19 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

These Automatic Changers - Have Mercy Album Review

02 Sep 2014 // A review by Petros

Have Mercy is the kind of music that played in the dark and grimy automotive shops of my childhood. 

Think of any Hard Rock band you can imagine the stereotypical bogan listening to as they strip back an engine on their front lawn; Iím talking Acca Dacca, Sabbath, Led Zepp, G Ní R, ďSmoke on the WaterĒ. 

The These Automatic Changers experience is all of those untouchable greats mixed in a reverberating granite pot, broken up by chain gang style Work Songs and Blues worthy of Robert Johnson.

Thereís no pussy footing around here. The band know what theyíre doing, and when they do it, itís hard and unrelenting and with a stomp inducing driving rhythm.

The attention to subtle details like the album starting with the sound of a needle running along a 33rpm makes Have Mercy feel like a relic from that golden era of rock and not a tribute to 70ís Cock and Blues Rock or a song of this generation played in the style of our forefathers.

Have Mercy isnít available yet, itís slated for an October release, but in the meantime you can find the links to the singles on the These Automatic Changers website (http://www.theseautomaticchangers.com/).

There are also a couple of album release parties coming up.  By the sound of the record, I imagine the band playing live is one hell of an experience. Check the link for more details (http://www.muzic.net.nz/news/4252/these-automatic-changers-have-mercy-album-release).

Have Mercy
View Track Listing

About These Automatic Changers

The sound of These Automatic Changers comes from everywhere and nowhere - it carves a crudely drawn map and embarks on a aural road trip through the shallows of blues music; from 70ís inspired satanic blues, chest thumping Neanderthal rock tone to swaggering proto-swing sneer straight from the archives and catalogues of any vintage and retro lover of rock music. NZ Musician Magazine called them, "Psychedelic, dirty, Ďcome get someí rock..."

Wal Reid from premiere NZ Blog Music Nation referred to their debut album as "heading back in time in a hot tub time machine to the dirgey 70's but the band has a great original sound whilst using the guitar sound and riffs of those bands of old"

Somewhere between these countless shows, line-up changes, an ever evolving sound and a lot of miles in the underbelly, These Automatic Changers have finally found their way. Oct 2014 saw the release of their debut album Have Mercy. The agitator distorted Ampeg bass sound, the edgy early Sabbath swing, the raw unfetted stoner-blues rock guitar tone, T.A.C. makes for powerful listening.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for These Automatic Changers

Releases

Have Mercy
Year: 2014
Type: Album
These Automatic Changers
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Petros

Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Petros
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song
26 Apr 2018 // by Petros
'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northlandís Tempist Fujit. On one side itís jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Petros
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Gleefully Unknown 1997 - 2005
25 Feb 2018 // by Petros
There is the weird and wonderful. And then there is the weird.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohenís Hey, Thatís No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelityís take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. Itís the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the songís fame.
Read More...
Album Review: The Lincoln Greene Project
16 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Jimmy Hazelwood, actor and purveyor of acoustic folk, has recently released a new record, but not as himself. This time Jimmy is stepped into the role of Lincoln Greene, bringing you the debut album from this pseudonym, the aptly title The Lincoln Greene Project.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: Shake That Skinny Ass All The Way To Zygertron
22 Dec 2017 // by Petros
Where the hell did this come from? Or perhaps the more appropriate question is when?
Read More...
Three Islands - Album Review: Sunshine for the Soul
01 Dec 2017 // by Petros
While I admit I am usually somewhat resistant to exploring outside my chosen genre, though often reluctantly do so, I was surprised to find I had no issue getting into this album - once I finally convinced myself to start it. The Three Islands album Sunshine for the Soul are to Funk and Soul, what Jakob are to Rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Petros

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem