21 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

EP Review: Ignite the Helix

21 Dec 2016 // A review by terry666

This 4 track EP opens with the track Blur The Line which in my mind to an extent describes the song perfectly in that it cannot really be genre cast. Grunting growly grinding goodness. Not that this is grind metal or anything like that but there is so many styles incorporated.

When it comes down to it the EP is a solid piece of Heavy Metal. Thereís no clean singing here, itís all harsh and raging in a slab of molten metal. Maybe itís the cold from down in Dunedin making them play metal to warm up, for this is music that will warm you up.

The opening track Blur The Line sets the tone giving you 20 seconds to settle in and get comfortable before kicking it into second gear. Throwing Scissors is another swirling chunky track. Murderface was the first track I listened to off the EP and is the one I liked the most and showcases the bands diversity. Swirling keyboards and guitar make this track kick along. The final track I Am Oblivion wraps it up and ends it on a strong note. Hopefully this EP leads into an album for this band as I would expect that their next effort will be just as good.

Thereís plenty of noodling guitar parts, lots of harsh vocals and plenty of atmospherics to create an interesting listen. Kiwi metal bands have really stepped up the production and quality in recent years and this is a great example of that. Bands like 8 Foot Sativa, Dawn Of Azazel, In Dread Response, Tainted and many more have led the way in giving younger bands a template and benchmark to rise too. Check this band out as they could very well become your newest favourite band.

About Ignite The Helix

In mid 2010 Ignite The Helix was born. Originally under name Existent, the band was literally the fusion of the remaining members. This line up brought together Craig Didham - Vocals, Mike Mitchell - Guitar/Vox, Scott Herriot - Guitar, Brendon Mchattie - Bass, and Hamish Gavin - Drums. This line up, which renamed to Ignite The Helix shortly after they began gigging, began to tear up Dunedin gigs with their huge and powerful sound.

Then in mid 2011 the band recruited in Ellen Wilcox on Keys/Samples to help add another layer to the bands sonic dimension. Ignite The Helix continued with this line up till early 2012 which brought the sad departure of drummer Hamish Gavin, who was off to pursue other adventures up country.

It took till mid 2012 to find the perfect fit of drummer to fill the gaping hole in the line up. Sam Holdom took over the drumming duties and settled in to the Ignite the Helix groove perfectly.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ignite The Helix

Releases

Ignite The Helix
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the worldís greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say itís not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation
13 Jun 2017 // by terry666
$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty.
Read More...
Album Review: Daniel Ashcroft
10 May 2017 // by terry666
6 EPs of varying style combined as a double album. Daniel Ashcroft is a very talented man and this is not his first release but it is as a solo artist where he truly shines.
Read More...
Gig Review: Gorguts and Marduk @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/03/17
20 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Ben from Valhalla has been busy in Wellington for the last few years fulfilling metal heads dreams with the high calibre of acts he has preforming at his venue. I have seen quite a few of my heroes perform there and tonight was another such night.
Read More...
Seas of Conflict - EP Review: Vestige
09 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Vestige is the second EP from Hamilton based Metal band Seas of Conflict. These guys are not new to the scene, having been around since 2011, and have been consistently releasing material independently while still in high school through till now.
Read More...
Album Review: Pills For Breakfast
17 Apr 2016 // by terry666
Pills For Breakfast have been around since 2012 and this is their first full album. The band consists of two core members Neil Johns and Chris Thorpe but also enlist other musicians to appear throughout as guest musicians.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem