30 May 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

EP Review: Godzilla Takes New York

08 Feb 2017 // A review by butch181


Many a famous star has said that Rock and Metal are dead, but releases like this are capable of reigniting that flame of passion. Godzilla Takes New York is an Auckland metalcore quintet, which despite having the common band arrangement (rhythm, lead, bass, drums, and vocals), their sound has a refreshing zeal.

Godzilla Takes New York has an intense amalgamation of drudging rhythm with refined clean lead riffs; a style that is mirrored in the vocals. The lead guitar incorporates styles reminiscent of bands such as Breaking Benjamin, Trivium and Slipknot, combined with vocals creating a comparable sound to Bullet for my Valentine’s 2008 Scream Aim Fire album; although this EP come across heavier, more substantial, and with a far superior lyrical quality. The six-track release has a number of influences, with hints of such ensembles as Sevendust, 8 Foot Sativa, and Fall Out Boy (in the case of the final track at least).

The group have chosen a unique direction for their music, drawing inspiration in lyrical content from pop-culture references. There was a pang of nostalgia and recognition when looking at the titles, though the meaning behind them are easily searchable on the internet for those that can’t place them. The opening track, titled “Empire”, sets the tone well with a gentle acoustic rendition of one of the well-known musical pieces from arguably the most successful film series of all time. Seamlessly transitioning from soft ballad to arena anthem, Godzilla Takes New York use a combination of heavy guttural growls and clean vocals, to create harmonies and discord as necessary. Each song has a progression, with the tracks maintaining a fast tempo held together by the double-kick, with abundant diversity in phrases to keep your interest over numerous listens. These tracks provide a simple beat that everyone can enjoy; metal that you don’t need a knowledge of maths to be able to mosh to.

As is expected of metalcore, the EP has rather basic time signatures, with frequent, measured, powerful breakdowns that stir the body at its natural rhythm.  “A Death in the Family” is the track that has my full appreciation with a nod to Gotham’s “Dark Knight” and his nemesis, recognising the characters through a great contrast between the dark & brooding, and the almost maniacal clean vocal styles.

A solid release from such a young group, and I wait with bated breath for new material.

About Godzilla Takes New York

Godzilla Takes New York formed at the end of 2016 by a group of pop-culture loving pop-punk musicians looking to reconnect with the metal they grew up with. They incorporate elements of early 2000's metalcore, deathcore and groove metal, with lyrics revolving around iconic movies and their pop-culture offshoots.

Their self-titled debut EP will be released on February 4th, 2017.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Godzilla Takes New York

Releases

Godzilla Takes New York
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By butch181

Tablefox - EP Review: Glass Houses
19 May 2017 // by butch181
The Glass Houses EP starts out with an instrumental introduction. A three minute long track that begins with keys and a quiet, gentle and fragile guitar riff, but is then joined by a second louder, more abrupt guitar.
Read More...
Gig Review: Clap Clap Riot @ REC, Auckland, 05/05/2017
14 May 2017 // by butch181
It has been many years since I have heard from Clap Clap Riot. Probably a consequence of listening solely to The Rock FM when it comes to the radio, but with a new release, it seemed like I was overdue checking them out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Head Like A Hole @ Galatos, Auckland 04/05/2017
14 May 2017 // by butch181
Heading in to the venue, it was to be my first gig at Auckland's Galatos venue. Situated not too far away from the now-sold Kings Arms Tavern, and the currently for sale Wine Cellar and Whammy Bar, Galatos is in a prime position.
Read More...
Gig Review: Thomas Oliver @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland 05/05/2017
07 May 2017 // by butch181
On a lovely brisk Friday evening I find myself sitting outside of the Tuning Fork, adjacent to the recently renamed Spark Arena in Auckland. The skies dark but clear, as I wait by the gas heaters for the opening artist to take to the stage.
Read More...
Lucifer Gunne - EP Review: The Red King
04 May 2017 // by butch181
An interesting short EP. Of the five tracks included, only three are of real substance, enclosed by the suitably named Intro and Outro.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton 29/04/2017
01 May 2017 // by butch181
Being an EP Release Party, I put in some extra effort and made my way down from Auckland to attend this Hamilton gig. Traffic was light, so the drive was pleasant - perhaps due to the lateness at which I was travelling.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alcest @ Whammy Bar, Auckland 24/04/2017
25 Apr 2017 // by butch181
Alcest is a very recent discovery for me. Hailing all the way from Bagnols-sur-Cèzein France, I discovered their Australia/New Zealand tour by chance.
Read More...
Gig Review: Garden Party Riot @ The Dogs Bollix, Auckland 20/04/2017
24 Apr 2017 // by butch181
This trio took to the stage at Auckland’s Dogs Bollix, and they seemed a rather unassuming group. Apart from the vocalist, Paul Goddard, who dressed with a spiffy jacket and waistcoat in a look not dissimilar to Oasis and Beady Eye vocalist Liam Gallagher, the other members are dressed very casual in t-shirts and short sleeves.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • SIGN OF THE TIMES
    Harry Styles
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • SWALLA
    Jason DeRulo feat. Nicki Minaj And Ty Dolla Sign
  • ATTENTION
    Charlie Puth
  • THERE'S NOTHING HOLDIN' ME BACK
    Shawn Mendes
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem