24 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stray Theories - Those Who Remain Album Review

15 Oct 2013 // A review by Petros

If ever you needed a soundtrack to the world crumbling down around you, then look no further than Those Who Remain. No other album will make you feel more at peace as the world begins to burn than the latest from Stray Theories.

Of Even Though We Sleep, the last offering from Stray Theories, I wrote ďit would be easy to write this album off as an Ambient album, but there is more to the album than just Ambience.Ē 

The same could be said of Those Who Remain. There is such depth to the music and the emotions and nostalgia invoked are so subjective that itís impossible to relate how it makes me feel without an allusion from my life story. Itís all that Ghosts from Nine Inch Nails should have been.

Where Trent Reznor was just showing off what he could do with his expensive new toys, Those Who Remain is the product of someone who has a good understanding of spatial dynamics and a natural ear for soundscape production.

If you enjoyed Ghosts or are a regular oneironaut, used to transcending space and time while sojourning through the atmosphere of post-rock and ambience, then I highly recommend Those Who Remain. Where Even Though We Sleep was a welcome relief to my insomnia, Those Who Remain is helping overcoming the numbness that comes with working ten hour days in a stale office.

You can download and stream Those Who Remain from the Stray Theories Bandcamp (http://straytheories.bandcamp.com/) or for the die hard fans and retro enthusiasts you can order the extremely limited edition Cassette from Already Dead Tapes (http://alreadydeadtapes.bigcartel.com/product/ad084-stray-theories-those-who-remain-cassette).

Those Who Remain
View Track Listing

About Stray Theories

Stray Theories is the musical pseudonym of Micah Templeton-Wolfe, an Australian ambient producer/composer residing in New Zealand.

He has been composing and releasing music for over a decade and his ambient soundscapes have been released on many labels throughout the world. He also has many on-going collaborations and remix projects, in addition to his work composing music for film/media and performing his experimental/ambient projects live.

Heavily influenced by minimal ambient, post-rock, shoegaze & modern classical, his music is a fusion of uplifting melodic ambience & dark/melancholic soundscapes.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stray Theories

Releases

We Never Left
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Those Who Remain
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Even Though We Sleep
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Petros

Bill Direen and The Bilders - Album Review: Chrysanthemum Storm
22 Aug 2017 // by Petros
I wasnít old enough to lament the discontinuation of the vinyl, so Iím not invested enough in the medium to be a part of the resurgence. But Iím not so blind as to know it isnít happening on the peripheries of my attention span.
Read More...
Grawlixes - Album Review: Set Free
03 Aug 2017 // by Petros
I put things in boxes. We all do, deny it though you will; it is an artifact of the humanís quest for knowledge.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Hopeful Objects
27 Jul 2017 // by Petros
Straight to VHS: a pejorative term to the normals, but a sign of a cult classic for circles too cool for you to be in. I see the negatives of the term.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - Album Review: Activity
19 Jun 2017 // by Petros
There was this gig in Palmy once. Well there have been a few, but the one I mean was Gold Medal Famous and Mucus Kids.
Read More...
Sonic Delusion - Album Review: This Material World
12 Jun 2017 // by Petros
ĎTis the wrong season for Sonic Delusionís new album, and it is definitely far too early for funk and calypso. Or it was as I trudged up and down those hills on the way to work on that, albeit mild, winter Wellington morning, This Material World in my ears.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: The Andy Anderson EP
22 May 2017 // by Petros
Andy/Neville Anderson/James is one of the least-famous famous people in New Zealand. The actor-slash-singer was in the middle distance of film and television from our youth, before, and after, and many of us didnít even know it.
Read More...
Social Shun - Album Review: Songs For Sea Lions
03 Mar 2017 // by Petros
ďThis album was not intended to be listened to by humans. To my Sea Lion friends, I know your struggles, I know your pain.
Read More...
Seafog - EP Review: Dig It On Up
28 Feb 2017 // by Petros
Just in time for this review, destiny gave me what slowly turned into two seven hour bus trips to and from Napier, the annual Art Deco weekend on the agenda, and fresh music from a band I've been keeping an eye on loaded on my iPod. But fate had other plans...
Read More...
View All Articles By Petros

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem