26 Sep 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julie Lamb - Album Review: Ordinary Days

14 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinner

Ordinary Days - launch date 11 March 2017.

Julie Lamb (Band) is a 11 piece funky - blues rock band "with a 70's vibe", from Wellington.

From the get go, when I received the email introducing Julie and band I was enchanted, anyone that starts an email with "A swish and flash of unicorn dust" has my attention.

Bleeding Numbers, the first track on the album was released 18 Jan 2017. It has a laid back cruisy vibe with a tendency to stick in your head (my partner described it as "catchy" and I caught him humming the track more than once).

The studio recording of Bleeding Numbers gave me a sense that this is a close group of musicians, that love what they do, and are having fun doing it, but in the same breathe I will say that this is a professionally constructed album, engineered with skill.

Ordinary Days is a slick, smooth collection of beautifully composed lyrics, Julie has a wonderfully melodic voice, which is enhanced by her backing vocalists and band.

I found the whole album enjoyable, the lyrics and composition captivated me.  This is honest and upbeat and Julie's pride and love of music shines through in every song.

The standout track for me, if I were to choose just one, would be number ten on the album, Jean Pierre (The Chocolatier), I don't know why but it made me want to lick a big bar of chocolate, and that made me smile.

Ordinary Days has a nice chilled Kiwi vibe, refreshing and fun. This is highly recommended listening.

About Julie Lamb

“Vintage sound with a futuristic feel” - Julie Lamb is a consummate storyteller that sings to your heart and has words with your mind while the music has its way with your body

Julie Lamb is all class, more sass and hysterical "funnerisms" wrapped in one feisty package. Hailing from Wellington NZ, by day she is the Principal of Julie Lamb and Associates but by night she is the lead singer/songwriter for The Julie Lamb band. Having dabbled in various musical styles and bands for "mumble" years (acts include Joplin covers band "Channelling Janis" and "10dd", an accapella 12 piece troupe that sings 10cc numbers), performing has always been her outlet for expression, a way to connect with others on the same wavelength. But it is the original material that brings this driven diva to life.

"Every song carries a unique edge that sets it apart from the standard rock fodder lurking on every corner" Martyn Pepperell, Fishhead magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julie Lamb

Releases

Ordinary Days
Year: 2017
Type: Album
When We Hang Out
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Trippin' The Light
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Most and Least
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980’s, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door
12 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970’s NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes “A tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki
08 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single/Video Review: Like A Game Feat. King Kapisi
06 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Imagine This has once again demonstrated why he is blazing a highly productive music trail by teaming up with one of New Zealand’s top Hip-Hop recording artists King Kapisi, to;make his latest single Like A Game. The prolific collaborator hailing from Auckland with a busy International touring presence has proved again that his highly creative and productive work ethic is paying off.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - Album Review: Little Arrows
05 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My hope is that I can do this album justice and give it the respect it deserves. This has been an emotional journey for Reb Fountain.
Read More...
The Brian Hatcher Band - Album Review: Trouble & Worry
01 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Brian Hatcher, Craig Hatcher and Jarrod Hooper make up The Brian Hatcher Band, a three piece from New Plymouth with a rock and blues soul. After an extensive time in the New Zealand music scene, guitarist Brian Hatcher has completed Trouble & Worry, his long awaited first album.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Single Review: Depths (Pt. 1)
23 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
Yumi Zouma are a four piece synth-pop powerhouse from Christchurch. The music they produce is electronica mixed with pop.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • 1-800-273-8255
    Logic feat. Alessia Cara And Khalid
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO
    Taylor Swift
  • FRIENDS
    Justin Bieber And BloodPop
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem