19 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hiboux - Album Review: Command the Earth to Swallow Me Up

12 Mar 2017 // A review by butch181
With a similar style to such acts as Explosions in the Sky, Mono, and Jakob, Hiboux (pronounced ee-boo) are an instrumental post-rock group hailing from Wellington. Command the Earth to Swallow Me Up is an alluring release, with layers of instruments that provide a greater flexibility to adapt a track without disruption of the flow. This six track album is nothing if it isn't adventurous; no chance of being radio friendly with an average track length of 8.5 minutes, to which I have to respect Hiboux for putting the music above the ability to promote it.

Opening track, East of Seddon, meanders at a slow, undulating rate, driven by guitars, but not at a volume that comes across as overbearing. Everything rises together as one, and demonstrates a remarkable comprehension of timing and cohesion between the various musicians. The track is rather repetitive, but flows enough to not actually noticeable unless you are specifically looking for it, though after the six minute mark, we do get a mix of discordance and atonality thrown in to remind you that the track is progressing.

Standing Waves, is a lower energy track. While the guitar riffs are often at a greater pace that East of Seddon, the overall flow feels more sluggish. It fits in well with the use of heavy distortion later in the track, which again never comes across as being heavy-handed. A balanced group, that coordinates and has a great balance and compatibility. This track has a resembling nu-metal sound to the tracks 1975 and Ilah (Silent War), from NZ nu-metal group Blindspott.

Each track is distinctly different from the previous, but they fit together giving a real sense of journey. When you close your eyes you can imagine countless scenarios that this soundtrack would fit with, and that is the beauty of instrumental work; without lyrics, the listener is free to choose the emotion and meaning that fits them individually. A similar sound to fellow Wellingtonians Into Orbit, but with more band members and instruments, Hiboux has greater plasticity when it comes to crafting their music and performing, and it shows in this release. 

Command the Earth to Swallow Me Up is a brilliantly tranquil piece, and a new preference for my instrumental playlist.

About Hiboux

Formed in 2013, Hiboux is an instrumental rock band from Wellington.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hiboux

Releases

Night Flights
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By butch181

Gig Review: Boycrush @ Whammy Bar Backroom, Auckland 07/07/2018
18 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Every time I go to the Backroom at St Kevin's Arcade I feel like Iím wandering around the stairs of Hogwarts; the layout seems to change each time, or a different entrance is used, sometimes there is a bar, sometimes there isnít. In this case, the entire stage area had been transformed into something Iíve never seen from the Backroom of Whammy before.
Read More...
Callum Gentleman - Single/Video Review: Cigarettes
10 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Uncomplicated, Cigarettes is the first release from Callum Gentleman since his move to the US. Having stripped the instrumental side down to the bare rudimentary elements.
Read More...
Pacific Heights - Single Review: The Greystone
10 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Starting with a piano riff that repeats for the first 30 seconds of the song, it has a high note that acts as the metronome and keeps the rhythm flowing until the shift. That high note is a sign of quality in its sound; the way in which it recedes and but still builds as the note is continually struck, gives The Greystone authenticity.
Read More...
Fanfickk - Single Review: Cotton Candy
10 Jul 2018 // by butch181
What would one expect from a song called Cotton Candy? Cotton candy brings that hit of nostalgia and pleasant memories of theme parks, carnivals, and other exciting activities.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Blue Nurse
10 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Undercutís latest release Blue Nurse is a grungy little number, that has an early 2000ís vibe; encapsulating the energy of albums of the era, such as Hoobastankís 2004 The Reason, Taking Back Sundayís 2006 Louder Now, while maintaining that kiwi sound (that track brings back fond memories of when Goodshirtís Green was released). A simple track, that maintains a good pace during the verses and is reminiscent of Sommersetís Streets Donít Close, with hints of the punchy power chords of Villainyís Ammunition throughout the outro.
Read More...
Like A Storm - Album Review: Catacombs
05 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Catacombs is an album that has been a long time in the making. Delayed by extra tours and re-recording, Like A Storm fans have been waiting in anticipation since the 2015 release, Awaken The Fire.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Miltones w/ Reb Fountain @ Pt Chevalier Memorial RSA, Auckland 22/06/2018
28 Jun 2018 // by butch181
The Pt Chevalier Memorial RSA isnít a venue that I have been in before, and after entering the venue, the merch stand had me convinced I was at the right place, but the lack of a stage or any instruments had me reasonably confused. Luckily, noticing some music playing behind a large curtain I discovered the larger half of the venue.
Read More...
Phat Krunk - EP Review: Whatever You Say
25 Jun 2018 // by butch181
Phat Krunk sounds like the name of an artist that you would expect something more in line with the electronic genres. Instead, Phat Krunk are an alt-rock four-piece hailing from Wellington.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • BOO'D UP (REMIX)
    Ella Mai, Nicki Minaj And Quavo
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem