16 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scalper - My Blood Your Blood and Puppets Singles Reviews

02 Jun 2014 // A review by Petros

Nadeem Shafi, British ex-pat and former member of Fun-Da-Mental, is Scalper. His solo and pseudonymous act is a known purveyor of underground Alternative Hip-Hop now here in New Zealand, and his previous two releases Flesh & Bones and Butchers Bakers garnered very favourable reviews here and abroad.

This year we've seen the release of Scalpers singles Puppets and My Blood Your Blood, a glimpse at the forth-coming album The Emperor's Clothes, due out in October.

The videos are dark and gritty, his beats and lyrical prose the moody the sounds of late night. The soundtrack to a modern Film Noir.

It's Trip-Hop like Tricky. Introspective and existential words are spoken, gritty like urban poet Saul Williams. Approachable like Massive Attack. Downbeat like Portishead. 

While the white middle class may find it hard to relate to Hip-Hop, which speaks of a hard life in the streets and slums the middle class try so hard to deny and ignore, Scalper's music, from what I've heard, transcends race, religion and creed. Anyone with ears to hear, a heart that beats and mind that listens can lay back and appreciate. 

You can find the Puppet and My Blood Your Blood singles with the Scalper back catalogue on his Bandcamp (http://scalper.bandcamp.com/music) and check out the accompanying videos on the Scalper Youtube (https://www.youtube.com/user/MrScalper). Look out for the new album The Emperor's Clothes later in the year.

About Scalper

Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental. Now based on the wild West Coast of Auckland, having moved here in 2007. Scalper is Hip-Hop like youíve never heard it before. Moody, gritty beats with introspective lyrics that conjure visions of epic proportions, and an electrifying live performance that demands attention.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scalper

Releases

Want
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Emperor's Clothes
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Butchers Bakers
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Flesh & Bones
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Petros

Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached
07 Jul 2018 // by Petros
I think we have this decadeís Daniel Bedingfield on our hands. Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Falloutís Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Petros
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musicianís whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Petros
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song
26 Apr 2018 // by Petros
'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northlandís Tempist Fujit. On one side itís jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Petros
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Gleefully Unknown 1997 - 2005
25 Feb 2018 // by Petros
There is the weird and wonderful. And then there is the weird.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohenís Hey, Thatís No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelityís take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. Itís the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the songís fame.
Read More...
Album Review: The Lincoln Greene Project
16 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Jimmy Hazelwood, actor and purveyor of acoustic folk, has recently released a new record, but not as himself. This time Jimmy is stepped into the role of Lincoln Greene, bringing you the debut album from this pseudonym, the aptly title The Lincoln Greene Project.
Read More...
View All Articles By Petros

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem