17 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Drax Project @ Rec Bar, Auckland - 17/12/16

13 Jan 2017 // A review by jck2

Wellington's Drax Project came to the Rec Bar in the heart of Auckland City for a one off show. I was invited to review the gig. Arriving an hour after the advertised 9pm start I thought Id arrive to see the opening bands play before we got down to business but unfortunately I was way too early and the show wouldn't start for at least another couple of hours. Eventually after much waiting the odd punter obviously in their early 20s began to trickle in until eventually becoming an impressive crowd of 20 something millennials.

So what was all the fuss about? Drax Project had obviously made a name for themselves and had quite a following in Auckland. 

I could tell by the heavy duty equipment on stage and the dedicated sound guy that this was going to be quality and when they eventually did play, the first thing that stood out was Shaan Singh's impressive vocal ability. His voice is soulful and honed. If you closed your eyes you would scarcely believe this voice was coming from this skinny kid behind the keyboard.

Id heard they were a Pop/Hip-Hop covers band but they had plenty of originals and to me they had more of a Shapeshifter New Zealand Drum n Bass/Dub vibe to them.

I really appreciated how they bought elements of electronic music into their live set with Drum n Bass low rumbling bass lines and drummer Matt Beachen triggering more electronic drum sounds from his modified live kit.

The energy of these guys was amazing they really know how to set it off and the crowd were equally enthusiastic. Band and crowd feeding of each others energy. The band jelled really well together with bassist Sam Thompson and guitarist Ben OLeary multi-tasking between their instruments while holding it down for the backing vocals. Although when it comes to multi-tasking, singer Shaan Singh takes the cake with his keyboard ability and his energetic saxophone playing really puts the icing on this already rich chocolaty musical cake.

Drax Project really had the crowd eating out of the palm of their hand and they sounded great. I felt like I must have been living under a rock because all these young hip punters knew who they were and I really had never heard of them before.

Well it turns out theyd started as buskers on the streets of Wellington. Just a duo to start with. Drums and sax. This is where Drax Project got their name from half drums and half sax = Drax.

They then continued on to play festivals over the summer of 2014/15 and started working on their second EP with producer Devin Abrams. One of the founding members of Shapeshifter.

They also have several singles with music videos under their belt.

These guys really have come leaps and bounds in a very short time and Im sure now that Ive been introduced to their existence I will be hearing a lot more about them in the future.

So watch out for Drax Project or be left behind.

About Drax Project

Drax Project is a four piece Hip Hop/Party Smashing band who began as group of buskers on the streets of Wellington in 2012. They started as a two piece with Shaan Singh on saxophone and Matt Beachen on drums, but soon expanded to include Joe Simmonds on bass. When Joe moved to Australia in 2013, his spot was filled by Sam Thomson. Ben O'Leary joined in 2014 on guitar.

The group first gained public attention with their cover of Thriftshop by Macklemoore, which was recorded and posted to YouTube by a passerby, while they busked during the Wellington Sevens. Whilst they still like to take it the streets from time to time, Drax Project's musicianship and sense of humour have won over the gatekeepers of the Wellington club and bar scene, resulting in them playing such venues as Mighty Mighty, Good Luck, The Hunter Lounge, Bodega, San Francisco Bathhouse and Puppies, along with regular bookings for fashion show after parties and private functions.

2014 has started big for Drax Project with headlining two packed out shows during Orientation week, opening for David Dallas and The Daylight Robbery, being announced on the lineup for Rhythm and Alps and playing to a sold out crowd at their EP Release show.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Drax Project

Releases

T/W/OO
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Drax Project EP
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By jck2

SWIDT - EP Review: The Most Electrifying
15 Aug 2018 // by jck2
Onehunga's own SWIDT have released their 6-song EP The Most Electrifying. SWIDT's style is in the same contemporary direction as American Superstars J Cole and Migos, but with SWIDTs exceptional talent of translating their big personalities, humour, wit and vibe to their records.
Read More...
Icepro - Single Review: Last Breath
24 Jul 2018 // by jck2
Icepros new single Last Breath, featuring Piri Mac, is a tribute to West Coast 90s Gangster rap with a nod to the hook from the 1997 hit Going Back To Cali by Notorious B.I.
Read More...
Esoligh - Album Review: Brightness Sparks
08 Jul 2018 // by jck2
Brightness Sparks by Esoligh is a 14-track album of conscious boom bap. The album runs for 54 minutes.
Read More...
ABRZY - Single Review: Top Down
01 May 2018 // by jck2
ABRZY is a Wellington based Hip-Hop artist. His style is contemporary Hip Hop/Trap and his new single Top Down is not too dissimilar to Drake.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Glass
12 Feb 2018 // by jck2
Beautiful rendition of Bowie's classic Ashes to Ashes exactly note for note to my ear. Can't believe he played every instrument himself!
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album review: Sick World
13 Nov 2017 // by jck2
Needles Cane is a name that Ive heard crop up quite a few times on posters and gig invitations on Facebook and amongst friends in the Auckland Goth scene. Although the most I knew about them before I listened to their album Sick World was that they were gothic rock.
Read More...
SWIDT - Album Review: Stoneyhunga
06 Aug 2017 // by jck2
SWIDT, which stands for "See what I did there?", broke onto the music scene with their independently produced single & video No More Parties In Onehunga in early 2016.
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: A Place To Stand
11 Jul 2017 // by jck2
A Place To Stand is the sophomore album by New Zealand's very own urban artist Rei. A Place To Stand is an intricate album both in concept and production.
Read More...
View All Articles By jck2

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem