13 Dec 2017

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lucas O'Connell - Songs to Sleep On Album Review

10 Nov 2013 // A review by Miss_Jukebox

Music voyager Lucas O’Connell has released a beautiful debut album, Songs to Sleep On that encapsulates his skills to meaningfully personify all that is around him. The album was recorded primarily in Wellington’s Surgery Studios under the guidance of his main studio engineer Dr. Lee Prebble. But ‘worldly’ is the word that is evoked when listening to this album. O’Connell has collaborated with renowned artists from all over the globe to record this snapshot of the stark realities of life. 

The album opens with the uncandid truths of Information Overload. The song melodically emotes the dismal melancholy of the 21st Century, corporate-controlled world we live in. 

Busking Man showcases the beautiful mastery of O’Connell’s compostion and the fluency of his collaborators. O’Connell, the observant traveller, empathises with the strangers on the street, bringing those black-and-white, one-dimensional figures into full-blown technicolour. 
The romantic ballad, Liquid Night, contains a very gorgeous strum and the O’Connell’s distinctive vocals and bohemian song writing in Wandering Girl remind me of vivid photojournalism. He manages to capture an entire description of society through simple lyrics and melodies. 

My favourite track, Ocean War, made me really sit down and listen to O’Connell the story teller. The singer plays the role of Virgil and tells the tales of the ocean and the mythical folklore surrounding it. 

Haunting echoes of backing vocals over O’Connell’s voice in Songs for a Ghost distinguish the closing track. His languid minor notes, his distinctive vibrato; when he joins in to hum with those echoes it is music magic and something really eerie is conjured up. 

It is difficult to believe that Songs to Sleep On is O’Connell’s debut album as the work is flawless in its delivery. He is an established world-traveller and this is apparent in his mature approach to song writing and production.

Realism seems to be a favoured style of songwriting at the moment, with the popularity of artists such as Ed Sheeran, and in the past people like Damien Rice. O’Connell slots into this category nicely, and his work can be put right up there with these artists. He is set to do a worldwide tour in 2014, and I have no doubts that he will be gaining a lot of recognition and praise for his amalgamation of lyrical austerity yet placid vocals. All in all it makes Songs to Sleep On a beautifully disconcerting listen.


Songs To Sleep On
View Track Listing

About Lucas O'Connell

Lucas O'Connell's debut album 'Songs to Sleep On' is the latest beauty to come out of the Surgery Studios in Wellington with the expertise of Dr. Lee Prebble. It is beautifully poetic, melodic, lush, and features some renowned international musicians. Already available for viewing online is the quirky music video the single 'Liquid Night'. The album release date is October 21, 2013.

The international musicians involved in the albums production include Nick Martyn, drummer extraordinaire for international songwriting contest winners Clairy Browne and the Bangin' Rackettes; Francesca Mountfort, award winning Cellist, a.k.a. Nervous Doll Dancing; extremely talented Danish Bassist Ida Dueland Hansen; beautiful vocalist Holly Beals from Family Cactus, plus Melburnian musical stalwarts (and mentors to Lucas) Phil Day, a.k.a. Whit Drawal on Horns and Hue Blanes on Piano, completing the impressive contributing line up.

The guitar became Lucas's instrument of choice as a traveller, and the early phase of his career was playing for the enjoyment of fellow travellers. It was whilst living in Essaouria, Morocco, that his debut album 'Songs to Sleep On' had its genesis, but the influences are also old European, Hispanic and Asian. The album is a refreshing new interpretation of poetry, melody and philosophy in a format that reflects his wide cultural experience, and is presented in a manner that is both entertaining and provocative. Lucas has a fingerpicking style reminiscent of Nick Drake, and his lyrics evoke early Leonard Cohen or the recently rediscovered Sixto Rodriguez.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lucas O'Connell


Songs To Sleep On
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Miss_Jukebox

Little Lapin EP Review
09 Jul 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
One look into her bright eyes, Little Lapin will have you mesmerised. Auckland-based Lucy Cioffi in her musical alter-ego Little Lapin has finally released her self-titled debut EP.
Sarah Conlan Singles Review
25 May 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Sarah Conlan, a young country singer/songwriter is part of a country music resurgence happening before our eyes. I always thought of country music as a self-contained genre.
PCP Eagles - I Hate The Mall EP Review
24 May 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Calling all PURE punk rockers, the REAL DEAL has arrived. Finally a genuine punk band stomps onto the scene ready to rumble against, well, probably anything that gets in their way.
Amos/Anon - Thanatos Album Review
24 May 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
The initial guitar strings are like wind chimes hanging on the front porch. When the bass guitar steps in the big brass door opens and you enter into the world of Thanatos, the latest album from the shadow king, Amos/Anon.
Cosmic Road Trip Vol.3 Album Review
29 Apr 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
The mission statement was simple; a collection of the best local tracks to celebrate a beautiful summer of 2013. Cosmic have searched far and wide to collate the best songs to set the mood for Volume 3 of their Road Trip series.
Nathan Haines - Vermillion Skies Album Review
24 Mar 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
On a road of passionate red, the gorgeous and the ever-elegant saxophone dazzles and electrifies the room with a musical charge. This is the weapon of love for Nathan Haines.
At Peace - Girl Songs EP Review
02 Mar 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Love in all its varieties; we all have had our unique experiences of love. From the Young Gifted & Broke movement the hip-hop group @Peace, consisting of Home Brew’s Tom Scott and Lui Tuiasau, have released an EP all about the ‘L’ word.
Amos/Anon - Songs of a Tortured Soul EP Review
02 Feb 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Songs of a Tortured Soul is a demonstration of courage in progress. The latest EP from gothic artists [Amos/Anon] is to date their most heartfelt release.
View All Articles By Miss_Jukebox

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
    Post Malone
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
    Dua Lipa
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem