Hop recording artists King Kapisi, to;make his latest single Like A Game. The prolific collaborator hailing from Auckland with a busy International touring presence has proved again that his highly creative and productive work ethic is paying off.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - Album Review: Little Arrows
05 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My hope is that I can do this album justice and give it the respect it deserves. This has been an emotional journey for Reb Fountain.
Read More...
The Brian Hatcher Band - Album Review: Trouble & Worry
01 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Brian Hatcher, Craig Hatcher and Jarrod Hooper make up The Brian Hatcher Band, a three piece from New Plymouth with a rock and blues soul. After an extensive time in the New Zealand music scene, guitarist Brian Hatcher has completed Trouble & Worry, his long awaited first album.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Single Review: Depths (Pt. 1)
23 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
Yumi Zouma are a four piece synth-pop powerhouse from Christchurch. The music they produce is electronica mixed with pop.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • 1-800-273-8255
    Logic feat. Alessia Cara And Khalid
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO
    Taylor Swift
  • FRIENDS
    Justin Bieber And BloodPop
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem