19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate

14 Feb 2017 // A review by tonymcdonald

I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.

Bastard Fate is a very commercial pop/rock single which (apart from the name) should be played on every music station in NZ. It is catchy and powerful and produced to the highest standard to capture the energy of the song.

The whole band sounds tight and polished. One slight criticism is that it sounds too good and maybe too polished. I am sure this would be an absolute winner when played live, and hopefully a little more raw!! 

Janelle, Aaron, Corey and Andy are obviously all talented musicians and I'm looking forward to their album.

Check out the Curlys Jewels Facebook page here.

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are an original rock band hailing from Wellington, New Zealand.

Their latest EP dropped in May 2017, The Skin We Shed, which hit #11 on the Official NZ Top 40 NZ Album Charts in itís first week of release. The first single Bastard Fate, debuted #1 on the NZ iTunes rock charts and peaked at #4 on The Official NZ Top 40 NZ heat seeker singles chart. Bastard Fate and the other single off the record Terror in Disguise, are both receiving regular rotation on Bayrock FM radio station and a number of independent radio stations across the country.

Curlys Jewels, heavily influenced by the 90ís grunge scene, have been relentlessly playing shows developing into a slick a professional outfit. They have played on a number of rock festivals and performed alongside some of NZís best established bands such as Head Like a Hole, Villainy, Skinny Hobos, Armed in Advance and Bakers Eddy.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By tonymcdonald

Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by tonymcdonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by tonymcdonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing
28 Aug 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80ís retro PowerPop single really stand out. I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer.
Read More...
Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit
26 Jun 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome.
Read More...
Scared Of Girls - EP Review: Suck
10 May 2017 // by tonymcdonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Pitch Black - Album Review: Filtered Senses
12 Sep 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Pitch Black, the duo from Christchurch are back after nine long years with a brand new dub album, Filtered Senses. Itís dark and mysterious with a laid back lounge club feel.
Read More...
Prizegiving - Album Review: No Harm Done
05 Jul 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Donít think about buying the cassette from Bandcamp because it's sold out. Is that a good thing?
Read More...
View All Articles By tonymcdonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem