27 Apr 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Into Orbit - Album Review: Unearthing

07 Feb 2017 // A review by butch181

The first thing that I noticed when I was made aware of this release was the artwork. A superb piece, that offers a sensation of isolation, desolation, and repossession, with a natural splendour. An eye-catching illustration that is indicative of the quality of work we have come to expect from this Wellington group, Into Orbit. Into Orbit are a post-rock double act, that seek to create immersive musical extravagances, without the need for vocals. Their earlier release Caverns set a very high standard, with an array of musical expeditions that flowed simultaneously with mellifluous emotion and a sterile barrenness.

On my first listen through of this latest statement, Unearthing, I was overcome by the effortless opulence of it. The tones unlocked a calmness and tranquillity, which brought about an sense of inner peace. However, as I go through multiple play-throughs, differences start to become apparent.

Unearthing has a heavier, grungier feel, compared to its predecessor. Distortion levels are at an all-time high, cloaking the overall musical direction of each track. Where Caverns felt like a roaming, undulant voyage, Unearthing began to feel disoriented, adrift, and off course. The simplicity of the compositional structure works in its favour allowing layers to be added and removed as needed, but as time went on, the absence of vocals became flagrantly evident, and the songs begin to feel deficient. The looping effect in use is very similar in style of another kiwi duo, Cairo Knife Fight, adding layers of rhythm, before a melodic lead, though the overall sound is more comparable to the likes of Mono or Explosions in the Sky. The clean melodies are well structured, and are a welcome breath of fresh air amongst the mess of distortion applied to every track. 

The title track, Unearthing, has the greatest appeal, with delicate finger-work giving an aura of innocence and fragility. The progression throughout the song is slow, but consistent, until the inevitable introduction of the distortion. Gilgamesh comes in a close second, with a vastly different sound to the rest of the album, showcasing the variety in drummer Ian Moir's repertoire, and a much more balanced use of Paul Stewart's heavy guitar effects, with a cascading djent.

Taken as a whole, Unearthing has a simplicity that allows it to transcend the boundaries of genre; an experience that can be enjoyed by many. The more prominent weighty distortion, however, feels a little too heavy handed, in my opinion, and makes the sound just that little more generic (enough so to give the impression that it would benefit from the addition of lyrics and vocals). The album is still a monumental success for the duo, and I congratulate them for that, but it falls just short of the benchmark set by Caverns.

About Into Orbit

Into Orbit is a Wellington duo of guitar and drums whose immersive, genre-defying sound contains aspects of experimental rock, polished prog, ambience & drone.

In August 2014 Into Orbit released their full-length debut album Caverns.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Into Orbit

Releases

Unearthing
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Caverns
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By butch181

False Heights - EP Review: No? Who...?
24 Apr 2018 // by butch181
Starting the EP off, In My Memory, begins with some light piano chords and delicate vocals from April Nisbet. With an incredible short vocal hook of a “chorus”, and layers of harmonies and additional backing vocals, the audial performance is so captivating that the gradual addition of instrumentation is almost not noticed until the end of the track.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Killers @ Spark Arena, Auckland 20/04/2018
21 Apr 2018 // by butch181
The night started early, with Alex Cameron, an Australian musician who is friends with Brandon Flowers, having assisted in The Killers latest release, co-writing five tracks. An interesting act, they imbibe an electronic 80’s element to their music, with a David Bowie/Sting vibe to Cameron’s vocal style.
Read More...
Gig Review: Simple Plan with Ekko Park @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 19/04/2018
20 Apr 2018 // by butch181
An hour to go before doors open and there is already a group of fans lining up outside of the Powerstation. An impressive feat but considering that it has been 13 years since Simple Plan last performed in the country, one would expect the big fans to be ready to get their spots at the front of the stage.
Read More...
Jaggers x Lines - Single Reviews: Come to Rest & Problem Drinking
15 Apr 2018 // by butch181
Two tracks from Jaggers x Lines turned up in my email for review today, and while self-described as an eclectic approach to pop, that is an understatement. With a combination of jazzercize audio, piano accents and horned instruments, Problem Drinking is an audibly invigorating mix in an otherwise stale genre.
Read More...
Looking For Alaska - Single Review: Calling Out
15 Apr 2018 // by butch181
Calling Out has the pacing of a hit dance track, but the style is very much ballad-esque. Soft, thick vocals from Amy Maynard, she almost struggles with the pace to start, trying to hang onto those sultry notes while guitarist Aaron Gott keeps pushing the track onwards.
Read More...
Gig Review: I Am Giant @ Galatos, Auckland 14/04/2018
15 Apr 2018 // by butch181
I have been following I Am Giant from the start; since the release of their debut single City Limits, their first New Zealand shows back in 2010, before their three studio albums. I knew it was going to be an emotional night, as it was their final Auckland show before their hiatus, but I underestimated the extent of it all.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mastodon & Gojira @ Trusts Arena, Auckland 31/03/18
01 Apr 2018 // by butch181
Storm the Gates has definitely been following the “Go Big or Go Home” philosophy and is yet to put on a show without issues, but as far as this Easter Show is concerned, at least they weren’t the reason for the problem and tried to keep the fans as updated as possible. The problem instead came down to an issue with the freighting of Gojira and Mastodon’s gear, which was looking like it would lead to the cancellation of the show.
Read More...
Single Review: Harry Parsons - Real
30 Mar 2018 // by butch181
Starting with a deep reverberating piano, Harry Parsons starts his singing in the lower ranges of his vocal range “Let it all go, let it all out, crying on my shoulder, I’ll be looking over all of your fear, all of your doubt…”, immediately sets the tone of the song, as something contemplative and human. None of the trash that mainstream music has been throwing at us, charged with lyrics about money and “b*tches and hoes”.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • FRIENDS
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
  • CALL OUT MY NAME
    The Weeknd
  • THE MIDDLE
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem