21 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17

10 Jan 2017 // A review by mciver29

Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project..... ok so what about those of us that enjoy their music with a bit more edge? A little bit louder? A little bit more “in your face” attitude?

One problem the metal and rock community in Taupo face is the lack of available venues, they go from far too small to far too big or they only want covers bands. That was a bit of a sad discovery but I think that it can change with the right approach as clearly their is an audience for rock and metal in Taupo.

Being an international billing it felt good finally have a reason for some pre show drinks with friends, there's a special feeling when you are getting ready to go out to metal/hard rock show that doesn't come with say.... going to see UB40. The experience is a little more unpredictable, slightly chaotic and no doubt there is more alcohol, but who wants to play it safe ALL the time anyway?

Apologetically I missed the City of Souls set, though my partner was photographing the show and told me they were tight, everyone was on point and the performance was high energy and professional, so I'll stick with that.

Halestorm have been getting a lot of hype lately though I was genuinely confused at first listen because for some reason I thought she was a guitar virtuoso but yeah, either way the crowd was really into it, Lizzy was a really energetic front woman and she didn't miss a note even though she had just cancelled a show due to throat problems.
A random memory stands out... I was standing in line at the bar while the drum solo was happening then I turned around to see the drummer using bizarre 4 foot drum sticks, I wondered if someone had slipped some acid into my drink, it was such an out of it thing to turn around and see!

After Halestorm's polished pop/rock set I was ready for some slightly heavier guitars and as anyone would know that has been to a Devilskin show, they always give a strong performance.

Being the last of a string of NZ shows before a short Australian tour I would have thought perhaps Jennie's voice might be strained but she was on point, the sound was massive over all and everyone in the band seemed to be genuinely having a great time which in turn pushed the audience.

The band smashed through an impressive set including the singles Fade, Little Pills, Mountains and their latest, Pray.
There really isn't much I can say that hasn't already been said so when I say they were tight I mean it in every sense of the word, the amount of shows they have played has really paid off!

I loved seeing the locals coming out and supporting NZ bands that are taking their music to the world. The professionalism in the shows production is a definite selling point, big cheers to the promoters for bringing heavier bands to Taupo!

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On
05 Sep 2016 // by mciver29
Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2
02 Mar 2016 // by mciver29
The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.
Read More...
EP Review: Simon Hirst - Shining in Silver
08 Dec 2015 // by mciver29
New from Hamilton-based singer/songwriter Simon Hirst is the 4 track EP titled Shining In Silver. At first glance you could be forgiven for expecting a very Ed Sheeran type release by the look of his Facebook page, showing that he uses loopers when performing solo and shows a similar look to Sheeran.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
Seasons - Album Review: Patriarch
13 May 2015 // by mciver29
The first thing I noticed when I graced my eyes upon Patriarch, by Auckland progressive metal band Seasons, is the cover... and as much as they say “don't judge a book by its cover” I judged it right, I love the artwork and the music meets the mark.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem