13 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

These Automatic Changers - Have Mercy Album Review

02 Sep 2014 // A review by Petros

Have Mercy is the kind of music that played in the dark and grimy automotive shops of my childhood. 

Think of any Hard Rock band you can imagine the stereotypical bogan listening to as they strip back an engine on their front lawn; Iím talking Acca Dacca, Sabbath, Led Zepp, G Ní R, ďSmoke on the WaterĒ. 

The These Automatic Changers experience is all of those untouchable greats mixed in a reverberating granite pot, broken up by chain gang style Work Songs and Blues worthy of Robert Johnson.

Thereís no pussy footing around here. The band know what theyíre doing, and when they do it, itís hard and unrelenting and with a stomp inducing driving rhythm.

The attention to subtle details like the album starting with the sound of a needle running along a 33rpm makes Have Mercy feel like a relic from that golden era of rock and not a tribute to 70ís Cock and Blues Rock or a song of this generation played in the style of our forefathers.

Have Mercy isnít available yet, itís slated for an October release, but in the meantime you can find the links to the singles on the These Automatic Changers website (http://www.theseautomaticchangers.com/).

There are also a couple of album release parties coming up.  By the sound of the record, I imagine the band playing live is one hell of an experience. Check the link for more details (http://www.muzic.net.nz/news/4252/these-automatic-changers-have-mercy-album-release).

Have Mercy
View Track Listing

About These Automatic Changers

The sound of These Automatic Changers comes from everywhere and nowhere - it carves a crudely drawn map and embarks on a aural road trip through the shallows of blues music; from 70ís inspired satanic blues, chest thumping Neanderthal rock tone to swaggering proto-swing sneer straight from the archives and catalogues of any vintage and retro lover of rock music. NZ Musician Magazine called them, "Psychedelic, dirty, Ďcome get someí rock..."

Wal Reid from premiere NZ Blog Music Nation referred to their debut album as "heading back in time in a hot tub time machine to the dirgey 70's but the band has a great original sound whilst using the guitar sound and riffs of those bands of old"

Somewhere between these countless shows, line-up changes, an ever evolving sound and a lot of miles in the underbelly, These Automatic Changers have finally found their way. Oct 2014 saw the release of their debut album Have Mercy. The agitator distorted Ampeg bass sound, the edgy early Sabbath swing, the raw unfetted stoner-blues rock guitar tone, T.A.C. makes for powerful listening.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for These Automatic Changers

Releases

Have Mercy
Year: 2014
Type: Album
These Automatic Changers
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Petros

Three Islands - Album Review: Sunshine for the Soul
01 Dec 2017 // by Petros
While I admit I am usually somewhat resistant to exploring outside my chosen genre, though often reluctantly do so, I was surprised to find I had no issue getting into this album - once I finally convinced myself to start it. The Three Islands album Sunshine for the Soul are to Funk and Soul, what Jakob are to Rock.
Read More...
Sneaky Feelings - Album Review: Progress Junction
22 Oct 2017 // by Petros
I was sure Iíd been sent the wrong album. Pieces of ephemeral memorabilia bookending nostalgic rock didnít suit my usual shtick.
Read More...
EP Review: Tidal Rave
26 Sep 2017 // by Petros
Thereís this book. A novel.
Read More...
Bill Direen and The Bilders - Album Review: Chrysanthemum Storm
22 Aug 2017 // by Petros
I wasnít old enough to lament the discontinuation of the vinyl, so Iím not invested enough in the medium to be a part of the resurgence. But Iím not so blind as to know it isnít happening on the peripheries of my attention span.
Read More...
Grawlixes - Album Review: Set Free
03 Aug 2017 // by Petros
I put things in boxes. We all do, deny it though you will; it is an artifact of the humanís quest for knowledge.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Hopeful Objects
27 Jul 2017 // by Petros
Straight to VHS: a pejorative term to the normals, but a sign of a cult classic for circles too cool for you to be in. I see the negatives of the term.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - Album Review: Activity
19 Jun 2017 // by Petros
There was this gig in Palmy once. Well there have been a few, but the one I mean was Gold Medal Famous and Mucus Kids.
Read More...
Sonic Delusion - Album Review: This Material World
12 Jun 2017 // by Petros
ĎTis the wrong season for Sonic Delusionís new album, and it is definitely far too early for funk and calypso. Or it was as I trudged up and down those hills on the way to work on that, albeit mild, winter Wellington morning, This Material World in my ears.
Read More...
View All Articles By Petros

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem