26 Jun 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Into Orbit - Album Review: Unearthing

07 Feb 2017 // A review by butch181

The first thing that I noticed when I was made aware of this release was the artwork. A superb piece, that offers a sensation of isolation, desolation, and repossession, with a natural splendour. An eye-catching illustration that is indicative of the quality of work we have come to expect from this Wellington group, Into Orbit. Into Orbit are a post-rock double act, that seek to create immersive musical extravagances, without the need for vocals. Their earlier release Caverns set a very high standard, with an array of musical expeditions that flowed simultaneously with mellifluous emotion and a sterile barrenness.

On my first listen through of this latest statement, Unearthing, I was overcome by the effortless opulence of it. The tones unlocked a calmness and tranquillity, which brought about an sense of inner peace. However, as I go through multiple play-throughs, differences start to become apparent.

Unearthing has a heavier, grungier feel, compared to its predecessor. Distortion levels are at an all-time high, cloaking the overall musical direction of each track. Where Caverns felt like a roaming, undulant voyage, Unearthing began to feel disoriented, adrift, and off course. The simplicity of the compositional structure works in its favour allowing layers to be added and removed as needed, but as time went on, the absence of vocals became flagrantly evident, and the songs begin to feel deficient. The looping effect in use is very similar in style of another kiwi duo, Cairo Knife Fight, adding layers of rhythm, before a melodic lead, though the overall sound is more comparable to the likes of Mono or Explosions in the Sky. The clean melodies are well structured, and are a welcome breath of fresh air amongst the mess of distortion applied to every track. 

The title track, Unearthing, has the greatest appeal, with delicate finger-work giving an aura of innocence and fragility. The progression throughout the song is slow, but consistent, until the inevitable introduction of the distortion. Gilgamesh comes in a close second, with a vastly different sound to the rest of the album, showcasing the variety in drummer Ian Moir's repertoire, and a much more balanced use of Paul Stewart's heavy guitar effects, with a cascading djent.

Taken as a whole, Unearthing has a simplicity that allows it to transcend the boundaries of genre; an experience that can be enjoyed by many. The more prominent weighty distortion, however, feels a little too heavy handed, in my opinion, and makes the sound just that little more generic (enough so to give the impression that it would benefit from the addition of lyrics and vocals). The album is still a monumental success for the duo, and I congratulate them for that, but it falls just short of the benchmark set by Caverns.

About Into Orbit

Into Orbit is a Wellington duo of guitar and drums whose immersive, genre-defying sound contains aspects of experimental rock, polished prog, ambience & drone.

In August 2014 Into Orbit released their full-length debut album Caverns.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Into Orbit

Releases

Unearthing
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Caverns
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By butch181

Album Review: Infinity
15 Jun 2017 // by butch181
Infinity has an angelic calmness to their music. The debut album garners close to an hours worth of material, split into nine tracks, three of which (Infinity, Caris' Land, and Reconnaissance 404) are split further into distinct parts.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ The Brownzy, Auckland 27/05/2017
09 Jun 2017 // by butch181
Heading into the Browns Bays Brownzy Sports Bar, the anticipation in the air was substantial. The venue was full, the bar was jammed; the only area that didnít look over capacity was the outdoor smoking area.
Read More...
Gig Review: No Sky @ The Wine Cellar, Auckland 24/05/2017
30 May 2017 // by butch181
On a Wednesday evening I was invited along to an EP release at St Kevinís Arcade, in the Wine Cellar; one of Aucklandís Karangahape road music venues. The release was an intimate affair, with the audience composed of the musicians, family and friends, and myself.
Read More...
Tablefox - EP Review: Glass Houses
19 May 2017 // by butch181
The Glass Houses EP starts out with an instrumental introduction. A three minute long track that begins with keys and a quiet, gentle and fragile guitar riff, but is then joined by a second louder, more abrupt guitar.
Read More...
Gig Review: Clap Clap Riot @ REC, Auckland, 05/05/2017
14 May 2017 // by butch181
It has been many years since I have heard from Clap Clap Riot. Probably a consequence of listening solely to The Rock FM when it comes to the radio, but with a new release, it seemed like I was overdue checking them out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Head Like A Hole @ Galatos, Auckland 04/05/2017
14 May 2017 // by butch181
Heading in to the venue, it was to be my first gig at Auckland's Galatos venue. Situated not too far away from the now-sold Kings Arms Tavern, and the currently for sale Wine Cellar and Whammy Bar, Galatos is in a prime position.
Read More...
Gig Review: Thomas Oliver @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland 05/05/2017
07 May 2017 // by butch181
On a lovely brisk Friday evening I find myself sitting outside of the Tuning Fork, adjacent to the recently renamed Spark Arena in Auckland. The skies dark but clear, as I wait by the gas heaters for the opening artist to take to the stage.
Read More...
Lucifer Gunne - EP Review: The Red King
04 May 2017 // by butch181
An interesting short EP. Of the five tracks included, only three are of real substance, enclosed by the suitably named Intro and Outro.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • 2U
    David Guetta feat. Justin Bieber
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • ATTENTION
    Charlie Puth
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem