28 May 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julie Lamb - Album Review: Ordinary Days

14 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinner

Ordinary Days - launch date 11 March 2017.

Julie Lamb (Band) is a 11 piece funky - blues rock band "with a 70's vibe", from Wellington.

From the get go, when I received the email introducing Julie and band I was enchanted, anyone that starts an email with "A swish and flash of unicorn dust" has my attention.

Bleeding Numbers, the first track on the album was released 18 Jan 2017. It has a laid back cruisy vibe with a tendency to stick in your head (my partner described it as "catchy" and I caught him humming the track more than once).

The studio recording of Bleeding Numbers gave me a sense that this is a close group of musicians, that love what they do, and are having fun doing it, but in the same breathe I will say that this is a professionally constructed album, engineered with skill.

Ordinary Days is a slick, smooth collection of beautifully composed lyrics, Julie has a wonderfully melodic voice, which is enhanced by her backing vocalists and band.

I found the whole album enjoyable, the lyrics and composition captivated me.  This is honest and upbeat and Julie's pride and love of music shines through in every song.

The standout track for me, if I were to choose just one, would be number ten on the album, Jean Pierre (The Chocolatier), I don't know why but it made me want to lick a big bar of chocolate, and that made me smile.

Ordinary Days has a nice chilled Kiwi vibe, refreshing and fun. This is highly recommended listening.

About Julie Lamb

“Vintage sound with a futuristic feel” - Julie Lamb is a consummate storyteller that sings to your heart and has words with your mind while the music has its way with your body

Julie Lamb is all class, more sass and hysterical "funnerisms" wrapped in one feisty package. Hailing from Wellington NZ, by day she is the Principal of Julie Lamb and Associates but by night she is the lead singer/songwriter for The Julie Lamb band. Having dabbled in various musical styles and bands for "mumble" years (acts include Joplin covers band "Channelling Janis" and "10dd", an accapella 12 piece troupe that sings 10cc numbers), performing has always been her outlet for expression, a way to connect with others on the same wavelength. But it is the original material that brings this driven diva to life.

"Every song carries a unique edge that sets it apart from the standard rock fodder lurking on every corner" Martyn Pepperell, Fishhead magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julie Lamb

Releases

Ordinary Days
Year: 2017
Type: Album
When We Hang Out
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Trippin' The Light
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Most and Least
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017
20 May 2017 // by Corinner
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Reflections
15 May 2017 // by Corinner
So by now a whole bunch of you probably know who Coridan are, or at least heard a few of their songs but for those of you wondering who the heck I am going on about, they are a tight alternative - progressive rock band from Auckland. I was pretty excited to get the chance to review their latest single, Reflections.
Read More...
Primacy - Single Review: Dissent
11 May 2017 // by Corinner
"Introducing Dissent, the stunning new single by New Zealand heavy rock act Primacy".These are the opening words of the press release to describe Primacy's, a popular band from West Auckland, up and coming new single release.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Gig Review. HLAH @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui 4/05/2017
05 May 2017 // by Corinner
Head Like A Hole was a new experience for me, I knew they had been around for a few years and had a solid fan base, I also knew that there was a high possibility of stage diving and being flicked in the face by flying hair, as I was also the photographer for the evening I was aware I didn't want to be shoved over holding my camera.   First thing I quickly realised talking to people was just how passionate HLAH fans really are, They have people going to every concert they are doing on this 25th anniversary release of the album 13.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Single Review: Smash The Grips
22 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
I had no idea what to expect with this song, I knew it was Hip-Hop from a band in Wellington. Boy was I wrong, it was so much more than that, it had depth and layers galore.
Read More...
Dave Dobbyn - Album Review: Slice Of Heaven - 40 Years Of Hits
13 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
How does one begin to review an album which has been the soundtrack of our youth? The backdrop to collective memories of a nation?
Read More...
Bryony Matthews - Album Review: Little Queen
10 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
Christchurch based singer songwriter Bryony Mathews is on the brink of releasing Little Queen, a folk-pop album comprising of nine tracks with a largely upbeat tempo, coinciding with thoughtful compassionate lyrics. The CD contains a booklet and the art is sweet and uncomplicated, capturing the title of her debut album perfectly.
Read More...
Madam Tsunami - Album Review: Long Way From Home
06 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
I have a wee soft spot for Celtic music, so I was excited to get an opportunity to review Long Way From Home by Madam Tsunami. This album did not disappoint.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
  • SIGN OF THE TIMES
    Harry Styles
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • SWALLA
    Jason DeRulo feat. Nicki Minaj And Ty Dolla Sign
  • OPTIONS
    Pitbull feat. Stephen Marley
  • THAT'S WHAT I LIKE
    Bruno Mars
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem