25 Mar 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Into Orbit - Album Review: Unearthing

07 Feb 2017 // A review by butch181

The first thing that I noticed when I was made aware of this release was the artwork. A superb piece, that offers a sensation of isolation, desolation, and repossession, with a natural splendour. An eye-catching illustration that is indicative of the quality of work we have come to expect from this Wellington group, Into Orbit. Into Orbit are a post-rock double act, that seek to create immersive musical extravagances, without the need for vocals. Their earlier release Caverns set a very high standard, with an array of musical expeditions that flowed simultaneously with mellifluous emotion and a sterile barrenness.

On my first listen through of this latest statement, Unearthing, I was overcome by the effortless opulence of it. The tones unlocked a calmness and tranquillity, which brought about an sense of inner peace. However, as I go through multiple play-throughs, differences start to become apparent.

Unearthing has a heavier, grungier feel, compared to its predecessor. Distortion levels are at an all-time high, cloaking the overall musical direction of each track. Where Caverns felt like a roaming, undulant voyage, Unearthing began to feel disoriented, adrift, and off course. The simplicity of the compositional structure works in its favour allowing layers to be added and removed as needed, but as time went on, the absence of vocals became flagrantly evident, and the songs begin to feel deficient. The looping effect in use is very similar in style of another kiwi duo, Cairo Knife Fight, adding layers of rhythm, before a melodic lead, though the overall sound is more comparable to the likes of Mono or Explosions in the Sky. The clean melodies are well structured, and are a welcome breath of fresh air amongst the mess of distortion applied to every track. 

The title track, Unearthing, has the greatest appeal, with delicate finger-work giving an aura of innocence and fragility. The progression throughout the song is slow, but consistent, until the inevitable introduction of the distortion. Gilgamesh comes in a close second, with a vastly different sound to the rest of the album, showcasing the variety in drummer Ian Moir's repertoire, and a much more balanced use of Paul Stewart's heavy guitar effects, with a cascading djent.

Taken as a whole, Unearthing has a simplicity that allows it to transcend the boundaries of genre; an experience that can be enjoyed by many. The more prominent weighty distortion, however, feels a little too heavy handed, in my opinion, and makes the sound just that little more generic (enough so to give the impression that it would benefit from the addition of lyrics and vocals). The album is still a monumental success for the duo, and I congratulate them for that, but it falls just short of the benchmark set by Caverns.

About Into Orbit

Into Orbit is a Wellington duo of guitar and drums whose immersive, genre-defying sound contains aspects of experimental rock, polished prog, ambience & drone.

In August 2014 Into Orbit released their full-length debut album Caverns.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Into Orbit

Releases

Unearthing
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Caverns
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By butch181

Ginzu and the Steak Knives - EP Review: Crow Hand
16 Mar 2017 // by butch181
One of the shortest extended play (EP) releases I have had to review so far. The five tracks add up to just under nine minutes of what is undoubtedly a punk length release.
Read More...
Hiboux - Album Review: Command the Earth to Swallow Me Up
12 Mar 2017 // by butch181
With a similar style to such acts as Explosions in the Sky, Mono, and Jakob, Hiboux (pronounced ee-boo) are an instrumental post-rock group hailing from Wellington. Command the Earth to Swallow Me Up is an alluring release, with layers of instruments that provide a greater flexibility to adapt a track without disruption of the flow.
Read More...
Gig Review: I Am Giant @ King Arms Tavern, Auckland - 09/03/2017
10 Mar 2017 // by butch181
With the sale of the Kings Arms, many acts have started carrying out what could potentially be considered their contribution to the venueís swansong. Having performed at the Jim Beam Homegrown last weekend, I Am Giant lined up a follow up show at Aucklandís King Arms Tavern, for what may be their last chance to grace the stage that has been a staple of the Kiwi music scene for over the years.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - EP Review: Rain or Shine
10 Mar 2017 // by butch181
Cheshire Grimm provide quite an eclectic mix of sounds in their Rain or Shine EP release. Their opening track, Slave to the Grind starts with a grungy bassy riff, which swiftly switches to some jazzy saxophone with some clean distorted guitars.
Read More...
Brendon Thomas and The Vibes - EP Review: Wrap You In The Sun
09 Mar 2017 // by butch181
Itís always fun to keep an ear out for contestants of broadcasted talent shows, such as The Voice, or New Zealand Idol, as itís interesting to see whether the shows are able to properly provide the exposure needed to make a career of music, or whether the artists have their 15 minutes of fame and fade into obscurity Brendon Thomas and the Vibes, a three piece hailing from Auckland, made a name for themselves by securing the third position in X Factor New Zealand in 2015, and the only band in X Factor history to make to the grand finale. Fast-forward two years later and they are preparing for the release of their EP, Wrap You In The Sun.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jim Beam Homegrown @ TSB Arena, Wellington - 04/03/2017
07 Mar 2017 // by butch181
For the tenth year, Homegrown has graced the Wellington waterfront providing punters with a glut of musical acts from around the country. This year, 45 Kiwi groups graced the six various stages performing to another sold out crowd on what turned out to be a beautiful day, both musically and weather-wise.
Read More...
Decades - Single Review: I Was With Him
14 Feb 2017 // by butch181
I Was With Him is the definition of New Zealand music. It has the highly melodic (but more importantly) deep notes that perfectly illustrate the New Zealand accent we are famous for, and a simple musical structure that transcends genres from pop to rock, but focuses on vocals and lyrical content over musical technicality.
Read More...
EP Review: Godzilla Takes New York
08 Feb 2017 // by butch181
Many a famous star has said that Rock and Metal are dead, but releases like this are capable of reigniting that flame of passion. Godzilla Takes New York is an Auckland metalcore quintet, which despite having the common band arrangement (rhythm, lead, bass, drums, and vocals), their sound has a refreshing zeal.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • GREEN LIGHT
    Lorde
  • CASTLE ON THE HILL
    Ed Sheeran
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I LIKE
    Bruno Mars
  • DIVE
    Ed Sheeran
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • LIABILITY
    Lorde
  • IT AIN'T ME
    Kygo And Selena Gomez
  • SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS
    The Chainsmokers And Coldplay
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem