30 May 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: Naught For Nothing

16 Mar 2017 // A review by Channel1

Every now and then a band seems to come out of the blue and you just wonder where they have been hiding and what they have been doing to get so damn good. 

Naught For Nothing formed in 2015 and are based in Northcote. Not knocking Northcote but music like this only tends to come from places where there isn't much to do but lock yourself away and get creative. That's why bands like Radiohead and others whose influence can be heard on this album exist and it is so refreshing to hear an Auckland band creating their own sound and standing out. 

There is some serious creativity going on and the production by Depot Sound has captured the essence of a band who go from heavy attitude to beautiful solitude and everything in between. Opening track Intro is a showcase of what is to follow with the instant hook being Andrew Reid's vocal acrobatics. The song builds and drops creating an intense atmosphere.

Next up is one of three stand out tracks. Pragmatism vs Idealism is like early Radiohead all moody off-kilter melodies exploding into a sonic frenzy then pulling back just enough to keep things really interesting. I get the feeling Naught For Nothing put a lot of time into crafting these songs. 

Temper has a similar feel and some nice drum and guitar work avoids the cliché of verse, chorus, verse chorus even though that results in some of the songs taking a few plays to really connect. This album is a grower and will take most people a while to fully appreciate how good this band are. Every time you listen you will discover something new to like and I think the live performances are going to be quite stunning. 

So let's get back onto my other two stand out tracks Apprehension just simply kicks ass. You have to play this album loud and this track has guitars that would make Matt Bellamy from Muse envious. This would be my choice for a single but hey that's just my opinion.

Inevitability, is just stunning. Acoustic, introspective it just takes you away. The piano and haunting vocals are perfectly mixed. This band has a lot going on but understands when less is more.

Naught for Nothing a new band that came along and blew my mind.

About Naught for Nothing

Naught for Nothing is a four piece Auckland-based band formed late 2015. In a Northcote garage childhood friends Jono (Bass), Fergus (Guitar), Andy (Guitar/Vocals/Keys) and Stephen (Drums) quickly began to find a unique and occasionally challenging Alt rock sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Naught for Nothing

Releases

Naught for Nothing
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Curlys Jewels - EP Review: The Skin We Shed
08 May 2017 // by Channel1
I had heard good things about Curly Jewels from gigs they have played up and done the country and even though I knew nothing about them I had an impression in my mind of a hard hitting heavy rock outfit who put on a great show. So the opening track Internal Cinderella didn't disappoint, it kicks in with a driving riff and the production is great.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ The Kings Arms, Auckland - 29/04/17
01 May 2017 // by Channel1
Tonight was always going to be special. There are few NZ performers with a legacy like Jon Toogood.
Read More...
Play Big - EP Review: Fuck Work
05 Feb 2017 // by Channel1
When I first heard the name Play Big it reminded me of those T-Shirts Wham used to wear in the eighties with CHOOSE LIFE emblazoned on them. That image was blown away by the opening riff on Fuck Work which hit harder than Joseph Parker when he hasn't been eating too many Burger Kings.
Read More...
The Naked And Famous @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 10/01/17
23 Jan 2017 // by Channel1
These radio promo gigs are a strange thing. I have been to a few now and like a good portion of the people tonight, I am not here necessarily as a fan of the band.
Read More...
Will Saunders - EP Review: Nothing Wrong
01 Jan 2017 // by Channel1
I am on a train journey into Auckland today with Will Saunders' (from The Lowest Fidelity) latest collection of songs as co-passenger. Pulling out of Papakura and the first track, Nothing Wrong, has a drum beat to match the rhythm of the train on the track.
Read More...
Fallstate - EP Review: Friends
14 Dec 2016 // by Channel1
I played this new EP from Fallstate once and the sticky bugger got stuck in my brain instantly. I tried to wash it out with copious amounts of alcohol.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cheshire Grimm @ Backbeat, Auckland - 2/12/2016
11 Dec 2016 // by Channel1
There was always going to be a good crowd at this Cheshire Grimm single release party with support from Skinny Hobos, Armed in Advance and She Loves You. The room is already nearly full as She Loves You take the stage.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bleeders @ The Kings Arms, Auckland - 25/11/2016
28 Nov 2016 // by Channel1
There is a buzz around tonight's gig. An energy that I can feel when I walk into the Kings Arms.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • SIGN OF THE TIMES
    Harry Styles
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • SWALLA
    Jason DeRulo feat. Nicki Minaj And Ty Dolla Sign
  • ATTENTION
    Charlie Puth
  • THERE'S NOTHING HOLDIN' ME BACK
    Shawn Mendes
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem