18 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tori Reed - Album Review: Long Nights, Flightless Birds & Coming Home

24 Jan 2015 // A review by Ria Loveder

I was asked to review Tori Reed's album Long Nights, Flightless Birds & Coming Home with knowing nothing about the artist or her music. I am so glad I was given the opportunity to sit down and listen to what I consider to be a very talented and experimental artist with a great work of music. From Reedís album I have chosen to talk about my three favourites songs.

Deep Fried Gadgets is the first track on the album. The title in itself is not your usual header for a song and when I first listened to it I was quite puzzled. I think anyone would be if the opening lyrics went like this; ĎWe can deep fry anything, I saw it on TV, Put a laptop in a deep fryer, And serve it with ice creamí. However, after listening to the song a couple more times I found out the song is about finding yourself and being confident in who you are. Forget about all the superficial things that technology has taught us and love you for who you are. A fantastic message if you ask me. This song is beautifully constructed with up tempo parts including trumpets to soft and light, show casing Reedís control over her voice.

Second is Injuries. For anyone who has experienced a broken heart, this song will speak volumes. She nails everything about a broken relationship in six minutes and forty eight seconds. The story in the song is about a women in denial of missing her love. Stunning lyrics with a beautiful instrumental.

Lastly, is I Had A Ghost. A song that instantly had me sitting a bit straighter in my chair and listening more attentively, due to a variety of things. One, Reed sings unaccompanied in the first half. Two, there is a gap of silence for 63 seconds in the middle of the song. And three, in the second half of the song the piano is bought in with no other accompaniment or singing. It was a deconstruction of a song, put into its three main components, voice, silence and instruments to create a beautifully sad and sombre song about people feeling invisible.

I adore Toriís voice. You can hear the emotion so clearly that at some points I got a bit teary. I feel her music could be out into a soundtrack of a musical due to how expressive they are. She has composed songs that, for me, made me picture scenarios, visualising characters and story lines for them. And if an artist can do that well, for not just one song, but a whole album, they need to be congratulated and be given a hug by me, because this is the kind of music the industry is lacking in.

About Tori Reed

Tori's music traverses many genres. It meanders from finger picking folk, through to jazz influenced beats, a dusting of country and vocals that could be soul. It's music that will touch hearts, tap toes and leave you wanting more.

Born in New Zealand, raised in Australia, and having done a lot of travel, Tori has difficulty naming one place home. This affinity with being on the road has manifested itself in many songs and undoubtedly, being a wandering spirit, will do in many more.

In December 2013, Tori released her first album Long Nights, Flightless Birds and Coming Home in Queenstown and quickly took the tracks to the UK on tour. Stay tuned for the next CD, recorded in the UK, and proposed to come out early 2015. Now residing in Wellington, Tori is working on things a little closer to home for a while.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tori Reed


Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bearís music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeekenís self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Oyawa - Album Review: I Don't Recall Ordering Ordinary
03 Jul 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Indie/alternative band Oyawa have bought their loud and ambient tones to the New Zealand music scene with their album I Donít Recall Ordering Ordinary. It is evident to hear that Oyawa are not afraid to experiment with sound.
Kittens of The Internet EP Review
06 May 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Kittens of the Internet have shown the New Zealand music why they are Silver Scroll nominees with their self-titled EP. With its upbeat tracks and vibrant sounds theyíre songs are a breath of fresh air for the electronic music scene.
Brendon Thomas and The Vibes - Gig Review: Brendon Thomas & The Vibes @ Cabana, Napier - 11/02/17
07 Mar 2017 // by Ria Loveder
With their Rock n Roll sound and psychedelic feel, there is nothing I donít like about Auckland based Trio Brendan Thomas and The Vibes. I have to admit, I didnít watch X Factor, but one of my best mates is a huge fan.
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem