21 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Into Orbit - Album Review: Unearthing

07 Feb 2017 // A review by butch181

The first thing that I noticed when I was made aware of this release was the artwork. A superb piece, that offers a sensation of isolation, desolation, and repossession, with a natural splendour. An eye-catching illustration that is indicative of the quality of work we have come to expect from this Wellington group, Into Orbit. Into Orbit are a post-rock double act, that seek to create immersive musical extravagances, without the need for vocals. Their earlier release Caverns set a very high standard, with an array of musical expeditions that flowed simultaneously with mellifluous emotion and a sterile barrenness.

On my first listen through of this latest statement, Unearthing, I was overcome by the effortless opulence of it. The tones unlocked a calmness and tranquillity, which brought about an sense of inner peace. However, as I go through multiple play-throughs, differences start to become apparent.

Unearthing has a heavier, grungier feel, compared to its predecessor. Distortion levels are at an all-time high, cloaking the overall musical direction of each track. Where Caverns felt like a roaming, undulant voyage, Unearthing began to feel disoriented, adrift, and off course. The simplicity of the compositional structure works in its favour allowing layers to be added and removed as needed, but as time went on, the absence of vocals became flagrantly evident, and the songs begin to feel deficient. The looping effect in use is very similar in style of another kiwi duo, Cairo Knife Fight, adding layers of rhythm, before a melodic lead, though the overall sound is more comparable to the likes of Mono or Explosions in the Sky. The clean melodies are well structured, and are a welcome breath of fresh air amongst the mess of distortion applied to every track. 

The title track, Unearthing, has the greatest appeal, with delicate finger-work giving an aura of innocence and fragility. The progression throughout the song is slow, but consistent, until the inevitable introduction of the distortion. Gilgamesh comes in a close second, with a vastly different sound to the rest of the album, showcasing the variety in drummer Ian Moir's repertoire, and a much more balanced use of Paul Stewart's heavy guitar effects, with a cascading djent.

Taken as a whole, Unearthing has a simplicity that allows it to transcend the boundaries of genre; an experience that can be enjoyed by many. The more prominent weighty distortion, however, feels a little too heavy handed, in my opinion, and makes the sound just that little more generic (enough so to give the impression that it would benefit from the addition of lyrics and vocals). The album is still a monumental success for the duo, and I congratulate them for that, but it falls just short of the benchmark set by Caverns.

About Into Orbit

Into Orbit is a Wellington duo of guitar and drums whose immersive, genre-defying sound contains aspects of experimental rock, polished prog, ambience & drone.

In August 2014 Into Orbit released their full-length debut album Caverns.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Into Orbit

Releases

Unearthing
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Caverns
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By butch181

Gig Review: Metaract with Remote and Descendants of Dinosaurs @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland 15/06/2018
19 Jun 2018 // by butch181
The night began without any introduction. Jumping straight into a funky number, the four-piece that is Descendants of Dinosaurs put together some interesting sounds for their debut show at the Ding Dong Lounge.
Read More...
Julian Temple Band - Album Review: Antarctica
12 Jun 2018 // by butch181
Frequently described as an alternative rock group, hailing from Dunedin, the Julian Temple Band like to blur the lines between genres; incorporating blues, jazz, surf rock, as well as indie pop into their music. The group have evolved over the years, over five studio albums since their formation in 2004, with Antarctica making it six studio albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Neck of the Woods, Auckland 08/06/2018
09 Jun 2018 // by butch181
One of the big questions in the music scene in the last few months has been, who will pick up the slack now that the Kings Arms Tavern has shut down. Galatos, Ding Dong Lounge, Tuning Fork, and Whammy have been doing their bit, but when it comes to rock gigs, one of the venues that have been overlooked in the past is Neck of the Woods.
Read More...
Kendall Elise - Gig Review: This Way North @ The Wine Cellar, Auckland 07/06/2018
08 Jun 2018 // by butch181
Due to a reviewer unfortunately having to pull out of attending this show, I was asked to attend Some Feminist Club Nights #6. As opposed to the original reviewer that was lined up for the show, I have mixed heritage, but am still what would largely be referred to as a white cis male.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - EP Review: Psycho-Sensitive
01 Jun 2018 // by butch181
As is categorical of a punk album, the Psycho-Sensitive EP by Holloway Holiday is made up of shorter tracks, with 6 songs racking up less than 20 minutes total runtime. Being more of a pop-punk hybrid, the tracks certainly aren't as short as many 40 second punk songs that I have heard, but definitely shorter than the average 4-5-minute rock track.
Read More...
Model Train Wreck - EP Review: I Want That Back
01 Jun 2018 // by butch181
A long time in the pipe works is Model Train Wreck's new EP I Want That Back. Starting with an odd chord progression and the discord provides an uplifting vibe while still causing a chill to run down the spine.
Read More...
Gig Review: Seether w/ Skinny Hobos @ Great Hall, Auckland 31/05/2018
01 Jun 2018 // by butch181
Auckland Town Hall had a jovial atmosphere, with a quick and easy process to get into the venue, short lines to the bar, and no lines to the toilet. A well set up venue, but the main reason that everything worked so well was obvious when you enter the Great Hall.
Read More...
Gig Review: Thomas Oliver @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 25/05/2018
28 May 2018 // by butch181
Last seeing Thomas Oliver at the Tuning Fork, the Powerstation seemed like such a drastic upgrade in venue, when you consider that it has triple the capacity. Yet when I arrived just before the doors opened, less than 20 people were lined up waiting.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem