19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lake South - Album Review: If You're Born On An Island The Ocean Heals You

19 Mar 2017 // A review by Corinner
Lake South, former of Urbantramper and VNZMA critics choice finalist of 2014 has launched a solo project classified as "sentimental synth - pop"  which is perhaps bordering on Indie-pop.

As I have a habit of doing, I shall start by mentioning the the album cover, it jumped out at me from Lake Souths Bandcamp page, the vision was nothing short of hypnotic not pretentious, but emanating a raw emotive vibe. I felt it was uncluttered and straight to the point, much like the album its self.

There are eleven tracks made up of well structured and meaningful lyrics, which touch on social issues of the Millennials. There is perhaps a nostalgic feeling to his poetic words. He has weaved a personal tale through his music, taking the listener along side him on his journey.

Throughout this album are some hauntingly beautiful backing vocals from various talented artists (Seamus Maguire, Penelope Esplin, Eddie Crawshaw, Felicity Herbertson and Nadia Reid) their dulcet tones complimenting Lake South's distinctive "Kiwi" sound.

There is a variety of interesting sounds weaving the way through this album, it is indeed enhanced by the digital element of the synthesizer, it creates an almost atmospheric backdrop to the vocals.

When describing himself as an artist, Lake South mentions he is " stumbling with balance", I found this statement honest, creative and rather beautiful, words which are a good reflection of his music.

If you enjoy a bit of synth uniting with memory evoking lyrics, then If You're Born On An Island The Ocean Heals You, is definitely worthy of a listen.

About Lake South

Lake South is the solo project from Lake of Urbantramper. He has released two songs via Bandcamp; Good Keen Man and Can We Still Blame Youth?




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lake South

Releases

Other Reviews By Corinner

So Below - Single Review: Close
14 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
New Zealand's very own enigmatic songbird, Madeline North AKA So Below has released a new single called Close. An upbeat lively track accompanied by intense poetic lyrics which don’t match.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Willowbank
02 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
I have crossed the path of Yumi Zouma once before when I reviewed their first track on this album which was released as a single back in August. Willowbank is the sophomore album to Yoncalla, their debut originals LP.
Read More...
Great North - Album Review: The Golden Age
27 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
You know you have stumbled onto a good thing, when you come across a band who reckons that their songs were delivered to them by drunken angels and the music video involves blowing loads of beautifully crafted cakes from the Australian Women’s Weekly Cake Book to smithereens.  “Nearly every 90's child in New Zealand would have had a cake from that cookbook or been at a party where one was served.
Read More...
Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness
20 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former.
Read More...
Kimbra - Single Review: Everybody Knows
10 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
When I hear Kimbra, I still hear Somebody That I Used To Know, a song which Gotye made a killing on in 2012 and shot our lovely kiwi Kimbra from Hamilton into the musical stratosphere. I still hear it because I played it over and over again until I drove myself mad or my cats bonkers, one of the two.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980’s, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door
12 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970’s NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes “A tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem