21 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13

18 Aug 2013 // A review by CEOMong

As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect. I’d heard stories – come on, we all have – but nothing prepared me for the sheer brutal force they unleashed. It was truly astounding and a damned fine gig that will go down as one of my all-time favourites.

Rocking up to the Royal on Rangitikei around 8:30pm to a room full of brothers and sisters I had yet to meet, and after playing the obligatory game of t-shirt tag with a couple of my newest siblings ... y’know – “wow, look a Doors shirt, or mate! A Vai shirt!” Husk took the stage a little after 9 and played a blistering set.

Husk were amazing, playing a very clean set of solid heavy rock. These guys should definitely be on your radar, dear reader. I was reminded of the best bits of several bands; the best parts were their rapid drops and hooks – always powerful and enthralling. I was left wanting more, as were the eager crowd who had packed an enthusiastic and vocal mosh pit.

The congregation had really started to pack out by the time Husk finished, and the bar staff were going hard – kudos for looking after sober drivers and, oooh ‘These Four Walls’ shirt – wicked.

HLAH busted onto the stage and man from the moment they got on that stage they had the crowd. The busted out a set of tracks off their new album, Blood Will Out, mixed up with a fantastic slice of their back-catalogue. I was stoked they played Wet Rubber; I’ve always rated it ever since I heard it on Gonna Kiss It Or Shoot It. Final track of the night was Glory Glory – a fantastic way to end a set.

Other songs of note, some already favourites and some and new favourites: Monsta-X, I’m on Fire, Swagger of Thieves, Hootenanny oh my god did that go off! ..., Comfortably Shagged, See You on the Other Side, Valhalla – now that’s a song meant to be heard live!

HLAH’s music has always been at the very least original – and it's so much more gritty, filthy, heavy, brutal and just all up in your face seeing them live. They sound so ... large ... I guess. Despite being in a small venue in dirty old Palmy, it felt like we were front of stage in some massive arena – there was that much positive energy and sheer brutality both on and off the stage. Truly an evening I will not forget anytime soon.

As Booga said: like corn, I’ll see you on the other side.

About Head Like A Hole

Formed in Wellington, Head Like A Hole originally consisted of Booga Beazley, Nigel Regan, Andrew Durno and Mark Hamill. Like most young bands, they started out by playing small gigs at local pubs and at various well known live venues. Then quickly started touring the university circuit. The band soon made a name for themselves with energetic and often outrageous live performances, appearing on stage either naked, caked with mud, or covered completely in body paint.

Therefore forming a solid and dedicated following throughout the live music scene. Head like a Hole were soon signed to Wildside Records and began their recording career. 1992 saw the release of their debut album, 13 which the band largley produced themselves. The single Fish Across Face successfully made it into the New Zealand Top 10 charts. In keeping with Head Like a Hole tradition the video for Fish Across Face included a scene where Nigel regurgitates an orange substance into Booga’s mouth and was promptly pulled off air.

Head Like a Hole continued touring and performing the university orientation circuit. Then returned to the studio in 1993 to record their second album. Flik Y'Self off Y'Self. Which was released in stores in 1994 providing two singles. Faster Hooves and Spanish Goat Dancer. After the release of two successful records the band’s popularity and exposure increased, and so Head Like a Hole remained on tour. Playing to capacity crowds and sold out venues throughout the country, and in 1996 secured a position on the bill to play The Big Day Out festival. That same time the band suffered a sudden and tragic loss, with the death of their Manager Gerald Barry Dwyer. And it was late 1996 where they headed back to the studio, this time travelling to Australia and worked on a third album. Double Your Strength, Improve Your Health & Lengthen Your Life. Cornbag, the first single from the album, was released in November 1996, but received only moderate chart success.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Head Like A Hole


Faster Hooves
Year: ????
Type: EP
Spanish Goat Dancer
Year: ????
Type: Album
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Blood Will Out
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Blood On A Honky Tonk Floor
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Wet Rubber
Year: 1998
Type: Album
The Not Nicomjool EP
Year: 1995
Type: EP
Flik Y'Self Off Y'Self
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Year: 1993
Type: EP
Year: 1992
Type: Album

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
The House Of Capricorn - In The Devil's Days Album Review
28 Nov 2011 // by CEOMong
At first I didn’t know what to say about the newest offering from the cloven hoofed ones, but the more I listen the more I have to say. I really like it, I’m not 100% sure why, there’s lots to like but nothing I can nail down ...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem