21 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scalper - My Blood Your Blood and Puppets Singles Reviews

02 Jun 2014 // A review by Petros

Nadeem Shafi, British ex-pat and former member of Fun-Da-Mental, is Scalper. His solo and pseudonymous act is a known purveyor of underground Alternative Hip-Hop now here in New Zealand, and his previous two releases Flesh & Bones and Butchers Bakers garnered very favourable reviews here and abroad.

This year we've seen the release of Scalpers singles Puppets and My Blood Your Blood, a glimpse at the forth-coming album The Emperor's Clothes, due out in October.

The videos are dark and gritty, his beats and lyrical prose the moody the sounds of late night. The soundtrack to a modern Film Noir.

It's Trip-Hop like Tricky. Introspective and existential words are spoken, gritty like urban poet Saul Williams. Approachable like Massive Attack. Downbeat like Portishead. 

While the white middle class may find it hard to relate to Hip-Hop, which speaks of a hard life in the streets and slums the middle class try so hard to deny and ignore, Scalper's music, from what I've heard, transcends race, religion and creed. Anyone with ears to hear, a heart that beats and mind that listens can lay back and appreciate. 

You can find the Puppet and My Blood Your Blood singles with the Scalper back catalogue on his Bandcamp (http://scalper.bandcamp.com/music) and check out the accompanying videos on the Scalper Youtube (https://www.youtube.com/user/MrScalper). Look out for the new album The Emperor's Clothes later in the year.

About Scalper

Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental. Now based on the wild West Coast of Auckland, having moved here in 2007. Scalper is Hip-Hop like youíve never heard it before. Moody, gritty beats with introspective lyrics that conjure visions of epic proportions, and an electrifying live performance that demands attention.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scalper

Releases

Want
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Emperor's Clothes
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Butchers Bakers
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Flesh & Bones
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Petros

Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohenís Hey, Thatís No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelityís take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. Itís the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the songís fame.
Read More...
Album Review: The Lincoln Greene Project
16 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Jimmy Hazelwood, actor and purveyor of acoustic folk, has recently released a new record, but not as himself. This time Jimmy is stepped into the role of Lincoln Greene, bringing you the debut album from this pseudonym, the aptly title The Lincoln Greene Project.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: Shake That Skinny Ass All The Way To Zygertron
22 Dec 2017 // by Petros
Where the hell did this come from? Or perhaps the more appropriate question is when?
Read More...
Three Islands - Album Review: Sunshine for the Soul
01 Dec 2017 // by Petros
While I admit I am usually somewhat resistant to exploring outside my chosen genre, though often reluctantly do so, I was surprised to find I had no issue getting into this album - once I finally convinced myself to start it. The Three Islands album Sunshine for the Soul are to Funk and Soul, what Jakob are to Rock.
Read More...
Sneaky Feelings - Album Review: Progress Junction
22 Oct 2017 // by Petros
I was sure Iíd been sent the wrong album. Pieces of ephemeral memorabilia bookending nostalgic rock didnít suit my usual shtick.
Read More...
EP Review: Tidal Rave
26 Sep 2017 // by Petros
Thereís this book. A novel.
Read More...
Bill Direen and The Bilders - Album Review: Chrysanthemum Storm
22 Aug 2017 // by Petros
I wasnít old enough to lament the discontinuation of the vinyl, so Iím not invested enough in the medium to be a part of the resurgence. But Iím not so blind as to know it isnít happening on the peripheries of my attention span.
Read More...
Grawlixes - Album Review: Set Free
03 Aug 2017 // by Petros
I put things in boxes. We all do, deny it though you will; it is an artifact of the humanís quest for knowledge.
Read More...
View All Articles By Petros

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem