26 Apr 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julie Lamb - Album Review: Ordinary Days

14 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinner

Ordinary Days - launch date 11 March 2017.

Julie Lamb (Band) is a 11 piece funky - blues rock band "with a 70's vibe", from Wellington.

From the get go, when I received the email introducing Julie and band I was enchanted, anyone that starts an email with "A swish and flash of unicorn dust" has my attention.

Bleeding Numbers, the first track on the album was released 18 Jan 2017. It has a laid back cruisy vibe with a tendency to stick in your head (my partner described it as "catchy" and I caught him humming the track more than once).

The studio recording of Bleeding Numbers gave me a sense that this is a close group of musicians, that love what they do, and are having fun doing it, but in the same breathe I will say that this is a professionally constructed album, engineered with skill.

Ordinary Days is a slick, smooth collection of beautifully composed lyrics, Julie has a wonderfully melodic voice, which is enhanced by her backing vocalists and band.

I found the whole album enjoyable, the lyrics and composition captivated me.  This is honest and upbeat and Julie's pride and love of music shines through in every song.

The standout track for me, if I were to choose just one, would be number ten on the album, Jean Pierre (The Chocolatier), I don't know why but it made me want to lick a big bar of chocolate, and that made me smile.

Ordinary Days has a nice chilled Kiwi vibe, refreshing and fun. This is highly recommended listening.

About Julie Lamb

“Vintage sound with a futuristic feel” - Julie Lamb is a consummate storyteller that sings to your heart and has words with your mind while the music has its way with your body

Julie Lamb is all class, more sass and hysterical "funnerisms" wrapped in one feisty package. Hailing from Wellington NZ, by day she is the Principal of Julie Lamb and Associates but by night she is the lead singer/songwriter for The Julie Lamb band. Having dabbled in various musical styles and bands for "mumble" years (acts include Joplin covers band "Channelling Janis" and "10dd", an accapella 12 piece troupe that sings 10cc numbers), performing has always been her outlet for expression, a way to connect with others on the same wavelength. But it is the original material that brings this driven diva to life.

"Every song carries a unique edge that sets it apart from the standard rock fodder lurking on every corner" Martyn Pepperell, Fishhead magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julie Lamb

Releases

Ordinary Days
Year: 2017
Type: Album
When We Hang Out
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Trippin' The Light
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Most and Least
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan
09 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan. The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.
Read More...
EP Review: Lunavela
03 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
Lunavela is the current musical project of Steve Mathieson, formerly of Auckland indie outfit Collapsing Cities. The 5 track self-titled EP is described by Lunavela as Shoegaze House, which is a genre I have never heard of before.
Read More...
Album Review: Local Musicians Music Vol 4. Compilation Review
30 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
This is a grassroots original music journey that has been growing from strength to strength while gaining notoriety along the way. Starting in a small music office in the back-roads of Thames in 2014, Shirley Howe (aka LA Thompson) came up with a “little idea”.
Read More...
Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
Read More...
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
Read More...
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Read More...
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • FRIENDS
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
  • CALL OUT MY NAME
    The Weeknd
  • THE MIDDLE
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem