12 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Devilskin, Halestorm & City of Souls @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 7/01/2017

Gig Review: Devilskin, Halestorm & City of Souls @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 7/01/2017

11 Jan 2017 // A review by Sass_Metal

What an EPIC gig to kick start my 2017 year of gig attendance! Being on the first weekend of January I didnít expect a very big turn out as Auckland is a ghost town normally at this time of year, but I was proven wrong with over 1000 Rockers in attendance at the Devilskin, Halestorm and City of Souls Gig at the Logan Campbell Centre in Auckland on the 7th January. It was a show of many firsts for me Ė the venue and first time seeing Halestorm and City of Souls, I most definitely wasnít disappointed with amazing lightshows for all the bands, high energy sets and plenty of distortion.

The first band to take the stage was Auckland band City of Souls, which is a band name I have heard a lot of over the last year or two, and a band that I HAD to check out live. After knowing Steve, Trajan and Corey from their work in other notable bands Ė In Dread Response and 8 Foot Sativa (to name a few), I knew that it would be a good show. I wasnít disappointed! Often bands with atmospheric backing music on recordings loose the ambience in a live setting, but this didnít happen with this new powerhouse 6-piece.

Initially, during their cover of Love Will Tear Us Apart I thought the crowd were maybe saving their energy for the later bands, but after their original White Ghost, I was proven very wrong indeed and the crowd came to life with a lot more energy. This could have also been because Trajan (who is known for his on stage antics) walked off the stage right up to the barrier for a guitar solo above the crowd, which the crowd LOVED and from there on out the crowd was full of the energy I had been expecting.

City of Soulsí perfect blend of harmonies, doom rifts, solos, double kicks and atmospheric guitar tones got this metal head hooked m/ If you havenít seen them live yet then you are definitely missing out!  You can get their music online from iTunes and you can check out their music and videos on Facebook and YouTube. 

Next up was Halestorm from Red Lion, Pennsylvania. I have to admit I wasnít very familiar with their music other than checking out some of their videos on YouTube before the show. The first thing that struck me with Halestorm was when Lizzy opened her mouth and started singingÖ. I immediately got a shiver down my spine and goosebumps all over my arms. Lizzy has one of the most amazing, soulful, beautiful and powerful voices Iíve ever had the pleasure of hearing live. The recordings and videos on YouTube most definitely do not do her vocal range justice.   

Hailstormís set was high energy and judging from the crowd response they played a lot of crowd favourites as everyone was singing along, which instantly made me regret my lack of knowledge of the songs. When Lizzy stopped the band to address the crowd instead of doing the usual welcome talking to the crowd she instead sang the welcome and REALLY got the crowd going and got them singing back to her. This was followed by the drum solo. This was the best drum solo I have seen since Tommy Clufetos from Black Sabbath, which was my favourite international gig of 2016. 

Finally the headliners of the evening Ė Devilskin took the stage. I hadnít seen them for two years, since they played at a Music in Parks event in Auckland and before that in 2011 at the Beyond the Black New Yearís festival in Wellington.  Iíve always been a huge Devilskin supporter, I say supporter, because until Saturday I wasnít a fan, I respected them but sat on the fence comfortably acknowledging their success so far and being proud of my old friend Paul, but I am now proudly part of the Devilskin Army and I have a new hoodie and singlet top to prove it.

I first saw Devilskin at The Rising Sun Bar on Kírd in 2010 then again in 2011 at Black Salt Bar in New Lynn. If I had been asked to do a review of those early shows I would have mentioned how high energy and promising the shows were but would have had to mention how sometimes Jennie struggled to maintain the power behind the growls or long notes (not anymore!!). It has been amazing watching Devilskin go from where so many bands have been, playing small pubs to 20 people, too 6 years later playing to 1000 screaming fans who know the words to the songs and chant along to them. 

As soon as the first note sounded when Devilskin took the stage the energy in the room was ecstatic and brimming with excitement. They started with crowd favourite Start A Revolution and instantly the crowd threw themselves into the show, singing along at the top of their lungs Ė mirroring the high energy that Devilskin put into their show Ė out of all the bands Devilskin used the entire stage jumping off the drum riser and Paul and Nail regularly swapping sides with each other. Devilskin definitely had the best sound of the night which is something that really bugs me about some of the larger gigs where the headliners get a better mix of sound that the support bands. In this case on Saturday the bass and kick drums were definitely muddy with the first two bands (especially the kick drums during the solos Ė muffled and muddy) which is my only critique of the event.

Highlights of Devilkinís set for me was Elvis Presley Circle Pit which they dedicated to City of Souls Ė it was the first time I had seen it performed live and it is one of the songs Iíve always liked while The Rock was pumping Little Pills and Start A Revolution I was wishing they would play EPCP. I even got in trouble starting one of my radio shows with the song because of the early time frame and swearing Ė no regrets!

The most personally touching and significant song for me was Never See The Light which was written for Shoki Ė the bassist for NZ Metal Legends Cripple Mr Onion (made all the more poignant for me after seeing Cripple Mr Onion at 3 out of their 5 last ever NZ Shows last year) and was also dedicated to Richard ĎDreadsí Pearce, who passed away last year and is greatly missed by the NZ Metal Community. I felt so many different emotions Ė I wanted to cry and but also felt ecstatically happy to be surrounded by people all singing along and moshing and head banging (sorry for the people around me when I pushed up to the front of the crowd for the song). Shoki your heart is indeed still with us and you will continue to always live on in those who you touched with your music. 

The other notable song from Devilskin was just after Never See The Light and it was Fade these songs are both off their 2014 release We Rise. Fade suits Jennyís vocal style perfectly and was another song that gave me chills and goosebumps. The rest of the set was mostly from their new release Be Like The River, which I am not that familiar with but will most definitely be purchasing sooner than later. 

From here my notes from the night read ĎI wish I could feel like this all the time and head banging and epicness from here on outí m/ m/ and it most definitely was a night of head banging and epicness.

For me it doesnít always matter of the genre of music it is the bass and drum beat which attracts me to an artist. Tonight had 3 of the best live Rock bands Iíve ever had the pleasure of seeing. Members of City of Souls and Devilskin have been a strong part of my music journey working with bands in NZ and Iím so incredibly proud of how far they have come. To all the people who donít like Devilskin and havenít seen themÖ. Do yourself a favour and get out to one of their gigs Ė you will not be disappointed, and even pleasantly surprised Ė like me you might even find yourself a fan. As I write this review itís Monday afternoon, two days after the show and my body feels like Iíve been in a Death Metal mosh pit Ė be prepared for the carnage (I wasnít).

My only regret from Saturday night?  Is that the show had to end.

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Sass_Metal

His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times Iíve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutaliteeís Birthday Bash and of course all the times Iíve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you havenít seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and Iím pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tribal State @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 28/07/2017
29 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
It was a cold, wet night, my nose was running and I couldnít stop sneezing and coughing. I wasnít feeling up to going out on such a miserable night but Iím more than happy that I did.
Read More...
Bloodnut - Album Review: St. Ranga
27 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Iíve heard a lot of albums in my time but thereís not many that draws you in from the first note and despite itís unusual name Space Orangutan it is one of the best opening tracks for an album Iíve heard in a very long time. The levels in this mix capture the live, raw sound of Bloodnut perfectly which is also very rare in NZ Metal recordings (the amount of times Iíve had my music on shuffle and had to turn it up for NZ Metal bands then to have my speakers almost explode when an International band comes on drives me crazy every time!
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades with Bakers Eddy, Dead Favours & Skinny Hobos @ Galatos, Auckland - 15/07/2017
17 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This was a well anticipated show for many of the punters there, talking to them between bands around the venue and outside. Despite being moved into the smaller basement room below Galatos instead of being in the ballroom it was the perfect size and created the right atmosphere for the bands and audience to be closer together and almost as one.
Read More...
Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Make it Go Away
03 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Iíve known Ryan Kershaw for a long time and have always been a fan of all the music he writes with all the various bands and solo projects he has released music with. His new single Make It Go Away is no exception.
Read More...
Anti Matter - Gig Review: Riot Grrrl 3 @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 30/06/17
01 Jul 2017 // by Sass_Metal
Right from when event promoter Courtney took to the stage to introduce the first act and exclaimed excitedly that while it was the 3rd Riot Grrrl event it would be the first all female line up, I knew we would be in for a treat. All through the night and into this morning Iíve been trying to rack my brains trying to think of another music show Iíve been too that had only female musicians play and I honestly donít think in the 9 or so years of me running, attending, reviewing and working on music events that I can recall ever being at a show with only female performers.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sass_Metal

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem