30 May 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate

14 Feb 2017 // A review by tonymcdonald

I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.

Bastard Fate is a very commercial pop/rock single which (apart from the name) should be played on every music station in NZ. It is catchy and powerful and produced to the highest standard to capture the energy of the song.

The whole band sounds tight and polished. One slight criticism is that it sounds too good and maybe too polished. I am sure this would be an absolute winner when played live, and hopefully a little more raw!! 

Janelle, Aaron, Corey and Andy are obviously all talented musicians and I'm looking forward to their album.

Check out the Curlys Jewels Facebook page here.

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are an original rock band hailing from Wellington, New Zealand.

Armed with an engaging female rock vocalist, Janelle Pollock, Curlys Jewels are committed to unleashing their trademark blend of high energy rock. Aaron Ludlow (guitar), Andy Van Der Heyden (Bass) and Corey Bell (Drums) lay the crushing foundation for the melodic vocal attack.

Their sound has been described as: “…hard hitting, modern rock, deserving of a crowded main stage, and not just a back street bar...” –muzic.net.nz

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By tonymcdonald

Scared Of Girls - EP Review: Suck
10 May 2017 // by tonymcdonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Pitch Black - Album Review: Filtered Senses
12 Sep 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Pitch Black, the duo from Christchurch are back after nine long years with a brand new dub album, Filtered Senses. It’s dark and mysterious with a laid back lounge club feel.
Read More...
Prizegiving - Album Review: No Harm Done
05 Jul 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Don’t think about buying the cassette from Bandcamp because it's sold out. Is that a good thing?
Read More...
Broken Season - EP Review: Wake Up The Fallen
28 Feb 2016 // by tonymcdonald
The intro features a speech from the film 'The Great Dictator' starring Charlie Chaplin. An interesting speech about war which is a classic, very clever and leads on nicely to Bullets (Fuck The System), the second song which is more like what I was expecting from Broken Season.
Read More...
Brave New Void - Album Review: BNV
08 Sep 2015 // by tonymcdonald
I had the pleasure of watching Brave New Void (BNV) live at bar Bodega in Wellington last year supporting Pop Will Eat Itself (P.W.
Read More...
Shepherds Of Cassini - Album Review: Helios Forsaken
02 Aug 2015 // by tonymcdonald
Helios Forsaken is a 5-and-a-quarter-song album from Auckland's Shepherds of Cassini, and it's going to hit you hard. Mirrors Have No Memory is a 45 second song, hence the quarter.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brooke Fraser @ Wellington Opera House - 26/06/2015
27 Jun 2015 // by tonymcdonald
There was certainly something in the water at the Wellington opera house on a cold winters tonight. Could Brooke Fraser warm up the packed crowd?
Read More...
Armed In Advance - Single Review: Shallow
20 May 2015 // by tonymcdonald
The cover for Armed In Advance's (previously known as Stitches) single Shallow is so professionally crafted and polished, I was quite honestly dreading listening to the single in fear that it wouldn't live up to the gloss.  I'm extremely happy to report that it is pretty god damn brilliant, and I am now a fan of this Auckland trio.
Read More...
View All Articles By tonymcdonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • SIGN OF THE TIMES
    Harry Styles
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • SWALLA
    Jason DeRulo feat. Nicki Minaj And Ty Dolla Sign
  • ATTENTION
    Charlie Puth
  • THERE'S NOTHING HOLDIN' ME BACK
    Shawn Mendes
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem