26 Jul 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lake South - Album Review: If You're Born On An Island The Ocean Heals You

19 Mar 2017 // A review by Corinner
Lake South, former of Urbantramper and VNZMA critics choice finalist of 2014 has launched a solo project classified as "sentimental synth - pop"  which is perhaps bordering on Indie-pop.

As I have a habit of doing, I shall start by mentioning the the album cover, it jumped out at me from Lake Souths Bandcamp page, the vision was nothing short of hypnotic not pretentious, but emanating a raw emotive vibe. I felt it was uncluttered and straight to the point, much like the album its self.

There are eleven tracks made up of well structured and meaningful lyrics, which touch on social issues of the Millennials. There is perhaps a nostalgic feeling to his poetic words. He has weaved a personal tale through his music, taking the listener along side him on his journey.

Throughout this album are some hauntingly beautiful backing vocals from various talented artists (Seamus Maguire, Penelope Esplin, Eddie Crawshaw, Felicity Herbertson and Nadia Reid) their dulcet tones complimenting Lake South's distinctive "Kiwi" sound.

There is a variety of interesting sounds weaving the way through this album, it is indeed enhanced by the digital element of the synthesizer, it creates an almost atmospheric backdrop to the vocals.

When describing himself as an artist, Lake South mentions he is " stumbling with balance", I found this statement honest, creative and rather beautiful, words which are a good reflection of his music.

If you enjoy a bit of synth uniting with memory evoking lyrics, then If You're Born On An Island The Ocean Heals You, is definitely worthy of a listen.

About Lake South

Lake South is the solo project from Lake of Urbantramper. He has released two songs via Bandcamp; Good Keen Man and Can We Still Blame Youth?




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lake South

Releases

Other Reviews By Corinner

Paul McLaney - Album Review: Play On
26 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
Where do I begin to review a musical imagining of Shakespeare’s most well-known soliloquies? Paul McLaney has taken 400 year old lyrics and created music around them, eleven undeniably theatrical tracks setting some of Shakespeare’s most famous words to music for the first time.
Read More...
Decades - Album Review: The Truth And Other People
26 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
This is a story “about what happens when a girl rips her world apart then puts it all back together”.  Looking down at the notebook in front of me one word stands out in bright red pen, and that word is brave.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017
23 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
It was a mid winters evening in Tauranga and the scene was set down at Incubator for what promised to be a wonderful evening of music. The rain had cleared and the place had a European cafe vibe about it, with a courtyard outside which had atmosphere for miles and highlighted this intimate venues creative heart.
Read More...
Selon Recliner - EP Review: Stories of Later
20 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
Selon Recliner are a collective of seven musicians based in Auckland, which have been described as “artists and dreamers who have come together to create languid dark-pop”. The group’s latest collaborative wonderland of musical masterpieces are six tracks merging their different styles to create such a beautiful album, that the first track brought tears to my eyes.
Read More...
Eli Moore - Album Review: Ship Life
18 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
Eli Moore's CD Ship Life was the perfect accompaniment to our mid winter travels down to the snowy mountains, although not quite the same, listening to his music was like taking a journey to exotic lands, I actually felt like I was sitting in a piano bar on a cruise ship. This journey also took me back in time sparking memories of some great musicians who were kicking around in the 1970's, Jackson Browne and Steely Dan immediately sprang to mind.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 8/07/2017
09 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
I will begin by saying it was great to get the chance to work along side another member of the muzic.net.
Read More...
Santa Barbara - Single/Video Review: Reptile Lover
08 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
Fizzing is an excellent word to describe the latest offering from Kiwi band Santa Barbara. Reptile Lover is collaboration between the LA based band and poet Jeffrey Holgate who provided the lyrics; it is like fizzy sherbet or delightful popping candy for your ears.
Read More...
EP Review: Theia
07 Jul 2017 // by Corinner
I have had a casual eye on Theia for a wee while; she has been floating around in my music filled memory banks since I heard Roam, so I was rather excited to have an opportunity to review her debut self-titled album. Theia’s music, which is described as glitter-pop sent me straight to Google to find out what the fanciful term “glitter-pop” actually means, it had conjured up images of a sparkly, colourful singing princess, then throw ethereal into the mix and my mind went into overdrive with visions of glittering, floating faeries with angelic voices.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • 2U
    David Guetta feat. Justin Bieber
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • SLOW HANDS
    Niall Horan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem