26 Jul 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: Naught For Nothing

16 Mar 2017 // A review by Channel1

Every now and then a band seems to come out of the blue and you just wonder where they have been hiding and what they have been doing to get so damn good. 

Naught For Nothing formed in 2015 and are based in Northcote. Not knocking Northcote but music like this only tends to come from places where there isn't much to do but lock yourself away and get creative. That's why bands like Radiohead and others whose influence can be heard on this album exist and it is so refreshing to hear an Auckland band creating their own sound and standing out. 

There is some serious creativity going on and the production by Depot Sound has captured the essence of a band who go from heavy attitude to beautiful solitude and everything in between. Opening track Intro is a showcase of what is to follow with the instant hook being Andrew Reid's vocal acrobatics. The song builds and drops creating an intense atmosphere.

Next up is one of three stand out tracks. Pragmatism vs Idealism is like early Radiohead all moody off-kilter melodies exploding into a sonic frenzy then pulling back just enough to keep things really interesting. I get the feeling Naught For Nothing put a lot of time into crafting these songs. 

Temper has a similar feel and some nice drum and guitar work avoids the cliché of verse, chorus, verse chorus even though that results in some of the songs taking a few plays to really connect. This album is a grower and will take most people a while to fully appreciate how good this band are. Every time you listen you will discover something new to like and I think the live performances are going to be quite stunning. 

So let's get back onto my other two stand out tracks Apprehension just simply kicks ass. You have to play this album loud and this track has guitars that would make Matt Bellamy from Muse envious. This would be my choice for a single but hey that's just my opinion.

Inevitability, is just stunning. Acoustic, introspective it just takes you away. The piano and haunting vocals are perfectly mixed. This band has a lot going on but understands when less is more.

Naught for Nothing a new band that came along and blew my mind.

About Naught for Nothing

Naught for Nothing is a four piece Auckland-based band formed late 2015. In a Northcote garage childhood friends Jono (Bass), Fergus (Guitar), Andy (Guitar/Vocals/Keys) and Stephen (Drums) quickly began to find a unique and occasionally challenging Alt rock sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Naught for Nothing

Releases

Naught for Nothing
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Gig Review: Queens Of The Stone Age @ Logan Campbell, Auckland - 13/07/17
15 Jul 2017 // by Channel1
It's somewhere back in the late Nineties and I am in Rock City, Nottingham UK. There is a band on in the small bar downstairs I hadn't heard of them but they had a cool name and the singer just had something going on.
Read More...
Animal Party - EP Review: Drifting
01 Jul 2017 // by Channel1
Good music takes you somewhere else. It makes your mind wander, changes your mood, makes you feel something.
Read More...
Gig Review: Curlys Jewels @ Backbeat, Auckland - 24/06/17
29 Jun 2017 // by Channel1
First off I just want to say Backbeat is a great venue, just the right size and always a decent sound. I arrived to catch the last three songs from openers Average Mars Experience as I didn't know they were on the bill.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - Single/Video Review: Suburban Living
24 Jun 2017 // by Channel1
I have never had much time for religion. You know, if you believe in God then by the same logic you might believe in Santa Clause or Fairies.
Read More...
Album Review: Ebola Babies
30 May 2017 // by Channel1
I was really looking forward to this album. I love punk and with a name like EbolaBabies, it was pretty clear that this set of songs should be right up my street.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - EP Review: The Skin We Shed
08 May 2017 // by Channel1
I had heard good things about Curly Jewels from gigs they have played up and done the country and even though I knew nothing about them I had an impression in my mind of a hard hitting heavy rock outfit who put on a great show. So the opening track Internal Cinderella didn't disappoint, it kicks in with a driving riff and the production is great.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ The Kings Arms, Auckland - 29/04/17
01 May 2017 // by Channel1
Tonight was always going to be special. There are few NZ performers with a legacy like Jon Toogood.
Read More...
Play Big - EP Review: Fuck Work
05 Feb 2017 // by Channel1
When I first heard the name Play Big it reminded me of those T-Shirts Wham used to wear in the eighties with CHOOSE LIFE emblazoned on them. That image was blown away by the opening riff on Fuck Work which hit harder than Joseph Parker when he hasn't been eating too many Burger Kings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • 2U
    David Guetta feat. Justin Bieber
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • SLOW HANDS
    Niall Horan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem